2006 S-Type

Consumer Reviews

2006 Jaguar S-Type

$2,070 - $14,714  MSRP Range
2006 Jaguar S-Type

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

22 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Jaguar S-Type?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Kept Secret

by Shark from Chicago on Fri Apr 29 2011

These are by far the best cars for the money!!!!!! Think about it, for the same price you can get a commoners car...yet you can drive a Classic Performance Sedan. Rated by Top Gear as an outstanding Sedan comparable to the BMW 5 series. Take advantage of this while it last drive a Jag rated 2nd to Lexus in initial quality by JD Powers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Jaguar S Type R

by Bosco from Tucson, AZ on Fri May 20 2011

Terrific vehicle! Comfortable, fast, safe, luxurious, smooth ride yet corners on a dime. I'll never drive anything else.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car Life saver

by justin from Hector, NY on Mon Jul 23 2012

Owned mine R for 3 trouble free years and over 60000 miles never had any mechanical problems car was always fun to drive very fast, handled well and I never got tired of looking at it. Last week it saved my life when I was in an accident at 55mph and walkded away without a scratch! very safe and I am already looking for another Jag

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jaguar 2006 S-Type A true jewel

by Experienced from Phoenix, Arizona on Sat Aug 29 2015

Bought a lovely 2006 S-Type for my wife. This is our second Jaguar. This vehicle is a fantastic car. The smoothest ride of any vehicle we have ever owned. It is a true luxury car. It is built to last. Quality is like most luxury vehicles, incomparable. It is quiet, solid, powerful, even with a 6-cylinder gasoline engine. Europeans hold on to these models. Very few are for sale in Europe. Yes, maintenance will cost more than your average vanilla-flavored car, but it is worth every penny. Besides, it looks elegant and classy. These cars are not ridiculously expensive thanks to the horrible reputation Jaguar had acquired in the past due to the lack of reliability of its electrical systems. Those systems have been replaced with American quality, and the S-Type is now a magnificent vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SUPER S-TYPE R

by Jaguar Fan for Life from Morristown, TN on Wed Jun 07 2006

This is my second S-Type R and I didn't think that Jaguar could improve on such a great car but it did. With 400HP this car is a pure performance machine. And that horsepower is linked with a suspension that can go toe to toe with any German or Japanese competitor. The (Continental Teves) braking system has been improved compared to my 2003 model. Test it on any winding road in your town and you will see. The styling inside and out though is what makes this car great. It is beauty and grace personified. With its' signature grille and Bonnet leaper, there is no mistaking this car for anything else on the road. With Bluetooth capability, DVD navigation, satellite radio, gorgeous authentic wood/leather interior, and enough air bags to raise the Titanic there is no denying that this car must be considered for anyone wanting a performance luxury automobile. You will not be disappointed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mr Lee

by Byron from China on Thu Jun 08 2006

Good car with maximum style, good value for your money. when u r considering BMW or Mercedes, why not go to Jaguar. it expresses sth more than a car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 s type e

by Bakey from Michigan on Sun Sep 07 2014

I have owned 2 Cadillacs STS , a Porsche . My jaguar although not a Porsche is the best car I driven. Also had an Audi Quattro . The jag. Is just what I was looking for and has lived up to my expectation. I only wish the radio would come in better, although I live by an airport and radio station, probably the problem. I have nothing bad to say about his car. I would recommend to anyone buy one. This has never seen snow and never will.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

very confortable, many repairs in short time

by LuisP from Aventura on Thu Dec 21 2017

this car must be new and use for 4or 5 years. after that is a non stop travel to the repair shop. Car for reach people.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than Mercedes S-Class

by Danger from Chicago on Wed Feb 16 2011

Great Car, Boss has S-Class that isn't as comfortable or as nice in the interior for additional $70,000.00. Handles great, see Top Gear Reviews, Fast, great breaking and handling... True Luxury and absolutely greatest sound system. No problems in 5 years of ownership.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

NICE CAR - VERY FAST

by JAGMAN from MICHIGAN on Mon Apr 18 2011

2006 JAG S-Type "R", very fast. It is faster than my 2008 Mustang GT, even though the book says they are the same.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2006 Jaguar S-Type

We've tested a number of exotic European sport sedans this year, with such arcane alphanumeric designations as RS4 and M3. Our favorite nameplate -- and one of our favorite high-performance four-doors -- is Jaguar's S-Type R.

A supercharged V-8 with 400 horsepower is only the jumping-off point for this appealing member of Ford's British luxury-car stable.

We tested a 2006 S-Type R with only two options and a bottom line of $66,645.

SHE: Normally, I dread testing these expensive performance cars. Nine times out of ten, I feel like they're controlling me, not vice versa. But despite all the scary numbers on the Jag -- the 400 horses, the 413 pounds-feet of torque, 0-60 acceleration in 5.3 seconds... Read More