Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2001 Vanden Plas

Consumer Reviews

2001 Jaguar Vanden Plas

$3,500 - $3,500  MSRP Range
2001 Jaguar Vanden Plas

Review Score

3.7 out of 5 stars

3.7

11 Reviews
82% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Jaguar Vanden Plas?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by JimzJag from Washington, DC on Sat Jan 16 2010

I bought this from a member of my family 2 years ago with 78,000 miles on it who bought it new and pampered it. Beyond usual maintenance he had to replace the fuel injectors at about 45,000 miles ($800.00). When I bought it I had to have the interior roof repaired as it was sagging down from the glue losing adhesiveness ($450.00). I use the car for business (financial planner) and it is great! Very comfortable and makes a great impression on clients and at the golf course. A big car..don't expect high performance and handling but if you need it for merging on the highway..the power is there. Beautiful car inside and out with a classy ride. We (my wife and I) LOVE it!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Piece of Art with a Smooth, Peformance Kick.

by Bandung Baby from San Diego, CA on Tue Mar 30 2010

The most amazing automatic transmission that makes your forget it's not a manual. It doesn't kick down a gear with a nasty thump when accelerating uphill. The exterior speaks for itself. The interior is amazing. The rear seats have plenty of room, the front seats have the snugness of a sport bucket, with the plushness of a Lazy Boy. The reviews that deplore the minimal interior cabin must prefer wasted space that makes other luxury sedans so boxy and unattractive. I'm over six feet and have plenty of headroom.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jag review

by Joe from NC on Mon Jun 06 2011

This is the quintessential Jaguar. Fantastic lines and styling. Vehicle is a head turner and a pleasurable drive. Engine reliability is sound. Some issues with some parts have been addressed with new part releases but need to find a vehicle that has been well maintained. This is a genuine Coventry, England built model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best bang for the buck

by carnut on Tue Aug 29 2017

Unmistakably the most refined vehicle. It loves the highway and floats in style. When you use sport mode you can feel the difference with all the power unbridled and great handling considering its size. And you cant forget that it simply looks great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Beautiful but not a daily driver, yet

by rsage from Avon IN on Sun Jun 10 2018

Drove one a year or so ago, fell in love. This one showed up at the Bentley dealership at the right price. I love to drive it. Chasing down a clunk in the back and it will not restart when it gets hot. Was driving it every day, but really cant. Feel I may have to sink a bunch of money into it so I call it my mistress. Not sure if it is battery, starter or alternator. Still rides like a cloud, runs great, beat a Bentley in a drag race. Great car to drive but I knew what I was getting with a 17 year old British car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

undoubtedly the best road car i have ever driven.

by jw from arlington, texas on Sat Mar 26 2011

stylish, comfortable, plenty of zip when needed. the long wheel base xj8l vandenplas is the greatest. i've had 3 in the last ten years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Magic carpet ride

by 2funjags from Minneapolis MN. on Sat Jun 17 2017

If you are looking for a true luxury car with a unmistakable, refined driving experience you must look into a jaguar. Other than a Mercedes you will not find a nicer ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

a great ride

by kingpalm from Palm Springs, CA on Mon Dec 22 2008

When we replaced our 2001 vanden Plas with the new 2009 we were very sad. The details on this car, the low profile and the weight are greatly missed. We experienced no problems with this car except the usual maintenance and care. it will be missed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

most costly repairs on a car I've ever owned

by land yacht lover from Detroit, MI on Mon Sep 22 2008

I bought this 2001 VDP in March 2007 with approximately 70k miles. After researching the brand and the particular vehicle I thought it was a safe bet to buy. I pampered and treated the car with kid gloves. But every thing on the vehicle begin to break down, the front suspension - $3000 repairs, the back suspension and brakes $2000 in repairs, the cup holder, the windows not fitting tightly, the doors not unlocking...it has been a nightmare. And last but not least, the transmission has blown. I went to the repairman, who told me he had quoted 3 of the same repairs that week! The cost? $4,200. With kids in college and the economy so tight, I have had to put the car in the garage and store it until I can raise the cash and I'm back to driving my wife's old van. Needless to say, I think this car is a totally beautiful piece of mechanical garbage....I was fooled by her beauty, but it has been nothing but a beast. Save your money and your sanity; when you go to the car lot and see that gorgeous body and you hear her beautiful siren call, run, don't walk, run away as fast as you can.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

worst luxury car I've owned

by Road warrior from Detroit, MI on Thu Nov 11 2010

After spending over $10,000 in repairs and service for 4 years, the engine conks out...which can be replaced for another $7,000. No thanks. the well earned reputation for mechanical inadequecies is much deserved. The only benefit to the car was the looks...

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2