2004 Vanden Plas

Consumer Reviews

2004 Jaguar Vanden Plas

$2,976 - $5,700  MSRP Range
2004 Jaguar Vanden Plas

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Jaguar Vanden Plas?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome to drive, hates the cold

by Reluctant from upstate NY on Tue Feb 09 2010

Bought the car and road tripped home with some friends. Absolutely perfect for an 1800 mile road trip. Smooth, quiet, powerful, everything you want. Leather and interior are in excellent shape, better than any 5 series or comparable year MB - even a bunch of '06 ones that I also test drove. Did I mention the v-8 yet? Could shred some tires if you wanted. From a praticality stand point, it is large enough for the three kids in the back with a child seat and two boosters. Handles well, gets 27-28 on the highway and around 20 for my short commute (2.5 miles). Overall runs great, and look forward to getting 4 years out of it. The nicest car, even at 6 years old and 80 K, that I have ever driven in. Issue came up in that the old shocks don't seem to like the cold weather. The old rubber shrinking in the cold winters. Replaced both of them up front and the air compressor - Jag only parts so I took the bill sitting down. I've heard it said you don't buy an expensive car like this without expecting some bills. Still happy with the car, everything else in good shape.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely best bargain ever made

by jag lover from Denver, NC on Wed Jul 03 2013

Just purchased 04 Jag VP and love every mile of it. Never owned anything but GM and Ford products. This car is without the best deal made. It loves the road. Easy on gas. Honestly got 32 mpg going to Fl in May of 2013. So far, no complaints. I do keep it garaged as much as possible. I'm saving this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Left Mercedes for Jag

by dab1477 from Harriburg, PA on Wed Jan 27 2010

This is a fantastic vehicle. Lux interior. Drives like a dream. Seat width could be better, otherwise love is in the air! Heated steering wheel is my first experience. Great feature.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You've got to test drive one to know what it's lik

by JAG Lover from Northern VA on Mon Jun 18 2012

Absolute luxury in its interior; soft leather, smoothest ride I?ve ever been. My wife owns the Mercedes, yet for the long trips, she prefers the Jag ride to her Benz. Very powerful and responsive on the road, and the insurance is surprisingly lower than some of the older luxury class of vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

B Careful, Benz & BMW!

by britisholdstyle_marxu from TX on Mon Sep 10 2007

Had a 99 Vanden Plas, it was great except the fuel consumption. This one is great within all the Hi-end V8 Cars -- thanks to the stronger Aluminium Alloy body with lighter weight. The best part I like about this car is that very few people know its vallue -- doesn't look like a very expensive car. Thieves won't venture to bother this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Still a great car

by ronb888 from Indianapolis on Thu May 04 2017

Aside from transmission clunkiness , this car is great. The motor is responsive and powerful. The air ride is to be envied. The leather is the pinnacle of interior design. The body style is no longer dated, but desired (the new Jags are boring). Parts are a little pricey but can be found reasonable online.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice luxury/sport/cruiser

by Muleears from Norfolk, VA on Thu Nov 09 2017

The ride is a compromise between the cushy lounge chair ride of the old jags and the firmer sporty new jags. Air suspension, while nice can be problematic. Engine is bulletproof as is the transmission (if taken care of).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car has it ALL!

by ProfessorDCT from Queens, NY on Sat Aug 18 2012

I've owned this car for several months now and I still get very excited when behind the wheel! My XJ8 VDP is sleek, opulently adorned, FAST, AMAZING gas mileage (20/30), almost every toy imaginable...except Bluetooth and cooled seats. No one believe that it's a 2004! This car is before it's time!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Stylish, classy and smooth.

by Muleears from Norfolk, VA on Sun Nov 12 2017

Very comfortable ride, not as cushy as the Jaguars of old though. If you are looking for the Lazy-Boy ride, they don't have it anymore. The ride is firmer to give you more precise handling and better control. Motor is bulletproof (Ford 4.2L) Transmission is also (ZF 6HP26) if taken care of. Air suspension can cause problems but is a nice feature. The looks can't be beat, very classy and sensual.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1