Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2006 X-Type

Consumer Reviews

2006 Jaguar X-Type

$2,924 - $9,496  MSRP Range
2006 Jaguar X-Type

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

14 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Jaguar X-Type?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Long Distance Tourer

by Oldengineer from Charleston, WV on Sun Apr 01 2007

I own an 06 X Type 3.0 automatic and have put 14K miles on it so far. Performance - The 3.0 in the X makes 227HP and 206 Ft-Lbs of torque . The car will hit 60 in 7.1 seconds and tops out at about 121 (electronically limited). European models without the electronic watchdog will hit 150. The sensation of acceleration with this car is different - you don't get much seat-of-the-pants feel, but, the speeedometer simply unwinds itself. Handling - the conering ability of this car matches anything I've ever driven. Corners like its on rails. Mine has the 17 inch wheels and the ride is firm and well damped, but, not jarring as in some of its competitors. Exterior - I love the retro styling of the Jag. The fit and finish are second to none. These cars have the best paint jobs I've ever seen. Interior - I find the seats to be very comfortable on long trips. I can drive for hours without fatique. The quality of the leather Jag uses is excellent. The wood trim is tastefully done, and, the dash layout is quite attractive. Back seat room is Ok, and , will hold 2 adults with no discomfort. The trunk room is tops for this class with a full 16 cu. feet capacity. Foul Weather capability - With its standard AWD, the X will handle snow and heavy rain with no drama at all. The traction is excellent. Anti-lock brakes and disk brakes all around are standard. Braking capabilities of the car are excellent. Overall, the car is heavy and is extremely well built and rigid. At legal speeds on the interstate, it feels like its loafing, and, is quite capable of cruising at triple digit speeds comfortably. Fuel economy - Driving aroud town, my X gets 20 Mpg. On trips, running at interstate speeds, it stays consistently at 24 MPG, running on 93 octane gas. I drove most of its competitors before buying it. Some are a bit quicker, but, none of them appealed to me as much as the X did. Having driven it for almost a year now, I'm still extremely satisfied with my purchase decision.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

55 out of 55 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great in every way

by tfouda from New York on Sat Jul 16 2011

I wasn't sure about the Jaguar specially after driving an E500 for long and was lost in an accident. After having the X-Type 3.0 for about a year now, knock on wood, runs great and looks great. No problems whatsoever. I just love it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by Peterdiesel from Lebanon ct on Mon Sep 03 2012

Tremendous car! Great styling, excellent performance, great handling. This is a sleeper car. Needs premium gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Safe During Axcident.

by Gary from on Thu Sep 19 2013

This car my wife used to have it at first arrival to Ma in 02. . car crashed her from the front it was very safe..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

drives great

by ltlkity from Phoenix,AZ on Mon Jun 04 2012

I have always been a Mercedes person, but even though this is an older Jag, it drives well and has the quality I am used to. Handling is crisp and smooth, power is more than ample. I was hesitant about buying a used Jag, but so far this has been a wonderful car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jaguar X-type

by Misael Elicea from Vista on Sun Jul 02 2017

It's been the best car ever, from 30,000-175,000 miles, never saw the check engine, ran great, still runs awesome!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Little Car

by jagster222 from San Jose, CA on Tue Nov 15 2011

I purchased this car about a month ago..I suppose it's too soon to tell how it will hold up, but so far I love it. One of the best driving cars I've owned. Smooth ride, great on winding roads, wonderful sound system!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sedan to Own and Drive

by RVASys from Santa Rosa CA on Wed Oct 11 2017

The Jaguar is an excellent sedan to own and drive. Driving performance was excellent. In snow, it was the best sedan that I have driven in a Lake Tahoe blizzard. The All-Wheel Drive performed in the worst conditions. As a daily driver, it is comfortable and frugal. The interior is leather, but it is Spartan. The Automatic can shift to a sport mode that helps in traffic or running up mountain roads. On freeways, the V-6 3.0L lets you run easily at comfortable speeds. Yet, it allows you to accelerate when needed with crisp control.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car except for the transmission

by KarlLloyd from Pittsburgh on Wed Sep 27 2017

fun to drive - great appearance - transmission died and expensive to fix - headliner came lose and that should not happen - small problems sometimes difficult to diagnose

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by Andy from Naperville, IL on Tue Nov 14 2017

This is by far the best car I ever owned, performance, reliability, style and the best AWD I drove in the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2006 Jaguar X-Type

Mention the words ''Jaguar'' and ''station wagon'' in the same breath, and most people will look at you as if they swallowed something foul.

Certainly, there isn't anything in Jaguar's heritage remotely resembling what Brits call an estate or shooting brake.

But the new 2006 Jaguar X-Type 3-liter Sportwagon should hit the sweet spot in the entry-level luxury market, starting right around $36,000.

That's similar to all-wheel-drive competitors such as Audi and Volvo, the latter a corporate cousin of Jaguar.

That said, you might wonder why this model hasn't been more popular. Certainly, there aren't many parked at the McMansions springing up on farm fields across the region.

Maybe it's because the X-Type is... Read More