Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2001 XJ8

Consumer Reviews

2001 Jaguar XJ8

2001 Jaguar XJ8

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

8 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Jaguar XJ8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Not as fussy as I've heard

by Best4Les from Lexington, KY on Mon Nov 14 2011

I needed a large sedan for soccer carpool. An SUV was a hard pill to swallow after a string of high performance roadsters, so I set my sights on the jaguar. Having owned German cars for the past 10 years, I was a bit spoiled but this rude is DeLuxe! It was on my list of cars I'd like to own someday. A great choice. Sit in the car and the seat starts to cradle you, the pre-set options are amazing. Stereo, cruise, temp control--every last detail is Spot-on! Leather is sumptuous, rides like butter! I've put 10K miles on it in a few months with only a few hiccups. The Jag's reputation made me a bit nervous, however, I'm a happy driver. The downfall: thinking I'd be ok with a little mess from the kids rolling in and out after muddy practice. This car is too nice for taxi service. Oh, one more thing--if you like to drive around with a Big Gulp, the upholders won't accommodate more than a small Starbucks Earl Grey. ;)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Beautiful Classic!

by Izzy from Lansing, MI on Mon Jun 04 2012

A true Beautiful classic! Smooth ride, great looks, reliable. Regular maintenance. No issues or problems with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best-kept secret!

by Dr Dave from Los Angeles CA on Wed Dec 09 2015

For what was an $80,000 car when new, this is an incredible amount of car for the money today. Every conceivable option for its day (don't expect the navigation to be up to 2015 standards though), a level of comfort that IS up to 2015 standards, brisk performance, excellent ride quality and handling and surprisingly frugal fuel economy. It looks more like the classic Jaguar era than the new generation, and that's not a bad thing. The new cars are amazing but lifeless in appearance. For the price of a used Camry, you can ensconce yourself in opulence and luxury, which will remain long after the Camry is "just a used Toyota."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Don't be afraid of this model Jag

by Captain Skip from Ft Myers, Florida on Mon Apr 23 2018

This car was GREAT for me , drove very well, fast if and when needed, comfortable for me and the other passengers and the V8 did not eat me up on gas.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

rides better performs better than my 2007 sts cad

by BJ love my car from Butte on Tue Mar 22 2011

great a realsportycar had a 66 ford fairlane torfeo aurora and i can truthfully say I am satisfied with my new 2001 jaguar

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My gift becomes a headache

by Deception from Orlando, FL on Thu Nov 09 2017

This Jaguar is a beautiful car. Runs great. There were some cosmetic things that the dealer should take care of them, there's a monster woman there that after you buy the car, will make your life miserable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You are surrounded with Luxury

by JagJunky from Kemah, Texas on Thu Sep 21 2017

I bought a 2004 XJ8 after my XJ6 was flooded in Harvey and I absolutely love it. It is truly a long distance traveling car with all the bells and whistles of a luxury car. One of my friends ask why I didn't buy a new Nissan instead. My answer was "Why would I do something stupid like that."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

gREAT cAR TO rESTORE!

by Jagfan from Hobe Sound,Fl. on Sun Sep 03 2017

This was such a great car and I stopped driving it when I got another car for work. Unfortunately I let it sit but it was SUCH a great running car when I used it it is either worth restoring or great for parts!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2001 Jaguar XJ8

OK, so it's true. I'm an unabashed Anglophile, at least where automobiles are concerned. Everything from MG and Triumph to Aston-Martin and Rolls-Royce, from Sunbeam Rapier to Humber Super Snipe, I just dig them. British motorcycles, too.

All-American car guys, go ahead and laugh.

But no one can mock this week's offering from Coventry, England. It's the Jaguar XJ8 L, a lovely and spirited automobile exuding heritage and upper-crust sensibilities.

Actually, not much of Jaguar's big sedan heritage remains, for better or worse. Some new stuff comes from Ford, which now owns Jaguar. Some changes are mandated by time and technology.

Gone is the classic double-overhead-cam straight six... Read More