1996 XJS

Consumer Reviews

1996 Jaguar XJS

$3,495 - $22,047  MSRP Range
1996 Jaguar XJS

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

14 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Jaguar XJS?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

"Most Reliable, Beautiful and Fun Car I've Owned"

by Classic Convertible Enthusiast ('59 MGA, '96 XJS) from Wilmette, IL on Wed Sep 03 2008

In four years of ownership, I have never had a issue or worry of reliability with this car. It starts, runs and stops perfectly in all weather (actually, I never drive it in rain or snow, but I'm pretty sure it would run as well as it does in sunny, hot summertime). It starts immediately in over 90 degree and below zero temps. My driving has included heavy 90+ degree stop & go city traffic as well as 75 + mph highway runs. The car runs cool and smooth in all situations. Contrary to it's reputation for being and expensive car to maintain, the XJS 6 cyl. engine is a workhorse that is good for 100,000 miles MINIMUM, with simple regular maintenance. I have spent no more on this car's maintenance than on my Chrysler 300M or my wife's Pontiac Grand Prix. The XJS has the most powerful brakes I've ever experienced. When applying the brakes, you feel entirely confident that there is more than enough stopping power from any speed. Gives you a great feeling of safety. The XJS, in my opinion, in one of the most beautiful Jags ever made. I prefer it to the older XKEs, which are pretty but small and to the newer XK8s, which are well made and substantial, but look a bit too much like a Ford Taurus convertible for my taste. The XJS has that understated elegance that you expect from Jaguars, plus more seating and trunk space. Is it fun to drive? I drive it responsibly and within speed limits, but it is nice to know the massive power is there to make it go and to make it stop if I need it. On Sheridan Road through the Winnetka ravines , north of Chicago occasionally. The car sticks to the road around curves and at steep grades like the tires are glued. That's fun! On the highway, the car almost drives itself - no lane wandering at all. And the ride is smooth and comfortable, even over the regular expansion joints in concrete pavements. On a long road trip, there is no driver or passenger fatigue, even with the top down. I can't say enough good things about the Jaguar XJS.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

39 out of 39 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for the buck.

by Jag Nut from Aptos,Calif. on Sat Jan 29 2011

This car has gotten a bad reputation,why I do not know.I have owned one for 9 years and it has been very reliable.Great way to own a quality touring sports car and not spend a lot of money.Hint,do your research and find one that has been taken care off,low mileage is not always the answer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Looking and Running Car Jaguar Made

by Jag Enthusiast from Long Island, NY on Wed Jan 21 2009

The last of the beautys made by Jaguar. This is one hot looking car, mechanically i never had any problems even electrically as I hear from many people. It's a powerful engine, great on gas, accelerates unbelievably on the highway, head turner every where in the hamptons! I've had this car 7 years and use it only in summers. Great touring car, hugs the road, takes turns incredibly well. It's an investment you will never loss $$ on. The new Jaguars are all plastic, looks like a Taurus. The 96 is the last year Jaguar made this beautiful design. People come up and look at this car where ever you drive or park. One of a kind.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jaguar XJ-S Celebration

by Happy Jag Guy from Fort Lauderdale, Florida on Thu Nov 12 2015

I was not looking for an XJ-S. I wanted a convertible sports car for Florida driving. A friend who flips cars owned a 96 in wonderful condition. Garage kept for 17 years and all the paperwork Yes, they really are out there. So after a test drive and mechanic check up (EVERYTHING WORKED PERFECTLY) I have now owned it for two years and put about 7000 miles on it with two trips of about 600 miles. I have the Celebration extras, interior wood trim, special leather steering wheel, superior stereo, embossed Jaguar logo on the head rests, the special wheels, and the 4.0 six engine that works forever. The performance is sufficient off the line but does not shine until one accelerates from 50 mph and up...then it really accelerates. The handling is honest and will not surprise you. The back seat is worthless except for groceries. Trunk space is large and has a true spare tire. The top is electric and heavy material with real glass rear window. Styling is superior with the top up or down. I ALWAYS get comments when I drive with the top down and in South Florida where Ferraris, Porsches, and Mercedez are at every light, this classic gets comments. Restaurants keep it out front. The neatest thing is you can buy a truly great car for under 10-12 K and have it work really well. Other Jaguars have a reputation for un-reliability. Not this one with the six cylinder. The 12 cylinder does deserve a high maintenance reputation so what they are doing here in Florida is taking the engine out, leaving the GM tranmission (yes the tranny is a GM product) and putting small block Chevys in them. Buy the car...you will like it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Classic Jaguar Stlylin'

by fboros from Florida on Mon Dec 20 2010

I searched the web for 9 months before purchasing a nearly perfect specimen. 24M miles, a nearly new 1996 XJS convertible, the final production year. For $16m I got a classic body style, a reliable 6 cylinder with eye catching appeal. It's a joy to drive.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car ever

by Theharleyrunner from Pomona California on Sun Feb 11 2018

Purchased mine for $750.00 from original owner with 39,000 miles. 1996 xjs convertible In Jade green with white interior. I’ve known the car since the day it was bought. So I was lucky to be the one that was there to purchase it. Every single part that came in the car is still there down to the original tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CLASSIC CAR NOW

by QUEENBEE from ARLINGTON TX on Thu Aug 16 2018

IT IS STILL TALK OF TOWN CONV I DROP THE TOP AND DRIVE IT ALL AROUND STILL LOOKS NEW GET ALOT LOOKS ITS A CLASSIC NOW THEY STOP MAKING THEM IN 1997 SO IM GLAD TO HOLD ON TO THIS ONE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best valued luxury grande sports tourer

by Danny from Lake Tahoe, NV. on Wed Nov 23 2011

I have owned a 1996 XJS 6 cyl "Celebration" for 13 years now. Ford re-designed the powerplant in 1994 and has received the highest marks in reliability. Its a heavy vehicle, rides flawlessly, quiet even with the top down. This vehicle was designed as a convertible, so limited road noise, no shuddering, no need for rear windscreens etc. when the top is down. I'm purchasing a 2nd one as we speak, your purchasing a very expensive car for pennies on the dollar. Don't hesitate, buy a 1995-96 and have years of enjoyment, plust the fact...its a head turner!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sexiest car next to an E-Type

by xk180 from St. Joseph, MI on Sun Aug 25 2013

Must confess this is the third XJS I have owned, the first with the straight six engine. Everything about this model is just pure enjoyment. Quirky British switches, and solutions abound, this model is not yet a bland "world car" as it has personality. All but one of these three Jags have been most dependable for me, and I highly recommend this model as it is an extreme bargain if you can find one in good condition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best decision I ever made!!

by shorbrz from Fairfax, Virginia on Fri Mar 20 2015

I bought this celebration edition in 2003 with 49000 miles. I have driven it daiy since then and am now at 131000 miles. I replaced the evaporator and recently a shifter part. Otherwise, it has been new brakes, new tires, regular oil filter and routines belts hoses etc. No more overhead than my wife's Maxima. It always starts. It has power and stability on all roads throughout the Virginia countryside or on the interstate system.I regularly visit friends in Long Island and NJ as well as Georgia. The ac is cold and the heat warm, especially the heated seats! It is a beautiful car...a head turner as some say..and I receive many compliments and questions in almost any parking lot...no matter where I park it. Per Jaguar, it is one of the last 300 1996 XJS's made. It's fit and finish is incomparable! I expect to see at least 200,000 miles and watch my grandchildren drive it to Prom. I will retrieve it though, and they can get a ride home. LOL

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2