1996 XJS

Consumer Reviews
1996 Jaguar XJS

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
1996 Jaguar XJS
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

"Most Reliable, Beautiful and Fun Car I've Owned"

by Classic Convertible Enthusiast ('59 MGA, '96 XJS) from Wilmette, IL on September 3, 2008

In four years of ownership, I have never had a issue or worry of reliability with this car. It starts, runs and stops perfectly in all weather (actually, I never drive it in rain or snow, but I'm pretty sure it would run as well as it does in sunny, hot summertime). It starts immediately in over 90 degree and below zero temps. My driving has included heavy 90+ degree stop & go city traffic as well as 75 + mph highway runs. The car runs cool and smooth in all situations. Contrary to it's reputation for being and expensive car to maintain, the XJS 6 cyl. engine is a workhorse that is good for 100,000 miles MINIMUM, with simple regular maintenance. I have spent no more on this car's maintenance than on my Chrysler 300M or my wife's Pontiac Grand Prix. The XJS has the most powerful brakes I've ever experienced. When applying the brakes, you feel entirely confident that there is more than enough stopping power from any speed. Gives you a great feeling of safety. The XJS, in my opinion, in one of the most beautiful Jags ever made. I prefer it to the older XKEs, which are pretty but small and to the newer XK8s, which are well made and substantial, but look a bit too much like a Ford Taurus convertible for my taste. The XJS has that understated elegance that you expect from Jaguars, plus more seating and trunk space. Is it fun to drive? I drive it responsibly and within speed limits, but it is nice to know the massive power is there to make it go and to make it stop if I need it. On Sheridan Road through the Winnetka ravines , north of Chicago occasionally. The car sticks to the road around curves and at steep grades like the tires are glued. That's fun! On the highway, the car almost drives itself - no lane wandering at all. And the ride is smooth and comfortable, even over the regular expansion joints in concrete pavements. On a long road trip, there is no driver or passenger fatigue, even with the top down. I can't say enough good things about the Jaguar XJS.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for the buck.

by Jag Nut from Aptos,Calif. on January 29, 2011

This car has gotten a bad reputation,why I do not know.I have owned one for 9 years and it has been very reliable.Great way to own a quality touring sports car and not spend a lot of money.Hint,do your research and find one that has been taken care off,low mileage is not always the answer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Looking and Running Car Jaguar Made

by Jag Enthusiast from Long Island, NY on January 21, 2009

The last of the beautys made by Jaguar. This is one hot looking car, mechanically i never had any problems even electrically as I hear from many people. It's a powerful engine, great on gas, accelerates unbelievably on the highway, head turner every where in the hamptons! I've had this car 7 years and use it only in summers. Great touring car, hugs the road, takes turns incredibly well. It's an investment you will never loss $$ on. The new Jaguars are all plastic, looks like a Taurus. The 96 is the last year Jaguar made this beautiful design. People come up and look at this car where ever you drive or park. One of a kind.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jaguar XJ-S Celebration

by Happy Jag Guy from Fort Lauderdale, Florida on November 12, 2015

I was not looking for an XJ-S. I wanted a convertible sports car for Florida driving. A friend who flips cars owned a 96 in wonderful condition. Garage kept for 17 years and all the paperwork Yes, they really are out there. So after a test drive and mechanic check up (EVERYTHING WORKED PERFECTLY) I have now owned it for two years and put about 7000 miles on it with two trips of about 600 miles. I have the Celebration extras, interior wood trim, special leather steering wheel, superior stereo, embossed Jaguar logo on the head rests, the special wheels, and the 4.0 six engine that works forever. The performance is sufficient off the line but does not shine until one accelerates from 50 mph and up...then it really accelerates. The handling is honest and will not surprise you. The back seat is worthless except for groceries. Trunk space is large and has a true spare tire. The top is electric and heavy material with real glass rear window. Styling is superior with the top up or down. I ALWAYS get comments when I drive with the top down and in South Florida where Ferraris, Porsches, and Mercedez are at every light, this classic gets comments. Restaurants keep it out front. The neatest thing is you can buy a truly great car for under 10-12 K and have it work really well. Other Jaguars have a reputation for un-reliability. Not this one with the six cylinder. The 12 cylinder does deserve a high maintenance reputation so what they are doing here in Florida is taking the engine out, leaving the GM tranmission (yes the tranny is a GM product) and putting small block Chevys in them. Buy the car...you will like it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Classic Jaguar Stlylin'

by fboros from Florida on December 20, 2010

I searched the web for 9 months before purchasing a nearly perfect specimen. 24M miles, a nearly new 1996 XJS convertible, the final production year. For $16m I got a classic body style, a reliable 6 cylinder with eye catching appeal. It's a joy to drive.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car ever

by Theharleyrunner from Pomona California on February 11, 2018

Purchased mine for $750.00 from original owner with 39,000 miles. 1996 xjs convertible In Jade green with white interior. I’ve known the car since the day it was bought. So I was lucky to be the one that was there to purchase it. Every single part that came in the car is still there down to the original tires.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best valued luxury grande sports tourer

by Danny from Lake Tahoe, NV. on November 23, 2011

I have owned a 1996 XJS 6 cyl "Celebration" for 13 years now. Ford re-designed the powerplant in 1994 and has received the highest marks in reliability. Its a heavy vehicle, rides flawlessly, quiet even with the top down. This vehicle was designed as a convertible, so limited road noise, no shuddering, no need for rear windscreens etc. when the top is down. I'm purchasing a 2nd one as we speak, your purchasing a very expensive car for pennies on the dollar. Don't hesitate, buy a 1995-96 and have years of enjoyment, plust the fact...its a head turner!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It will beat the Mercedes SL in may ways

by XjS lover from San Diego, CA on August 14, 2013

1996 was the best and final year for this XJS. The 4.0 6 inline is the best engine Jaguar ever made. AJ 16 engine only was made for 95-96 models and makes it more powerful that 94 models. If you are looking for a classic car for every day that is very exclusive and looks like a $100000 car go for a perfect condition 95-96 XJS. The quality and reliability is the same level to an SL or better. Stay away from the V12 engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sexiest car next to an E-Type

by xk180 from St. Joseph, MI on August 25, 2013

Must confess this is the third XJS I have owned, the first with the straight six engine. Everything about this model is just pure enjoyment. Quirky British switches, and solutions abound, this model is not yet a bland "world car" as it has personality. All but one of these three Jags have been most dependable for me, and I highly recommend this model as it is an extreme bargain if you can find one in good condition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!!

by Jag Girl from Long Island, NY on May 3, 2010

One of Jaguar's best looking cars, nice lines, gorgeous, awesome handling, what a head turner, people come up to me and ask "what is it", it's a 1996 and they think it's new!! The sweetist touring car on the road....Handles like a dream, convertible, tunes, gets up and goes!! Fast as heck. Sharp, reliable, great on gas!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2