Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1997 XK8

Consumer Reviews

1997 Jaguar XK8

$1,820 - $14,220  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

18 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Jaguar XK8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Definitely a classic! Will have this car forever!!

by Johnny from Beverly Hills on Tue Apr 10 2018

Great car! Super stylish. I high recommend it --- the body style will never go out of style. A real eye catcher! Timeless design. Beautiful interior!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Such A Sexy Beast (with a Maintenance Budget)

by Andy S from Andover, MN on Fri Jun 23 2017

If you could go out with Angelina Jolie, but she asked for a $250 lobster dinner, would you really care about the costs? My 1997 Jaguar XK8 Coupe is by far the sexiest beast I ever owned (out of 53 cars). This is a car you can fall in love with inside and out. And it runs like it is the last day to get a speeding ticket. However, she needs proper maintenance and a maintenance budget. I simply found a specialty shop and had them replace all the components that usually break after 20 years over time. Upper and lower timing chain tensioners, timing chain guides, all four(!) timing chains, water pump, thermostat, valve cover seals as well as a few hoses. $3,500 later she is ready for the next 20 years. Yes, a reliable Saturn coupe would cost a lot less in maintenance. But you won't arrive at work grinning ear to ear every morning.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

40 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun and unique, but not the most amazing car ever

by Scottydoesntknow from Clovis, CA on Sun Oct 16 2016

I bought this convertible 3rd hand in 2009 with super low miles at 38,000. It is my daily driver, and is now up to just 65,000. It's comfy, but low of course. The HP is decent, but not by today's standards, still it's a fun drive. Not the best at cornering, but the nice wide wheels do good enough gripping the asphalt. It has back seats, but only kids up to about 8 or 9 can sit back there. A very unique looking car, came out at the same time as the DB8 I think and the styling at the time was pretty awesome, still turns more heads than any ole Porsche or BMW. It had it's share of poor mechanical designs such as the plastic timing chain, but if changed out early, these issues were not a problem. Some of the interior design was not great, such as the cup holders, and the stereo and speakers despite being Harmon Kardon, did not last long or perform all that well. Anyway, it's been a fun convertible to own and for the most part has not cost me much at all over the years, a great buy at $8,500. I'm now at the point of wondering whether it has any chance of becoming any sort of classic vehicle as we approach 20 years old. I presume they didn't make THAT many of these back in the day.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW--eats the road alive

by Mike from Greenville .SC on Tue Sep 09 2008

Great auto for touring and it definitely gets the looks. Reliable but if anything does go wrong, get the pocketbook ready---expensive repairs !!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

awesome but expensive

by swiftylazar from South Carolina on Sat Nov 22 2008

XK8 is a great driving machine with a lot of eye appeal. Handles great with a great interior design with the fabulous wood grain throughout. Down side is the expense to maintain and not for a large person because of difficulty to get in and out of auto.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Auto--but must do your homework

by Mike from Greenville , SC on Wed Jun 17 2015

You want a classic sports car auto. A head turner with beauty and power and also a great ride. The Jaguar XK8 Convertible is the beast in British sports cars from 1997. But some here have criticized its reliability----you have to do your homework and know the used auto you are buying. I have had a 97 Jag XK8 for 12 years and love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wont find better looking

by Paintxpert from Stratford, Ct. 06615 on Thu Oct 21 2010

This car is the cats meow....no pun intended. You feel like royalty tooling around in this SLEEEEK coupe. Mine is ONE OF 44 made in Sapphire Blue. The ZF transmission is as smooth as silk. I have owned it since 2006......ZERO PROBLEMS....knock on wood. This is a one owner dealer maintained car. This stunning cat GROWLS to be floored to unleash the 300 horses under the hood. Top speed is 162 MPH. She sure pulls away from the BMWs. I would buy this car again. I dont have to worry about someone having the same vehicle. This piece is SUPER RARE!!!!Paintxpert Stratford, Ct.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

A witch that looks like a queen.

by xk8 owner from wa on Sun Aug 03 2014

1997 lovely looking car with many mechanical problems.PLASTIC timing chain tensioners,PLASTIC water pump impeller,PLASTIC thermostat housing.All very weak and very costly to replace.I love my car but hate to always be fixing it!Many problems with 97 and 98 models.Buyer beware.Many other problems too many to list surprised other owners forget to mention these things!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

48 out of 52 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Looks Stunning!

by James Bond from Washington on Mon Jun 23 2014

Great car good to look at good to drive a wonderful car to own.I fix my own car so i am lucky very unreliable many problems on the 1997 model which i have.If you are not rich or do not do your own repairs do not buy this car.You have been WARNED!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jag XK8

by Mr. Wolf from Miami, FL on Mon Jul 31 2006

I have a XK8 Blue Coupe Supercharged and I'm very, very, happy with it, I would reccomend it to any one buying this great Car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2