1998 XK8

Consumer Reviews
1998 Jaguar XK8

Change Vehicle
4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

8 Reviews
3.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This is the second 1997 Jag XK-8 Coupe I owned

by Paintxpert from Connecticut on April 17, 2015

To me these cars are absolutely timeless. Stunning design in and out. I sold my first Coupe like an idiot. It wont happen again. The econo-boxes and the cubes you encounter on the road today are hideous to look at. These Coupes are a thing of the past. Only less than 1000 Coupes were imported to the USA in 1997. Glad to report one is in my garage. "Paintxpert" Shine Since 1969! Happy Motoring!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

FUN FUN FUN!

by FUNCARJAG! from Barnard, VT on October 4, 2010

Kewl car, very stylish an experience to have fun for all! Never been in a more fun convertible, old but new in all ways!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Value - Great looks and performance!

by First Jag Owner from Fort Worth, Texas on March 22, 2010

Found a 1998 Jaguar XK8 on Cars.com at a local (Dallas) dealer. The car had only 25k original miles, but the dealer was asking $19k for the car (too much). So, I used the dealer's website to determine that the trade-in value was only $12k. We settled on $14k, and I have a like new car that drives better than any car I ever driven. Jag's built in the last 15 years are incredibly reliable. I even got a full 36 month warranty - just to be safe. Car.com allowed me to do the proper research, and check the market prior to making one of the best decisions of my life. Thanks!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tremendous Value in Used Cars

by corv396 from Northern New Jersey on March 25, 2010

Bought 1998 Jaguar XK8 coupe. There are few cars which hold up style-wise in the auto industry over 10 years. This Jaguar XK8 coupe is one of them. Pure pizzzazzz on the road! The reliability is there too, as long as you have the typically maintained things done. Little request for the reward. These cars are pennies on the dollar and worth every one. However, like any used car, if it has been abused or mistreated it is too costly to bring back to life. So, choose wisely & enjoy! I am :o)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beauty on 4 Wheels

by Sashw2652 from San Diego on August 9, 2017

It's definitely not the car you want if you're looking for a family rover . . . there is a back seat, but my 12 year old grand daughter can barely fit in it! It is, however, a car that makes you want to drive. I don't think I've ever driven the XK8 and not have a smile on my face! Even wider smile when you push that button and the top peels back. Why Jaguar automated every single function in their cars I will never know, but it's nice to know that you can move that steering wheel a micro-inch down and closer to you if you want to. I will never regret having owned a Jaguar.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not your father's Jag

by David C from Kansas City on October 11, 2006

When I bought a used 98 XK8 (4 yrs ago) I endured all of my car friend's ominous warnings about Jaguar's tempermental nature and reliability issues. However, I've driven it hard for 4 yrs and it has been as steady as a Camry. This car was designed after Ford's purchase of Jag, and they did a great job

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My 1997 XK-8 Coupe is STUNNING!!

by "Paintxpert" from Connecticut on June 7, 2013

Car is not a power house but moves out on the highway. Stylish second to none! Owned for over six years with no problems. I did do the top tensioners because they are prone to failure. Cost me a grand and well spent. Car is the COUPE in Saphire blue....STUNNING and RARE. Love this car! Dont think ill ever sell it. If you see a coupe for a good price BUY IT!!! Paintxpert from Ct.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It been a no problem car, with lots of Pazzza

by Bud's childhood dream from RIVERSIDE, Ca on July 31, 2018

This is a fun car for two, back seats are tight. Nothing like putting the top down and enjoying a spring afternoon at the beach, or the mountains or just around town

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1