2002 XK8

Consumer Reviews

2002 Jaguar XK8

$1,318 - $23,870  MSRP Range
2002 Jaguar XK8

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Jaguar XK8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

XK8 CONVERTIBLE,,,

by bobtenn from Martin , tn on Sat Jun 28 2014

GREAT HANDLING,, HAD A FEW PROBLEMS WITH BATTERY SAVER, NOT LETTING IT START FOR 15 MINUTES,, BUT WITH A MAINTAINER,, ITS PERFECT NOW. iVE OWNED IT OVER 2YEARS, NEVER NEEDED ANY REPAIRS. THE STYLING IS GREAT,, MOST THINK IT IS A NEW CAR.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jaguar should keep this style like Porsche does

by Samanator from Pompano Beach, FL on Sun Apr 23 2017

When I went to the shows in the early 2000's I always sat in this car at the shows. It just was so stylish yet hinted at great performance. It also was actually practical give it has a real usable trunk for a convertible, plus the rear seats are great for pets or more stuff. You can take a three day weekend trip in this car for two and have room for everything. Smaller children can sit in the back, but not really any adults. The ride of this car over railroad tracks is amazing. It is a cruiser with some speed, but not a corner carver. True great GT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Gorgeous especially when the top is down.

by FP from Portola Valley on Fri Sep 15 2017

Always wanted to have this car. Wife won't drive the Miata (stick) though it's fine for me. My sixth Jaguar.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehical

by Jaguar XK8 Performer from Kenosha, Wisconsin on Tue Aug 07 2018

Owners of the Jaguar XK8 really dig the vehicle. You can perform much of your own maintenance by using the Jaguar forums and procedures recommended by members. This vehicle was designed and built from the ground up while mechanically it's just another car. This XK8 vehicle is electronically complex with many electronic modules, engine control module, etc. Your obligation is to take the vehicle in every 10000 miles for inspection, this action will keep your vehicle running in top shape. These cars like any other are an obligation. Purchase a model 2003 and up to 2006 because improvements were made during those years. Do research on the Jaguar XK8 forums and get an idea of what owners experience with repairs. The Jaguar XK8 is a barrel full of monkeys to drive while the XKR supercharged version is a super fast performer but with higher maintenance costs. If your purchasing an XK8 prior to 2003 you need to have the timing chain tensioners checked out by a mechanic and replaced if they are not the upgraded type or they are worn out , this action is extremely important to insure your engine does not damage itself. Before purchasing you really should first take the vehicle to a Jaguar dealership for inspection and they will inform you of any problems, if a dealer does not allow you to do that just walk away.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car Conditons Engine's Best Prerformance

by bondsjm from 34287 on Mon Jan 08 2018

For an old car (16 Years) and Only 161K Highway Miles! The Vehicle looks Like New But, It's the buyers expectation what makes the difference not mine since I owned it for 13 Years My opinion is totally diverse with someone new, whom never seen this car and for the Price it is a bargain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 9th Jaguar 2002 is the finest one I have owned

by German and English Car Collector from Atlanta, Ga. on Sun Dec 12 2010

I have owned over 40 automobiles and have fallen in love with the 2002 convertible XK8 Carnival Red Jaguar. I have had early Jag XK120/140's and a XKE that were not up to the XK8 Series. I also have 2 Astin Martins and find them desirable but not the car that the Jag is. my 2004 and 2007 are absolutely at or exceed the dependability my Porche or Mercedes ever were. I maintain 14 cars in my collection and find more of my associates are now driving the 2000/2009 Jags after being acquainted with late model Brits. Late model Jags are virtually perfect examples of "Class on wheels and a beautiful style" to own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Lovely to look at, but that's all you can do

by rick from NJ on Thu May 24 2012

I have a 2002 Jag XK8 with 44,000 miles. Its a beautiful car, fast and comfortable, but its not relaible. Constant electrical failures. You drive it short distances and it displays "Trac Not Avalable, Transmission Failure, ASC Not Available, Failsafe engine mode". Shut the engine off for a few minutes, Restart and everything is OK. There are no error codes usually stored. Jaguar's association with Ford didn't remove the ghost of Lucas. So far no mechanic can fix the problem. So if you like waxing, your OK, if your want to drive it, good luck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

'02 Jags are great

by Carman Driver Lover from Orange County, CA on Sat Apr 17 2010

These cars have it going on. They are great vehicles with almost no maintenance costs. The automatic convertible tops works while you are driving so you can put the top down while moving. It is great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1979 caddy coupe deville

by jag/vette from cincinnati, ohio on Sat Aug 18 2012

i just drove an jag xk8 from dallas to cinci ohio, it was a great trip the only problem i had was the tires had not been balanced and had a mix combination of brand tires, other than that it was great! sound system air condition acceleration handling look of the vehicle probably got hosed in the deal but that's life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1