2005 XK8

Consumer Reviews

2005 Jaguar XK8

$5,599 - $20,419  MSRP Range
2005 Jaguar XK8

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

8 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Jaguar XK8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Performance, Luxury and Value in one car

by Used Jag XK Fan from So Cal on Fri Jan 29 2010

I love cars, especially this one. This is an extraordinarily beautiful Jaguar, or should we call it a panther since its all black, with its flowing lines, aggressive stance and 19" chromes. The interior is gorgeous; black leather and charcoal suede upholstery with a carbon fiber dash accented by delicate chrome rings around the analog gauges - a pleasing blend of high-tech and retro styles. Its all quiet and comfort until I step on the stainless steel gas pedal and unleash the 300 horses. Its not as fast as my 370HP XKR was but the ride isn't as stiff or as noisy but still lots of fun. Also the trunk will hold two sets of golf clubs. Find that in another sports car. Can we talk about value now? Its easy to find these cars with low miles and after 5 years they've depreciated 50-70% so I buy them and put a 3-4 year extended warranty on them. Total cost of maint and depreciation should be $3-4K per year but my last one was only $2100/yr not including the cost of money. Cheaper than driving a Honda and way cooler and way more fun. Very reliable, check the J.D.Powers ratings, I average 1 mechanical problem every two years. They're expensive to repair, that's why the extended warranty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a Cat!

by Jaguar XK enthusiast from New Jersey on Sat Jul 19 2008

Short time XK owner. I purchased a 05 triple black with very low miles recently. Only problem in the last few months of ownership was the convertable top. Apparently a piston broke which the dealer tells me is rare and the passenger seat had a motor which was not working. Before I purchased my vehicle both motorized headrests were not working. For these problems I give it a four star rating in the features catagory. Other than those problems I have been enjoying my Jaguar to the fullest. I do like other Jaguar owners get many turning heads, thumbs up and many compliments from friends and strangers. It has been one of my favorite cars in my collection. I can only recommend getting and extended warranty due to the high cost of maintaining this fine cat!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a Gorgeous Cat

by Jag Daddy Forever from Space Coast, FL on Wed Nov 08 2006

I bought this car three months ago, and I am still thrilled every time I get in it. It purrs down the road; and on the highway, she lets you know that quality design and engineering are behind you. The beauty and grace of this truly magnificent machine will never fade, no matter how many years I drive it. Purchasing a Jaguar is a commitment to preserving the history of car making at its finest.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hard to find in this condition

by dibblem3 from Orlando, FL on Sun Jul 01 2018

Jaguars have enjoyed a rich history of performance and styling that transcends time! Well built by craftsmen and engineers who utilize form and function as well as design! This car has been pampered as evidenced by it's well kept appearance and has had regular services performed by the previous owners. The convertible top is in excellent condition and the leather is soft and supple with just a hint of wear on the driver's seat. The A/C is cold and the Harmon Kardon sound system works perfectly and all combined make for a superb drive for every day or for a weekend getaway!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best handling Highway and Vacation Trip car

by Saab Lover from Chicago IL on Tue Dec 12 2017

Handles like its glued to the road 70 mph feels like 40. Styling is awesome. I drove it to see a car show and ended up showing my car in the parking lot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A beautiful car !

by Jon McClean from Cincinnati, Ohio on Thu May 11 2006

I purchased a 2005 XK8 some months ago, and still get that exciting feeling as I enter the garage in the morning, and leave work in the afternoon. These are beautiful, beautiful cars to own and drive. I recommend doing so without reservation. Getting in and out simply takes some practice, but well worth the experience. The build quality and overall driving experience are excellent, and I frequently get passers buy compliment the form of the car. What a fantastic combination of engineering and design.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Weekend Getaway Car

by 1fortheroad from Nova, va on Sat Jan 20 2018

I love driving in this car. It just makes the trip to any destination fun and comfortable. Plenty of power if you get the chance to hit the gas. Nothing beats a sunny day and a convertible Jag!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

English Style..A Classic

by DibbleM3 from Orlando, FL on Wed May 30 2018

This XK8 still turns heads and is a very good value for the money spent. These cars wereover $60k when new and they still ride and perform exactly as intended. You can't have more fun with the top down for the price!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1