Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 XKR

Consumer Reviews

2008 Jaguar XKR

$7,853 - $36,733  MSRP Range
2008 Jaguar XKR

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Jaguar XKR?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car to drive

by orca from Seattle, Wa on Sat Jan 17 2009

I bought this car new and have really enjoyed driving it. It is fast and is a great road car. It also gets lots of looks because of its unique styling that stands out from the sea of BMW's and Japanese look alikes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Ali from Whittier, CA on Fri Mar 28 2008

Just bought xkr 2008 coupe. This car is a legend for Jaguar after the xk-e. The car is incredibly fun to drive. I had two Jaguar in the past XJ and XJK both were lemon. But this car is fantastic. Great handling, power train is great. For my age at 44 year, a Porsche would look yep for me. Mer. and BMW are becoming boring. This a true GT car with great performance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super sexy

by Getting' Jaggy with it from Dallas, Texas on Mon Sep 19 2011

This is one hot car. I wound up with an 08 XKR. There's a bit of a premium for the bigger engine, but I also received a certified pre-owned warranty. The car is fast, and the ride is sporty, without killing you. The only two negatives are the fuel (lousy gas milage+a very small tank) and the back seats (completely unusable.) I would have also liked to have a hidden compartment in the hatch area. (If you're out shopping, there's no place to hide your valuables.) Also, the iPod connection kit is kind of a kludge. Aside from that, this is the most beautiful car I've owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Brilliant GT

by JimmyB from Fresno, CA on Wed May 31 2017

I purchased my 2008 XKR Portfolio Convertible about six months ago. Since then, I've thoroughly enjoyed each excursion. I was a BMW owner for over 35 years and now own two Jaguars. The styling us unmatched in my opinion, as BMW hasn't really updated their body styling design in years. This Limited Edition XKR runs well with lots of power, handles and rides very nicely, is trouble free and is an absolute blast to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

another jag

by doxkr from ca on Tue Aug 23 2011

Wonderand comfortable exotic convertible. Some minor and one major (leaking radiator) problem since new. Gets lots of "thumbs up" comments. My 5th Jag and I'll keep buying them

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 XKR - Beautiful, Fun and always draws a crowd

by need4speed from Gaithersburg, MD on Mon Apr 28 2008

I have owned this car for a month and get excited every time I walk into my garage. It is absolutely stunning, is a blast to drive aggressively, but it is easy to drive when stuck in traffic or just want to cruise around town. The looks and the ability to gear down were the reason I chose this car over the Carrera S. I have not regretted it once. My only issue with Jag is that they don't have an integrated ipod system or a rear camera on the car. It is cray to me that these aren't standard or even available on a 90,000 car. Other than that, I have nothing bad to say.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most sophisticated and classy fast car!

by JennCo from Sacramento on Mon Jun 18 2018

It perfected with full of beauty; It runs smoothly fast. A head turner vehicle, you will get every attention in everywhere you go in a good way?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Towed 9 times in 12 months

by cc from on Sat Dec 13 2008

If you are considering this vehicle; falling in love with the exterior styling could prove costly. I purchased the new 2007 XKR Convertible and really enjoyed it's handling and exterior styling. Unfortunately, the quality is miserable. The two dealers, one in California and one in Utah were very good; however, Jaguar USA was unresponsive. I traded it for a BMW M6 at a loss of 50k in less than 1 year. Real simple; the M6 performs better, has more sophisticated technology and RUNS. Most importantly, Jaguar USA didn't have the courtesy to try to make this right-no wonder Jag has sold so few units the last 12 months despite the beautiful design.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sexiest car in town

by Jag Owner from Medford, OR on Mon Jan 23 2012

I couldn't be happier. Amazing incredible car and not one of the million BMWs running around. Of course 2 months is to soon to rate reliability... Buy an XKR. You won't be sorry!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sexiest car I’ve ever owned!

by Jan’s Jag from Abilene, TX on Thu Jun 28 2018

I love this car! Not only is it fun to drive but it demands extra attention which I’m thoroughly enjoying! This is a fun, sexy ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2008 Jaguar XKR

Editor's note: This review was written in November 2006 about the convertible version of the 2007 Jaguar XKR. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what details are different this year, check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The 2007 Jaguar XKR is a high-performance version of the XK, available in both coupe and convertible body styles. Significant drivetrain, suspension and interior changes make the R even more exciting to drive. Unfortunately, some of the same quality concerns that plague the XK — and a couple of new ones — are harder to accept in this premium-priced variant.

I raved about the 2007 Jaguar XK coupe and convertible in a... Read More