2008 Compass

Consumer Reviews

2008 Jeep Compass

$2,775 - $10,019  MSRP Range
2008 Jeep Compass

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

31 Reviews
84% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Jeep Compass?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Lasts for a while

by Questless from San Diego on Wed Jul 01 2015

4 cyl base model, 5 speed manual. bought this truck in 2011 after our wedding. We have kept up with oil changes and I do an oil and gas treatment once or twice a year. this vehicle was very reliable up until the 88,000 miles. almost on the dot of 88k the transmission went pdsafojfs. the vehicle no longer stays in gear unless you hold the shifter in position. I did research on many car websites and found this to be a commonality in the 2008 model of this vehicle. This will be the cause of us getting rid of it; however, up until now it was very reliable. If you buy this plan on offing it before 80k. DO NOT BUY 80k+ miles.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best deal

by hebbay from Ohio on Fri Jun 04 2010

Great deal on a good car - 4 wheel ABS, side curtain airbags, traction control, stability control, 30 mpg and room to haul my Labradors. Plus, 8.5" of ground clearance for the backroads. Everything I wanted!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love the headroom

by fun and practical driver from Chicago on Thu Feb 03 2011

Bought the car for transporting cabinets for my business, fun, and gook mpg. Had three ford wagons before, and wanted easy access without the big SUV tires. Compass has 16 or 17"car tires.I have the front wheel drive for better mpg. Combined 20 and highway 26-28 even at 70mph with a/c. Seats fold flat including the passenger front.] Ride is comfortable, not at all like an SUV. The chassis sits high to clear 6-8" of snow easily. Riding over bumps on one side is minimially felt on the other. Relatively quiet on the highway, no annoying wind, or road or engine noise. Dash is very symmetrical, easy to use and see instruments. Radio is knob and push buttons. extremely user friendly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Average

by SUV Lover from Chicago, IL on Thu Feb 16 2012

Affordable is the best way to describe the Jeep Compass. Good on gas! However, if you're looking for a little bit more space, such as the 3rd row seating...it's not in this vehicle. Overall average SUV.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love The COMPASS !

by Bob from Dallas, Texas on Wed Jun 18 2008

It's Been wonderful and very peppy and can haul plants for the garden if I need to ! Absolutley Was A great choice for us having come from driving trucks is feels like a very large vehicle ! so it has been an easy transition !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I don't own the CVT

by TRob from Texas on Thu Nov 08 2007

I have the 5spd version and frankly, for the money, it has been a really good vehicle. Acceleration is good, gas mileage is good(About 24 all around). All in all I have the base with 25E package. I have about 6K on it now in 2 months and it has been just great. I drove the CVT version, it is like night and day compared to my 5spd. It's noisy, it does not accelerate as well and frankly if you put your foot in it, it sounds like the pistons are gonna swap holes. The engine torque curve starts about 2K and runs up to about 5500, the CVT with your foot in it runs at 6K and just seems to be set up wrong....Did not like the CVT at all....The 5spd is a pretty nice car, would suggest that you have the seat height adjuster for the drivers seat. I'm 6'5" and with that it is very comfortable, without it, my head is above the top of the windshield. It's a cheap option, but very handy for tall folks...Other than that, the 25E package(Not 25D) is all I needed with the 17" wheels(I found the 18" wheel and tire package to be too noisy above 40MPH.) Later...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A true American Value

by Bought American from Minneapois, MN on Thu Feb 26 2009

I was drawn to my first SUV and Jeep by a newspaper add last November offering an incredible value for a new 2008 Compass. I also was impressed with standard safety features, warranty and the chance to teach my 20 year old how to drive a stick. The 5-speed has been a joy to drive, even for my son and handles well in the MN snow even without 4-wheel drive. The styling is very unique with the face of a Jeep and the rear of a BMW SUV-a fun and practical auto!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

" Family man "

by Family man from South Texas on Sat Sep 20 2008

I wanted economy & safety; I got that plus style, comfort & performance that is excellent for a small 4 cylinder.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

08 Compass

by Skyking from Bartlett IL on Tue Mar 18 2014

Purchased used for best value at the price. I consider it a Jeep Jr.. Not full Jeep capabilities but better than a FWD compact, Have the manual 5 speed 4 X 4. Mileage is OK. Performance is fine as a commuter with good bad weather capabilities. Is it a little coarse around the edges and yes less refined than the imports but it somehow adds to the Jeep feeling. So far very satisfied.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

best suv for the money

by guy from grand rapids mi on Wed Mar 05 2014

I bought the jeep compass fwd 5 speed in 08 and love the jeep.. good mpg. good in snow.. I have put no money into it and I have 80,000 on it and its time for new tires and brakes but that's it... just keep up on the oil changes and have fun... I have a small boat and trailer that I haul and it will not do 80 up hill but it gets the job done... and I like the head room . so its a good buy....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2008 Jeep Compass

Editor's note: This review was written in August 2006 about the 4x4 version of the 2007 Jeep Compass. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what details are different this year, check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Jeep is billing the Compass as a competitor for small SUVs like the Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV4. That's a lofty comparison, and even though the Compass costs as much as those vehicles when given just a few options — like a continuously variable transmission and 4x4 — it is not a small SUV. Even with the Jeep name on the front, the Compass is clearly a car. Yes, you heard me, a car.

It might look like an SUV, but its dimensions, suspension... Read More