2008 Compass

Consumer Reviews
2008 Jeep Compass

Change Vehicle
4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

31 Reviews
2008 Jeep Compass
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
3.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Lasts for a while

by Questless from San Diego on July 1, 2015

4 cyl base model, 5 speed manual. bought this truck in 2011 after our wedding. We have kept up with oil changes and I do an oil and gas treatment once or twice a year. this vehicle was very reliable up until the 88,000 miles. almost on the dot of 88k the transmission went pdsafojfs. the vehicle no longer stays in gear unless you hold the shifter in position. I did research on many car websites and found this to be a commonality in the 2008 model of this vehicle. This will be the cause of us getting rid of it; however, up until now it was very reliable. If you buy this plan on offing it before 80k. DO NOT BUY 80k+ miles.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love the headroom

by fun and practical driver from Chicago on February 3, 2011

Bought the car for transporting cabinets for my business, fun, and gook mpg. Had three ford wagons before, and wanted easy access without the big SUV tires. Compass has 16 or 17"car tires.I have the front wheel drive for better mpg. Combined 20 and highway 26-28 even at 70mph with a/c. Seats fold flat including the passenger front.] Ride is comfortable, not at all like an SUV. The chassis sits high to clear 6-8" of snow easily. Riding over bumps on one side is minimially felt on the other. Relatively quiet on the highway, no annoying wind, or road or engine noise. Dash is very symmetrical, easy to use and see instruments. Radio is knob and push buttons. extremely user friendly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best deal

by hebbay from Ohio on June 4, 2010

Great deal on a good car - 4 wheel ABS, side curtain airbags, traction control, stability control, 30 mpg and room to haul my Labradors. Plus, 8.5" of ground clearance for the backroads. Everything I wanted!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Average

by SUV Lover from Chicago, IL on February 16, 2012

Affordable is the best way to describe the Jeep Compass. Good on gas! However, if you're looking for a little bit more space, such as the 3rd row seating...it's not in this vehicle. Overall average SUV.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I don't own the CVT

by TRob from Texas on November 8, 2007

I have the 5spd version and frankly, for the money, it has been a really good vehicle. Acceleration is good, gas mileage is good(About 24 all around). All in all I have the base with 25E package. I have about 6K on it now in 2 months and it has been just great. I drove the CVT version, it is like night and day compared to my 5spd. It's noisy, it does not accelerate as well and frankly if you put your foot in it, it sounds like the pistons are gonna swap holes. The engine torque curve starts about 2K and runs up to about 5500, the CVT with your foot in it runs at 6K and just seems to be set up wrong....Did not like the CVT at all....The 5spd is a pretty nice car, would suggest that you have the seat height adjuster for the drivers seat. I'm 6'5" and with that it is very comfortable, without it, my head is above the top of the windshield. It's a cheap option, but very handy for tall folks...Other than that, the 25E package(Not 25D) is all I needed with the 17" wheels(I found the 18" wheel and tire package to be too noisy above 40MPH.) Later...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love The COMPASS !

by Bob from Dallas, Texas on June 18, 2008

It's Been wonderful and very peppy and can haul plants for the garden if I need to ! Absolutley Was A great choice for us having come from driving trucks is feels like a very large vehicle ! so it has been an easy transition !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

" Family man "

by Family man from South Texas on September 20, 2008

I wanted economy & safety; I got that plus style, comfort & performance that is excellent for a small 4 cylinder.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A true American Value

by Bought American from Minneapois, MN on February 26, 2009

I was drawn to my first SUV and Jeep by a newspaper add last November offering an incredible value for a new 2008 Compass. I also was impressed with standard safety features, warranty and the chance to teach my 20 year old how to drive a stick. The 5-speed has been a joy to drive, even for my son and handles well in the MN snow even without 4-wheel drive. The styling is very unique with the face of a Jeep and the rear of a BMW SUV-a fun and practical auto!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

08 Compass

by Skyking from Bartlett IL on March 18, 2014

Purchased used for best value at the price. I consider it a Jeep Jr.. Not full Jeep capabilities but better than a FWD compact, Have the manual 5 speed 4 X 4. Mileage is OK. Performance is fine as a commuter with good bad weather capabilities. Is it a little coarse around the edges and yes less refined than the imports but it somehow adds to the Jeep feeling. So far very satisfied.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT VEHICLE

by THELMA from MCALLEN, TX on February 25, 2015

I PURCHASED THIS VEHIVLE AT ROCKVILLE MOTORS IN PFLUGERVILLE, TEXAS. GREAT SERVICE, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ESTABLISHMENT. SALES PERSON: ELOY B.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2008 Jeep Compass