2000 Wrangler

Consumer Reviews

2000 Jeep Wrangler

$1,810 - $16,158  MSRP Range
2000 Jeep Wrangler

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

39 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Jeep Wrangler?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Jeep

by jsn.p from on Fri Feb 27 2009

Full hard doors and the 4.0 litre engine are a must if buying one used, unless the jeep is going to be an extra vehicle just for knocking around on the weekends. Mine is a sahara, and it is my daily drive; I have had it for over 4 years now and have had no major problems. It is loud on the high way even with the hard top installed, but jeeps weren't made for highways, but around town it's fine.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun toy

by MAK from Bloomington, IN on Wed Sep 07 2011

I love my jeep wrangler, its fun to drive and it makes a great 3rd vehicle. It is not economical, the gas milage is poor and the purchase cost is inflated by the demand and Jeep mystique. If its your everyday vehicle and you're on a tight budget there are more reasonable vehicles for your dollar. That said, would I buy another one? YES!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Jeep lover one

by Wrangler lover from Si ny on Mon Jun 11 2012

Great suv to enjoy your self with. To go to the beach and off road as well nice vechile for family food I enjoy it very much.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Favorite Car ever owned

by 98Sahara from Columbia, Missouri on Tue Jan 26 2010

My jeep is by far the best vehicle i have ever owned. I got mine my junior year in high school and have driven it ever since. Had a couple of problems from time to time like any other car. I have had a 1994 acura integra, and a 1977 Datsun 280z in my day and yet this is by far my favorite vehicle to drive. I plan on getting another hopefully soon, just want a newer model. You cant go wrong with a wrangler.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun to drive

by jeep man from Sioux Falls,SD on Mon Jan 02 2012

I've had Wranglers before and they are quite simply the most fun vehicle there is to drive. Bumpy,noisy,bad gas mileage,drafty,terrible handling. These are the things I overlook. All I know is it's hard to drive this thing without a smile on my face.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4.0 motor reliable and fuel efficient!

by jeep lover from wellington,co on Thu Jan 26 2012

This vehicle is very versatile for a smaller family or couple who enjoys exploring the outdoors. Also a great commuting vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Owned

by Dave from Kansas on Thu Nov 15 2007

I have owned several cars; Japanese, American, British, Swedish; but this Jeep has been the only one with which I have had no problems. It handles better and feels more stable than an Explorer, can handle construction with aplomb, brakes better than my old Volvo 240, has been rear-ended four times with nary a scratch, and has an entire aftermarket industry for accessories. Plus you gotta love the removable top and doors. I never use the air-conditioning, and the CD player is terrible, but with the top down you don't need either one. My only complaint is that the paint is not the highest quality.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I will always be a Jeep Chick!!!

by Laura from Lynnwood on Thu Dec 06 2007

I had mixed feelings before but, the dealer has fixed recalls and it drives better than when I bought it!! (stupid recalls.) And I love its look and ruggedness. The seat could use a lower back, or lumbar support. I also think it would be great if they could lower the seat more than the 2". I will always be a Jeep Chick!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fun to have

by Mike from NJ on Sun Nov 05 2006

its a great second vehicle, Its great around town and even better in the mountians. Its a bit to bumpy for my liking on the highway.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite vehicle purchase!

by Jeep Lover from Ohio on Fri May 26 2006

I bought one of these and though it has since been wrecked, I have its great construction to thank for the fact that I was able to "walk away" from a head on collision with only a few broken bones in my foot. It was not only reliable, but for what it does, the gas mileage was not so terribly bad. Not the smoothest ride at all times, but if you are buying a wrangler, you should already be expecting that! Great for the summer, safe in the winter, I will absolutely buy another one someday. (and yes, I am stlil mad at the person who hit me for totaling such a great vehicle!)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2000 Jeep Wrangler

Talk about retro. The Jeep Wrangler is about as retro as you can get - a vehicle with direct lineage to World War II - and it still stands out as the ultimate in fun-to-drive, go-anywhere vehicles.

In a world overburdened with luxury sport-utility vehicles, the Wrangler stands apart with a distinctive image - adventurous and macho, maybe even a little risky.

The handling may be skittish, and there may be a cacophony of noises from the tire tread, engine and drive line, but what the Wrangler lacks in comfort and drivability is made up in style and spirit. Plus, it's the most fun for the dollar of any new vehicle that comes to mind, especially one with a canvas roof and a windshield that can... Read More