2002 Wrangler

Consumer Reviews

2002 Jeep Wrangler

$5,074 - $15,962  MSRP Range
2002 Jeep Wrangler

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

33 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Jeep Wrangler?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Jeep Owner from Houston, TX on Sat Jun 20 2009

Love the turn radius of this vehicle not to mention the reliability. Plus the look and feel of the Jeep is amazing. Worth the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun and reliable vehicle I have ever owned

by Sam from Leesburg, Florida on Tue Mar 08 2011

The Jeep is an amazing vehicle. You can go from the prom to the mud hole. This is the most fun vehicle. The Jeep was built for fun in the sun. Jeep trails are made for the Jeep. They are small enought to fit in tight areas and durable enough to make it. The paint is incredible as well, I go through the Jeep trails alot, my paint does not have a scratch on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beach Buggie

by Four Wheel Harley from St. Simons Island, Ga. on Thu Oct 20 2011

Kids and Grand Kids told me to sell my Harley. Decided to agree. Needed another toy. Found this Sahara by owner, second owner. Pure stock, new soft top, 6 cyl, a/t, a/c 102k. Love it. Wife and I have 3 other cars. They just sit in the garage now. Great for island living, fun to drive, don't worry about usual beach issues w/ this. Would recommend to any old Harley rider just to still get the breeze in your face.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Feel like I can go anywhere

by umopep!sdn Jeep from DFW Texas on Mon Jan 23 2012

Not the most comfortable, or aerodynamic vehicle, But I was amazed at the ability of this like car to go over anythign - stock. I'll be adding some big tires and recovery bumpers, but from the sales floor it out preformed my full sized chevy silverado 4x4. the short wheel base and proximity of the wheels to the bumpers make it perfect for steep pointy hills and valleys. Who knows how reliable it is, but I'm hooked.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still running strong after 12 years of ownership

by Mike W from Clawson, MI on Wed Jan 14 2015

My 02 Wrangler X (hard top with manual) was purchased new, black with black trim. I received so many compliments on it when I was driving. It spent 8 of its 12 years enduring Michigan winters and 4 enduring Nevada summers, so it has seen and bore both extremes. Although the exterior is starting to show its age (some rust, windshield dings, and paint peeling), the engine is still going strong. I had to have a few parts replaced over several years (fuel pump, lifters, and a radiator due to a freak stray rock) other than those incidents, it's been rock solid. Although I recently upgraded to a more fuel efficient and quieter sedan for my commuter vehicle, I have kept the Jeep in storage for both fun and as a back up car. To any prospective Jeep buyers, keep in mind there is a HUGE aftermarket for Jeep models of all makes, so you will always have a reliable source of parts and accessories.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Wrangler

by Jeep Lover from NJ on Mon Jan 23 2012

I'm in love with my Wrangler. The MPG suck but other than that it is awesome. It has a 4" lift, 33x12.50 tires, rugged bumbers all around. Tough looking Jeep.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jeep for Fun

by Fun Jeep from Fowler,Indiana on Sun May 12 2013

This is the first time I have owned a jeep, and love it, can't wait to take the top off. This vehicle will come in handy when we are farming to get to the hard places.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't do better

by Geo the jeep from Culver city on Mon Nov 28 2011

I love my jeep. I have a 4 cylinder automatic jeep. i get to zip around town & do donuts. it's lifted with huge tires. i don't mind if it get scratched because it's RUGGED. LOL

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I will always have a Wrangler

by Diego Jones from Galveston, TX on Mon Dec 27 2010

The is my favorite vehicle I have ever owned. It isn't for everyone, but I have 3 large dogs and they can ride comfortably. The top is easy to put down and up and to remove completely when the weather is good for long periods. The only things I've added are seat covers for the pockets and a bigger jack. I live on the beach and love pulling the big 4x4 trucks out of the sand. It is my hobby. :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jeep Wranglers Are What They Are

by Texican from League City, TX on Tue Nov 21 2017

My 2002 Jeep Wrangler Sport is a “toy” for me. I have fixed it up the way I want and I take my grandkids for rides when I have the top off. It is not my primary mode of transportation but I love driving it because it is fun.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2002 Jeep Wrangler

The Jeep Wrangler is Chrysler's long-running edition of the classic World War II military vehicle. Years ago, the civilian Jeep left the foxhole for Friends territory, where it continues to attract a loyal following, especially among teen-aged drivers.

We're no longer teen-agers and we don't watch Friends. Perhaps that explains why we found the 2002 Wrangler X, priced at $23,680, so contentious.

She: I can see by our star ratings on the Wrangler X that we didn't do a Vulcan Mind Meld on this one.

He: Boy, you're really giving away your age with that one, Ms. Trekkie.

She: I know we're not totally on the same wave-length here. I had some problems with the X, which is the mid-level, six-cylinder Wrangler... Read More