2021 K5

Consumer Reviews

2021 Kia K5

$23,590 - $30,590  MSRP Range
2021 Kia K5

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

28 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2021 Kia K5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

My 3rd Kia

by AZ K5 Girl from Tucson Az on Wed Oct 07 2020

I’ve had a 2015 and 2018 Optima. I decided on K5 Gt line. It’s a very pretty car inside and out. More sporty than the Optima but better engine and gas mileage. I’ve had it a month and it’s going into the dealer for a 2nd time for couple annoying issues. There’s a squeak/rattle in the console /dash. The first attempt was told there was a recall and Kia knew of this issue. The other issue is the WiFi and apple car play. The WiFi goes out and screen goes black. Car play has no sound for phone calls. Even though I’ve done all the fixes I read about online, it doesn’t resolve the problem. Bit impressed at this point because I didn’t have these issues with CarPlay on my 2 previous Optimas.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I've Owned Yet...

by KiaGuy from Smyrna, TN on Sat Oct 10 2020

I had a 2017 Optima LX which I bought in November 2017, and I loved it. Then the 2021 K5 came out, and I was loving the pictures and reviews being put out. I went to the local dealership and test drove the K5 EX, and fell in love. I traded the '17 Optima for the K5 EX in early August. Two months later and I'm still impressed. It's a comfortable, quiet ride. I haven't experienced any of the nuances that others have pointed out, such as rattling and/or squeaking sounds. The K5 is the fourth Kia I've owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prettiest car ever

by Class of 69 from Pewaukee, WI on Tue Sep 01 2020

Thought I wanted an SUV for hauling stuff. My mistake. The roomy trunk in the K5 serves all of my hauling needs. I love the gas mileage I'm getting and all of the safety features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by mrsmith13 from Nashville, TN on Sat Sep 12 2020

I have only had my K5 for a week so I may still be in the honeymoon phase, but I am more impressed with this car the more I drive it. It looks killer and I have gotten a lot of stares and double takes. I am 6'2" and have plenty of room with some to spare. My only complaint so far is the upgraded EX package with 10" screen is missing wireless Android Auto and CarPlay. How is it that the standard stereo as this feature but not the upgraded version? I did quite a bit of research before the purchase and feel a little misguided, even from Kia's site and the dealer. It is not a deal breaker and the Bose system sounds amazing. However for the cost of the upgrade and all the other fancy tech in this car I don't get how this feature is missing!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kia stepped up Big Time on the K5

by NayNay from MD on Fri Sep 25 2020

This car has features my BMW didn't have and it drives great. Looks like an expensive sports car for less money. More bang for your bucks

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Value

by Pamela Glass from Avon Park, FL on Mon Aug 03 2020

Third Kia I have owned. Best value for the money in price and warranty. Very dependable. Kia just keeps outdoing themselves in body style and options.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kia K5 Well Done

by ML from Elgin on Mon Sep 14 2020

Love the K5! The tech options are great. The car is great and drive smooth. Love the 4 different drive modes to try. Seats are incredibly comfortable and interior is sleek. Kia is now a true player in the aoto business. Quality product at a great price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievably Smart Car

by Timhea from Syosset, NY on Sat Oct 10 2020

Amazing how many features are packed into the EX version at a very competitive price, my favs: electric panoramic sunroof , WIRELESS CarPlay, wireless cell charging with an ingenious phone holder, etc. Small 1.6 liter engine, but with turbo charging and 8 speed transmission it feels fast, smooth and powerful. The only trouble I’m encountering is crashing of the CarPlay which is likely related to the IOS 14 update.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You won't be disappointed!

by Mark D. from CANTON, Ohio on Tue Aug 11 2020

My new 2021 Kia K5 is the second Kia I've owned. I've owned it now for 3 weeks, and the honeymoon is far from over! :) Please note, the K5 NOT just a upgraded Optima. It's a re-invention of the Optima, in many positive ways. Kia's exterior styling of this car caught my eye big time. The performance is, in my opinion, exceptional. But it's the interior design that will make you fall in love! Kia has thought of pretty much everything as far as a driving experience. Kia has several trims available for the K5. I chose the EX. And the toughest decision for me was; which color?!?! hehehe I picked the Passion Red. In conclusion; It's stylish, and sporty; but not over the top gaudy. Expect stares from people.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable this is my third optima/k5

by rb1919 from Houston Texas on Sun Aug 23 2020

met all needs and is beautiful. many compliments and love the amber drl's engine is powerful for my needs and is very quiet. great car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3