Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 Optima

Consumer Reviews

2004 Kia Optima

$786 - $6,630  MSRP Range
2004 Kia Optima

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

19 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Kia Optima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Decent Car, Very Reliable!!!

by USAdave04 from Fredericksburg, VA on Fri Apr 08 2011

I have owned this car for the past 4 years and although not its not going to turn any heads and will never compete in a drag race it is a very good car. In the time that I have owned this car I have only ever had to replace the alternator, nothing else has ever broken down in this car and I have abused her driving this car 1/2 across the country more than once. This car had taken me everywhere and I have put about 60k miles on it with really no problems. This car has awesome maneuverability, you can turn and whip around any corner and fit into almost any parking spot. This is a great car, if you need a reliable car that will last you forever forget Honda get a Kia. This is a great way to go, I am about to trade mine in for a new one but she has treated me very well!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST car I ever had!

by LOVED MY CAR!!!!!!!!!! from Arizona on Tue Oct 26 2010

I never had a problem with my Kia Optima and loved how it handled! I drove many times back and forth across the USA with my family and we all were comfortable in my car! Amazing gas mileage which I was able to get closer to 33 mpg even around town running! Lots of leg room, trunk space, safety features were amazing! Only had to replace tires and oil. Replaced timing belt at 97k and she kept going. The crankshaft position sensor went and that led me to purchase a new KIA Optima, still love my 04 better. A/C was always cold and she was always ready to fly down the freeway, even the 4 cyl. that she was. Highly reccomend to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!!!

by Rvingsuz from Nor Cal on Sun Sep 27 2009

I purchased my Kia Optima new and have never had any problems with it. My mechanic is even very impressed with it. It is a great car and is very comfortable in every way. I often drive a highway with many curves and being able to shift from auto to manuel transmission to control my speed has saved my brakes and sanity many times!!! Love this car. SuZ

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by Car researcher from NJ on Sat Mar 08 2008

Nice car with out any issues .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Outstanding value for the money

by 1Canuck from Kenosha, WI on Thu Sep 24 2009

I bought this car in 2006 when it had 18K miles on it, it's now 2009 and it has 76K miles on it. During that time I've NEVER had to have it repaired. This has been a very reliable and economical vehicle. I've averaged 27mpg (city/hwy combined). Make sure you have the timing belt replaced every 50K miles though! If the belt breaks on you, you'll have to replace the engine since repairing the existing one will cost you more than a replacement motor. Keep up on your oil/fluid changes and this thing will be as reliable for you as any Toyota or Honda and for a LOT less money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ive ever owned too

by love the kias from pennsylvania on Thu Apr 07 2011

never broke down, never not started, got me though every snowstorm (5spd), didnt have to replace tires,breaks,rotors till 55k (i downshift alot)....by far he most reliable car ive ever had....ended up buying a kia sportage also (which is awesome)....i am the original owner and have 60 k on it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for a very reasonable price.

by Reneeestep from Goodyear AZ on Fri Jun 09 2017

This car was always reliable and it's a very comfortable ride. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for something at a reasonable price. It's nice too that it had leather interior which was extremely easy to care for due to the fact I have two children.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Honesty

by Shari1125 from Roy, wa on Thu Apr 27 2017

Great place to buy a car. Maple leaf motors spanaway. I bought a 2004 kia optima today. They were all very nice, honest and made you feel comfortable. Thank you so much.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

KIA is a great car

by KIAOwner from Centerville MA on Thu Sep 21 2017

I drove this car 160,000, and it has had no major problems. I imagine it will last until 300,000. Made in S. Korea. Nice drive, engine has lasted, despite Cape Cod weather (rain + salt).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I miss my '04 Optima

by Great vehicle! from East Central, PA on Sun Nov 08 2009

Sometimes I'm sad I sold this car, but my family kept growing and I needed a mini-van. But this was the greatest little car I ever drove. Never caused me a dime of problems. Always reliable. Whomever bought my old car I'm sure was very happy. I highly recommend the '04 Optima.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2