2006 Optima

Consumer Reviews

2006 Kia Optima

$1,612 - $5,888  MSRP Range
2006 Kia Optima

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

25 Reviews
84% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Kia Optima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Care I've Owned

by Love My KIA from Central Wisconsin, WI on Wed Feb 27 2013

Small enough, roomy inside (& trunk too), sporty, classy inside & outside, reliable, excellent engine. It's not great on gas mileage, BUT it's a V6= fast take off (better than sluggish 4-cyl). It is very safe: excellent stability and traction even on icy/snowy roads. Bought it new. Now over 80k miles and the paint is still in great shape (shinny-like new). Inside is so great that makes people think it's last year's model. No past or present mechanical problems or concerns. Power seat button & gas cap were replaced by KIA once (within first year, I think). I would buy a Kia Optima again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Comfortable town and travel car

by Sunnyrae from Bend, Or on Sun Feb 11 2018

My Kia had 10,000 miles when I bought it. Loved it, but had to replace headlight bulbs frequently and had them changed wherever. Then took it in to my Kia dealership. They lubricated the bulb sockets and ended the problem. Still get good mileage on the road, not so much in town. Three years ago, at 50,000 miles, my compressor blew out and I can't afford $1400 to get it fixed. Just have to suffer during the summer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable

by xoshana22 from on Tue Jun 20 2017

great for a first car, or for a student, very reliable and comfortable. back seats are very roomy and spacious

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle!

by 06kiaoptimaLX from Waleska, GA on Sat Sep 09 2017

I've had 2 Ford Taurus, a dodge Dakota, and a GMC Yukon. They've all been great cars. But this is the best gas mileage car that I've had. It's a great car! Reliable!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most dependable car I've ever owned!

by Peppermint Patty from Elizabethton Tn. on Wed Jul 05 2017

So dependable! It was a 5 speed and on a long trip averaged about 33-35 mpg! It had over 200,000 miles and I could always count on it! Definitely the best car I ever owned!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable commuter car for work.

by fischgang on Sun Jul 29 2018

Car gets great gas mileage and has a comfortable interior. It drives and handles well around town or on the highway. It is an excellent car for commuting.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love my little car!!

by Love it!! from North Carolina on Wed Aug 10 2011

I love this little car. It runs like a dream most of the time and it is crazy good on gas. I have the 4 cylinder model. The only problem with this car is that the thermostat goes out every 4-5 months. I mean EVERY 4-5 months!! I can fit everyone in my family in this car and it looks great going down the road. i bought this car new and it has never had a problem. Now that it has about 50k miles, it is driving me crazy with the thermostat. I still love it, and when it goes out, I will be buying another Kia. They have really made a name for themselves with reliable and gas saving cars

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent

by carnut from texas on Wed Jan 19 2011

50,000 miles now, bought it new , no major repairs the car rides as good as when new. i took a gamble on Kia and it paid off . I will buy a Kia again. all my preconceptions about Korean cars have changed

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Looks but Lacks Performance.

by Will-Jam from Knoxville, TN on Sun Jan 10 2010

I bought this car July 09. The car looks great inside and out even though it went through a family with kids who decided to smear the cloth interior with God knows what. It cleans up really nice and the dash/radio lights are very impressive at night. The only thing that I wish was different about the car is the power of the Engine. It lacks the power of a true V6. It hesitates when I really need to go and it accelerates sloppily. KEEP IN MIND! That I did buy this car used and there is no telling what the car was out through before I bought it. Oh and it should have been equipped with a AUX jack for MP3 player compatability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My optima if my best friend

by Love my optima from Newark on Thu Feb 15 2007

I love everything about my optima. There is nothing I would change about it. I think everything under the hood was well put together.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2006 Kia Optima

Kia’s slogan, “The Power to Surprise,” is one of many ambiguous catchphrases that automakers are using these days. In the case of the brand’s redesigned 2006.5 Optima, however, it manages to ring true. The Optima’s refined ride, strong engines and attractive interior make it an unexpectedly strong entry in the midsize-sedan segment and an enjoyable car to drive.

Exterior & Styling
The new Optima isn’t likely to draw a crowd with its appearance; to my eyes, it looks like a scaled-down Buick Lucerne. It is well-proportioned, however, and its conservative design doesn’t offend. In any case, looks don’t typically make or break a midsize sedan. (If they did... Read More