Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Optima

Consumer Reviews

2008 Kia Optima

$1,820 - $8,088  MSRP Range
2008 Kia Optima

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

31 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Kia Optima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Car for the money!

by Korean Car Convert from Northeastern US on Wed Aug 06 2008

Had been driving Toyotas for years and thought it was time for a change. Overall fit and finish is outstanding and rivals it's Japanese competition, although overall exterior styling is somewhat "bland". The 2.4 four cylinder is peppy and really good on gas. The 5 speed automatic is smooth and the "Sportmatic" feature is fun to play with. I really feel like I'm driving a luxury car without paying the high price - very comfortable. The Optima has one of the best crash ratings in the industry as well. I gave the Optima "5 stars" for reliability more on the word of other Kia owners. I haven't had any problems as yet and hope to continue this trend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing Korean Vehicle

by Furious Driver from Savannah, GA on Sun Sep 28 2008

The Kia Optima, I love how the guages have a cool blue look to them, its real nice. I got mine for 15K, 5 Speed, love how reverse is the first gear, and very smooth ride. I got the LX since I got a great deal on it. I would of loved to have the sunroof and the infinity sound system, but the stock speakers sound fantastic. It does real well on gas, and has a big tank, 17 gallons. Peppy, can get up to speed, I know its redline limited, and my four cylinder got up to 131 mph, so its shocking on the amount of performance you get. Handles well , but feels slightly heavy when turning, is my only drawback, and the new clutch is very light feel, so be careful new buyers. Other than that, great car for the price. Its a must have to try out!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Honest Value For The Money

by Mookie from Dallas, Texas on Sat Dec 26 2009

This is the second Optima I've owned, The 2007 is night and day better than the 2005, and the 2005 was very good. You don't buy this car for the handling of a BMW, but it's surprisingly competent, and the fit and finish are equal that of a Toyota or a Honda!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Performance

by MadCity from Madison, WI on Tue Feb 09 2010

For the last six months, it has been very reliable, smoothe and roomy. The accelerator pedal gives me a prompt response in speeding up with power. I had one problem with it but which was due to my fault. On returning from my holidays I found its battery flat because its trunk lid had been left slightly open for a week.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first foreign car

by Electron from Baltimore, MD on Fri Sep 05 2008

I love this car especially when I got it for $4300 cheaper than the Hundyai Sonata and they are identical automobiles. It has a pleasant ride and handles well. The standard 4 cylinder engine is spunky and all you need.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

optima lover

by Thomas from Elkins Park, PA on Sun Jul 28 2013

Kia has made a huge impression on the car market with there vehicles. The optima I'd put stands tall right up against Toyota, Honda and any other dealers for reliability, performance and fuel sufficient not to mention STYLE.......Excellent car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I ever owned.

by Swamprat from Carrollton, Ga. on Wed Sep 28 2011

I love this car, could not believe the power and handling of this car. Only problem with this car is one of the doors stoped locking and and unlocking with key fob.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better value than Toyota or Honda!

by Love my Kia from Phenix City, AL on Sat Dec 01 2012

Love everything about the car except for gas mileage in town...it has a large 2.4-L 4-cylinder engine that eats up a little too much gas for my liking. (I get about 21 mpg in town), but it does fine on the highway (app. 30 mpg). Only thing I don't like is that my paint is starting to peel off on the tops of the mirrors! I'd heard of the paint having issues on other Kias, too. Maybe I could have taken precautions with that. But since it's a champagne-colored car, the peeling paint isn't incredibly noticeable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable and excellent handling. Hard to fix!

by Miracle Diamonte from Duluth Minnesota on Sun Mar 25 2018

My Optima has been reliable. Easy handling and good in snow and rain. Excellent acceleration. Had my mechanic redo the whole front and rear brakes rotors and a lot more. Only has 70.000 miles and purrs like a kitten. Good gas mileage. I'm looking to trade in for something a bit smaller as only one person and is suitable for a family.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfortable Reliable Ride

by Sedan Enthusiast from Atlanta, Ga on Mon Apr 23 2012

I'm quite pleased with my Kia Optima. I chose this car because it's roomy much like the car I previously owned the (Mazda 626). The performance level is quite high on this make an model so I feel quite safe in this car. I've had it for nearly 2 months now and I am wonderfully happy with my purchase. It's a 4 cly vehicle but it has lots of power on the take off which pleases me a lot when entering the expressway. All in all I think it's a great buy for those who are looking for a great value and a nice reliable ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4