2004 Rio

Consumer Reviews

2004 Kia Rio

$929 - $4,837  MSRP Range
2004 Kia Rio

Review Score

3.1 out of 5 stars

3.1

10 Reviews
60% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
2.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3 out of 5 stars Reliability
2.5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Kia Rio?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very Affordable Commuter

by Shaba from Anchorage on Sat May 16 2009

I owned this car for around a year. Get it at 4 years old at 44k miles. Had no maintenance problem at all. Very good on gas. Nice inside an out. Acceleration is very good for 1.6 engine. Usually I could made 24 MPG city and 34-36 MPG highway.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Truly Happy

by kia owner from Olympia, WA on Sun Sep 30 2007

I have been so pleased with this car. The first brand new car I've owned. Driven it 72K miles so far... no breakdowns or unreasonable services required. Just drove down the Oregon coast and averaged 35 miles/gallon. Plenty of room for everything.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Kicked for a while

by Angel Nichole from Toledo, OH on Tue Mar 28 2017

I bought my old Kia as my first car. I loved it to death, drove it back and fourth from Ohio to Georgia about 4 times before it gave out on me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for the money.

by guitar man from Rochester, NY on Sat Dec 12 2009

Good reliable transportation at an affordable price. Note: Change to timing belt at 60000 miles. I lost the engine at 75000 miles because I did not. I junked the car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Biggest Financial Mistake of My Life

by collegestudent from Rock Hill, SC on Thu Aug 25 2011

This car has been nothing but trouble since I bought it. It had 60k miles on it. I paid about 5.5k for it. I have spent close to $5k on repairs! The transmission died at 103k miles, the spark plug wires burned out every 5k miles, and the car is now on its last leg at a mere 110k miles. My car has been dubbed "the cautionary tale" and no one I know will buy a Kia Rio after experiencing my car. It is a complete and utter disappointment. The only good things are the gas mileage and the handling.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not bad for the money...

by Kia Owner from Columbia, SC on Tue Sep 04 2007

I bought a used Kia Rio when it was 3 years old and had 50k miles on it. The car doesnt have the best pickup, but it is 4 cylinders. I drive a standard and have fully manual everything. No power windows or locks. Its very much a back to basics car for me. However, its great on gas mileage (I can get up to 35mpg highway). The car is stylish (I have a spoiler...and a cool color). Its reliable, drives well, and turns on a dime. As a college student, I cant ask for much more.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst car ever!!!

by upset car buyer from Utah on Sat Apr 14 2007

there are more things wrong with this car than i ever thought there could be. I have it into the shop 2-3 times a year at least for things that are wrong with it. Both window regulators have gone out, the bearings in the back tire are always going bad, and there is always something making noise somewhere. The worst part is they loose there value so fast, that this is the type of car you keep until it is dead. after one year of ownership we lost between 4000-5000 dollars worth of value and we only paid 8,000 for it. we cannot trade it in because the negative equity is too high. never buy this car, unless you like fixer-upers!!!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Kia Rio is alright

by Clarinet Player from Connecticut on Sun Feb 15 2009

too small for more than 2 people. AC, CD player/radio, about 30-35 miles/gallon is nice. not too fast.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

It's Alright, Not Great

by Byzantine Catholic Dad from West Chester, Pennsylvania on Tue Nov 21 2017

Transmission, you're gonna need a new transmission, maybe even two. I had the transmission rebuilt and repaired a number of times while owning this vehicle. Thankfully, the first rebuild was under warranty. After that, I was on my own. It was only a matter of time. This car is probably worth the money, but don't expect it to last very long. You get what you pay for.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Terrible vehicle

by sportsfan from Shawnee, KS on Fri Aug 18 2017

I bought this vehicle in March and it was working fine, but now it has so many problems with it that are not worth fixing.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1