Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 Rio

Consumer Reviews

2005 Kia Rio

$614 - $4,366  MSRP Range
2005 Kia Rio

Review Score

3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

10 Reviews
60% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Kia Rio?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR EASY TO DRIVE AND PARK

by Janey from NY NY on Mon Aug 22 2011

Great on gas. Minmal repairs. Just routine maintenance and the car keeps on going. A/C is always cold. It now has 118,ooo miles and runs great. My friends want to buy the car. They are stuck with the gas guzzlers.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

cars cars

by cars cars from on Sat Jul 24 2010

great car for the price, good gas millage, I think first car buyers or parents buying a first car would be happy with kia rio.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

NICE EYE CATCHING EXTERIOR DESIGN

by NICK from New York on Tue Dec 25 2007

The exterior is really nice. The color i have is black. The interior is very comfortable and easy to keep clean. The car rides like a much larger car. It rides smooth on bumpy roads and has good acceleration. The 4cyl engine is GREAT on Gas. I LOVE THIS CAR. MY WIFE LOVES THIS CAR and she is very very fussy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

THE BEST, MOST CAR FOR THE MONEY

by Ralph the car guy from New York on Sun Feb 17 2008

The car is great on gas. Good style. Interior is very durable. Seats are made of a multi design strong comfortable cloth fiber. Seats have lumbar adjustment, height, etc.... Trunk and gas cap release , the list goes on. Everyone likes the cars looks inside and out. Most of the warranty from Kia is transferable with the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Poor MPG, dangerously slow

by sad renter II from Ohio on Fri Sep 01 2006

I've owned and driven many small cars with 4-cyl engines. This slug with an automatic transmission took almost 8 seconds to reach 35 mph! Dangerously slow. The odd part is it still only got 30 mpg on the highway when I had rented it for a 1500 mile trip. (Its rated for 31 mpg highway -so it's not just me!) I only requested a subcompact so I could be certain of at least 35 mpg while gas was at $3/gal. Little did I know how terrible this was. It is so non-responsive you have to really plan pulling onto a 35 mph road or even lane changes. Own this? I'll refuse to even rent one! btw: Who even thinks to check out the CD player and find out it has NO provison to skip songs. Seems minor until you're on a long trip and stuck with an annoying CD player. I've driven and enjoyed the Optima from Kia and I've owned a Festiva (Kia built) for 11 years. I even enjoyed a Chevy Cobalt. So understand where I'm coming from when I say this car really was bad! I have to go back to a desiel Chevy Chevette with auto trans to find something this terrible for acceleration.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned!

by Christi from Portland, or on Sun Oct 15 2006

Really fun to drive! Feels like a go cart on the road. Good gas mileage keeps gas costs down, even when prices soar. Full tank is always under 30 dollars. Very comfortable ride. Very roomy, even with 5 people. Would recommend to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

You get what you pay for

by Han Deckman from Allentown, PA on Wed Jul 19 2017

the vehicle itself is not bad. Needs to be treated with care and driven carefully. Very small, small engine with small wheels. not too great in the snow given that the vehicle is very light. Does have excellent gas mileage and fills up for under 20 dollars (at around 2.50 per gallon). If you're looking for ole'reliable to get you through any condition, this isn't your choice, but if you do want a cheap, small car to get you around then you'll love it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

One of the worst cars ever built by man.

by Hard on cars from Cleveland OH on Sun May 06 2007

I recently rented a new 2007 Kia Rio. This car was so bad I took it back the next day and demanded a different car. The rear brakes would hang up on it. It has no power - it almost stalled out on me when trying to get onto the freeway (NOT A GOOD FEELING WITH A SEMI BEHIND YOU). The ride quality was poor, there was no room in the front or back. The only thing I liked was it had a cup holder big enough for my thermos. If you are considering a Kia - keep on looking.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Never go back to a Rio!

by Chris from Massachusetts on Thu Apr 14 2011

So I have to say that the Rio was not the best car for me. The only thing I can say that was good about it was the gas mileage was decent but that even started to fall. I had my car checked many times and keep it in good shape. After a few years of it however it decided to break with its transmission failing on me. I figured I was better of buying a new car than keeping this hunk of junk. I think this car is alright for first time buyers but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone else.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Ok car

by Ks from Lake harmony pa on Tue May 22 2018

Was really small and didn?t have a whole lot of power driving up hill which was a pretty bad problem living in the mountains. Other than that it was pretty reliable. Had no issues with it. Would recommend only to someone who doesn?t need space and doesn?t have to drive uphill at all.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1