2008 Rio

Consumer Reviews

2008 Kia Rio

$1,352 - $6,672  MSRP Range
2008 Kia Rio

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

11 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Kia Rio?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great gas mileage, enjoy driving

by Looking for great mileage from Portland, Oregon on Thu Jun 19 2008

We purchased our 2008 Rio March LX 2008 and have enjoyed the drive. Road noise can be heard but not excessive. Engine RPM at 60mph is 3000rpm which seems high. Seems like the 5 speed manual trans needs a 6th gear, but the 34MPG we got is great. We were looking for a $10,000 car with 30+ MPG and got it with the RIO.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by happy owner from los angeles ca on Fri Oct 31 2008

very happy all around on this car.best economy car i ever owned ,great deal for the money i would recomend this vehicale to anyone looking for a great tranportation vehicale. this car has good hwy power as well as great fuel economy and still provides a confortable ride

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surpassed my expectation!

by streetjames from tempe on Fri Sep 29 2017

To tell you the truth I was not expecting this type of reliability. Would love more leg room but this is because I am 6'5 so it is strange when I fit in car 100% comfortable. I have had the car for two years and never has it given me any type of trouble. Only taken to the shop for oil and filter change.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Horrible Window Seals

by Kan R from North, Florida on Sun Feb 18 2018

Poor design on door window seals. Both rear doors have windows seals have dry rotted and broken off in chunks. This causes a lot of annoying wind noise as you drive. In over 30 years of driving and having owned numerous vehicles, I've never had this in any other vehicle.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Anne from Orlando fl on Thu Mar 15 2018

This car has great space for a small car. It's very reliable and the gas mileage is great. I need to sell it to buy a van for my family but I will miss this car so much.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Got a great econo box with excellent mileage.

by Non stop Rio in the North East. from Upstate New York on Wed Mar 10 2010

I bought my '08 Rio Lx with the power package in Aug '08. I drive my Rio 140 miles round trip for work and get 37 MPG.I am on 41 K now and not a single problem, No, I am sorry Snow,Not recommended. I do see the problem with slow shifting that others have said, but I am sure that it was there when the car was new. kepp on trucking my long haul commuters.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An excelent car for my Going-College-and-Job son

by A demanding consumer from Houston, Texas on Wed Oct 08 2008

Great value for your money (safety, styling, warranty!, reliability and color-sunset orange-). Great option out there on this difficult economic times and if you think green for the environment.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

worst car

by Joc from virgina on Sat Oct 11 2008

Bought my rio in july of 2008. I had it untill 2,700 miles when it broke down on my way to florida. I was driving for 2 hours on the highway at around 70 mph when i heard a beeping noise and than the car started smoking.I pulled over and opened the hood when all i saw was smoke.I called kia and they said it probly over heated.a day later i tried to start it but all it did was crank.Still waiting for a replacement while the car sits in the drive way.Anyways the cars pretty slow, uncomfortable, and unreliable.though i got great mpg.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for the $

by Billybob from CT on Wed Nov 06 2013

I get 32-40 mpg but normally around 34-35. Car has been pretty reliable - only issue I've had is the airbag light came on - (supposed to be a recall). Some road noise and the shocks could be better but typical of a car of this cost. The transmission is not as smooth when pulling off as it could be. Seems like it lurches to start. Otherwise an excellent car

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

this is a lemon

by charlie1 from kentucky on Tue Dec 09 2008

i have a 2008 kia rio lx transmission does not shift right even after a new one was put in trunk still leaks after kia fixed it 3 times i have had it in the shop 6 times since july 08 the worst car i ever owned lemon

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2