2009 Rio

Consumer Reviews
2009 Kia Rio

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

16 Reviews
2009 Kia Rio
3.9 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.9 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Best car for the buck

by Jaster Mereel from Casco, MI on June 1, 2011

I purchased my Rio5 after needing to find something that had a decent fuel economy, but a large enough cargo capacity to fit a costume trunk. I tend to average out to around 30 mpg and do about an even mix of city and highway driving. The only feature that I wish would have been standard would be cruise control for the car. It has decent get up an go and it handles very well for a small car. I would buy another one of these in a heartbeat if it came with cruise control.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great with exceptions

by Bob from Charlotte, NC on January 31, 2012

Great gas mileage! The manual transmission is fun to drive. Lots of trunk space. Hard to beat the price for basic transportation. The exceptions... Geared to low in 5th. 60 MPH = over 3000 RPM. Doing 70 on the way to Grandma's house reduced the fuel economy greatly. The seat belts in the back seat can get confusing when you have a child between 2 adults. Agghh!! No Cruise Control!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Alright in SNOW

by Speedy from NY, NY on January 19, 2011

Hey the manual gearbox in this car is alright in snow. Went to MA in a snow storm and made to destination safe and sound. MPG makes it a Green vehicle :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Value for money

by Al from college station, tx on March 29, 2015

Bought a Kia rio 2009 eight month ago, have put about 10,000 miles on it and I love it, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a decent, economical sedan with 34 mpg or even more. Not flashy but still attractive and dependable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Economy but NICE

by Jack from The Big Apple on January 18, 2011

Get the 5spd. over the AUTO for more control on the road. No problems thus far have driven it across states in snow, rain, and dry weather. Low emissions with the best MPG vehicle I've ever owned.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First self bought car and love it

by Steven y from Malone,ny on July 22, 2017

This car is amazing for the price...great on gas and hugs the turns....will defiantly be owning another Kia in the future

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for the price

by Rioowner from Howland on February 12, 2018

It was not an expensive car and is reliable and few issues with it. Going on 200,000 miles. Would recommend. It is a good, small, travel car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice little thing!

by Roseonthevine from Festus on October 2, 2017

This car is nice. I am having fun driving it. I am jused to a Jeep or an Explorer. They werrrrrre both a lot bigger than the Rio. However, the best thing (so far) is the gas mileage. I have only put gas into it once so far, and it is still almost full.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

KIA/bmw

by K-I-A/BMW from Houston, Texas on January 18, 2011

My little Rio is wonderful. Its my version of a BMW. I absolutely love her. She is white with a side piece of black on both sides. I love this car. She is zippy, pulls into small spaces with sooooo much ease and looks great too. I would definitly recommend getting automatic everything though. Thats a realllly hassle having to open each door manually. All in all though this car is perfect for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Car

by Cubfan56 from Boise, ID on February 18, 2011

I bought the car new in July, 2009. It is the base model, 5 speed mt, no air, rollup windows, etc. I've had the car for 19 months, only drive it in the winter, have 9800 miles and have had no problems. I get 32-36 mpg in the city. It is your basic econobox but has a powerful enough engine, the tranny shifts fine, rides like a go-cart and is sort of fun to drive. We took it on one highway trip but this car, as optioned, isn't really a cruiser. I get better gas mileage in town than I did on that one trip.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2