Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2011 Rio

Consumer Reviews

2011 Kia Rio

$3,257 - $8,793  MSRP Range
2011 Kia Rio

Review Score

3.4 out of 5 stars

3.4

10 Reviews
70% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3 out of 5 stars Performance
3.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Kia Rio?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Not fancy, but overall a good, basic car.

by Frost from Detroit, MI on Mon Nov 18 2013

I own a 2011 Kia Rio LX with the Value Package. It's a good, all-round basic car. It's not luxurious like a Lincoln or a Cadillac. It's not fast like a Camaro or a Mustang. Then again, that's not what I bought it for. I needed a good, inexpensive, reliable car, and it fits that bill perfectly. I've driven Coast-to-Coast in it. I've driven it through the Cascades and Sierra Nevada mountains. I've driven it in the Mojave desert and through a Michigan winter. It's always performed well and never let me down. It's economical to drive, so long as the 'Eco' light stays on. If you drive fast enough that it goes off, the gas mileage drops. I find that happens around 79 MPH. If you drive in the desert, make sure the A/C refrigerant level is topped-off. It can be sensitive to that, and if it isn't full, the air won't blow as cold. Do not expect it to accelerate as if it has a V-6. The drive train isn't made for speed or fast acceleration. That said, it does exactly what I bought it to do, and it does it well. Couple that with the best warranty in the automotive industry, and you've a car that, if properly maintained, should be a keeper. I adore my '11 Rio, and plan upon keeping it until the wheels fall off it, somewhere in the next decade.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wanted a reliable car for my son

by Walker123 from Mascot, TN on Thu Oct 23 2014

The is a great reliable car. This makes our second purchase of a Kia Rio. We purchased our first for our daughter. They both love their Kias. The only thing is it is a base model. They have to roll up the window with their hand. But they don't care. Great gas miles and very reliable. That important.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great around town car!

by Iringtwice from Meridianville, Al on Wed Sep 13 2017

Love the car! Great price and great gas mileage. Have had some issues with the ignition coil packs, seems to be a common problem, but not hard to repair if you have the inclination to do it your self other wise the dealer will charge you a lot!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fits my needs

by Em_Buyer on Tue Jan 02 2018

Fits my needs, very few bells and whistles. Reliable and sturdy. A little lightweight, but runs smoothly down the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great first car

by Fatima from Philly on Wed Apr 25 2018

This car is great for a first car. It is very nice and simple and doesn’t have a lot of confusing buttons. Great for just driving from place to place

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Has a design flaw Kia will not fix!

by Design Flaw! from Fort Worth, TX on Fri Aug 10 2012

The dipstick tube is too close to the manifold and fries your oil and leaves black gunk all in your engine!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first car

by Rio owner from Ogunquit, me on Fri Jan 03 2014

Although it is not comfortable, fast, or stylish in or out, this is an incredible car. I LOVE this car. I have had it since Jan 2011. This car is awesome on gas. I can get up to 40 mpg on long road trips! My rio is pretty good in snow too. It hasn't given me any trouble in the 90,000 miles I have driven it. When I graduate college, I will be purchasing another Rio :)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, but even better value!

by Ahmed Mhirsi from on Sat Jun 10 2017

It has a good looking exterior design as a sedan, it develop 6 CV (metric) with a beautiful dashboard manual gearbox 5 speeds & assisted wheel+airbag, fully plastic interior, climatic, cd reader with usb+aux+power port and smooth seats and it's a great deal for a familly.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Worst gas mileage ever

by Taken for a ride from Orange County, CA on Mon Apr 22 2013

Bought this car to commute, Here's the deal folks - IT ONLY GETS 20 MILES TO THE GALLON FWY - compare that to the 28 MPG I get in my 13 year old 6 cylinder Town and Country van. Too bad - cute, comfortable car, but less than 200 miles per tank. Gonna have to ditch it ASAP

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst Car Ever!

by MegJ from Warner Robins, GA on Mon Apr 30 2018

Worst car I have ever drove. I've had problems with this car this year 1. Every year, some thing in my car just stops working. Now that I'm past the warranty, I just have a bunch of stuff in my car that does not work! Can't wait to get rid of this car later this year. I will never buy a KIA again!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1