Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Rio5

Consumer Reviews

2008 Kia Rio5

$1,251 - $6,779  MSRP Range
2008 Kia Rio5

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

10 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Kia Rio5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Best All-Around Car I've Owned

by Classy Granny from Ridgeway,VA on Mon Jul 13 2009

After my husband died,I was on my own when I needed to purchase a new vehicle. I wanted a car that was reliable, affordable, easy to drive and park, without compromising good looks. After going to several dealerships, I chose a new 2008 Kia Rio5. It is by far the best deal for the money of any vehicle I've ever owned, and I've been driving for 43 years. The front seats are comfortable and can be adjusted to fit the driver in areas such as providing great lower back support.The back seat will accommodate 3 people but roominess is lacking. However, this is not a problem for me because my only pasenger is usually an 11 lb. dog.Three cildren or two adults should be comfortable in the back. My Rio has the power package and keyless entry, which I highly recommend.I travel a lot and have no problem storing suitcases and purchases in the roomy hatchback area. I'm also impressed with the safety features on this car. Almost every time I go out, someone will say, "Hey,great looking car". I like that!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Starter Car

by Solar Flare Fan from Nanaimo, BC on Sat Jun 21 2008

My first car and I love it! It is a great car to get around town in and meets all of my needs. I would recommend this car to anyone. With gas prices rising everyday, I have not notice a huge dent in my wallet. If you are looking for a car that is good on gas this would be it. It is easy handling and great with highway driving. My favorite feature is the iPod hookup."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Price- Great Mileage

by Military Family from Havre De Grace, MD on Sat Sep 06 2008

This vehicle is economical to buy and drive. I use this vehicle everyday to both travel to work and for my errands running. I average 300 miles to a tank of gas- on 90% city miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by gto from Harrison Twp., Mi on Mon Mar 05 2012

I've only owned it for a couple of months, but so far it is what I expected from the car. Great value, fairly easy to work on, and nice fit and finish. I would recommend this automobile to anyone wanting good fuel mileage and value in comparison.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

mostly nice

by Spuddoggie from Four Corners on Sat Jun 30 2012

This little car looks great, a lot of room and nice interior styling. Good on gas. Even though automatic transmission, it still averages 33 - 34 mpg overall.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My little Kia surprised me

by Dee from THe great sothwest on Wed Apr 30 2014

I bought my 2008 Kia Rio5 used over two years ago. It has been remarkably reliable. It starts first time every time. It runs smoothly. I get about 36 - 38 highway and 30 - 34 in the city, depending upon traffic. It is not peppy on hills but it is good overall. The styling is nice and the color and paint are attractive. This car grows on you.I recommend it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Kia Rio5 Great Car for its size

by Pamelasd1959 from Camden,Indiana on Sat Aug 12 2017

This car met all my needs. We have drove this car to North Carolina and back. And i drove it to South Carolina and back and it is mostly highway miles on it. Never had the first bit of trouble out of it. We have 2 dogs that pretty much go everywhere we go.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid, dependable, good value

by wayne a from Duluth, GA on Fri Jun 01 2018

I enjoyed owning this car and will miss the hatchback. Reliable until near 200k miles, and fun to drive. Good quality and interior held up well too.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

amazing

by basic cars from boston, ma on Sun Jun 08 2008

i love this car it is great in every way it meets all my needs and is very cheap i would recommend it to anybody looking for a car just to get around in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect trustworthy car

by Nadia on Wed Jul 18 2018

I enjoyed it and owned the car for 2 years. Runs well and is cute. Be sure to get regular oil changes and you'll have it for a long time!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2008 Kia Rio5


If gas prices keep up their startling price surge, this will be the car of the future. This type of car, anyway.

Your average European driver already has settled into a teeny, economical hatchback, though that's as much a function of narrow urban streets and parking-spot rarity as fuel costs.

Like it or not, American drivers now are shedding their large SUVs and passenger cars for smaller, more efficient vehicles. But with such subcompacts as the Kia Rio5, that's not so onerous.

Rio5 and some others in the latest crop of subcompacts offer a decent measure of drivability and refinement along with their fuel economy. Rio5 is a five-door hatchback that also adds cargo-carrying versatility to the mix, along... Read More