Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2006 Spectra

Consumer Reviews

2006 Kia Spectra

$1,494 - $6,058  MSRP Range
2006 Kia Spectra

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

20 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Kia Spectra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

spectra-happy..way big bang for the buck

by kia-konvert from ny on Tue Feb 22 2011

needed a car fast last yr to come in at a really reasonable price (so-31/2 yr old used), looked alot but wasnt concidering a 'kia'thought it would be too cheaply made compared to the competition but lo + behold there were no recalls on the spectra,,i liked that ALOT!.got the much needed good deal o it ,but the REAL deal was..THE CAR! 50k on the o.d.- ok, cuz its just for light local driving,good gas mileage,,easy handling ,exterior stylish as any.easy instrumentation panel.nice roomy interior.no problem with anything so far(1+ yr).great,simple utilitarian people mover.wanted a few more safety features but its been fine on snow + ice these hard winters without.everything works as it should.. love this car, good looking, affordable reliable transportation .so far extremely happy kia owners,

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great cheap vehicle

by Murzik from on Thu Sep 07 2017

Great cheap car. You do get what you pay for in terms of comfort and design, but overall I was really pleased with my little Kia. In 8 years I never had any major issues with it and it was very inexpensive to maintain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2006 Kia Spectra - good for the money

by sri from San Jose, CA on Wed Apr 03 2013

It's very comfortable and very reliable car. very fun to drive with 80K miles and I get good gas milage. Exterior paints are not that good, but it's good for the money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Reliable Car

by SteveinNC from Topton, NC on Fri Apr 06 2018

When we bought this car back in 2006, we knew very little about Kias, but we are still driving it today at nearly 200,000 miles. It gets 30+ MPG. It's very reliable, just needing basic maintenance. It still runs great! To me it rivals Toyota in reliability and long life.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All good things...

by ThatGuyGreg from Newburgh, NY on Sat May 20 2017

This car is amazing! I've put over 310,000 miles on it and I'm sure I can put another 100 to 200K on it. It survived every storm we've had in the NY area since 2007.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is my very first car!

by Shannon Elaine from Louisville, KY on Sat Jun 10 2017

My Kia Spectra beening my first car, Very reliable Thanks to your website i never would have find my car. Thank you!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car!

by janysswrd from cleveland, ohio on Thu Jun 14 2018

has a good value and looks great, great to buy sell and own the color looks great but it is prone to rust, would purchase again

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first car

by Shannon Elaine from Louisville, KY on Sat Jun 10 2017

Cars.com help me find my first car (kia spectra) and i love my car! Gets me to and from work and also i can get my kids off to school.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great economy car

by Dave523 from Phoenix, AZ on Sun Sep 03 2017

Not much in the way of performance or styling, but if you are looking for an inexpensive, dependable, and economical means of transportation, this is it. The car has been extremely dependable, I average about 30 mpg, and it meets all of my needs.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Kia Spectra good after trans problem fixed

by YoungInpMech from Bowmansville, PA on Wed Apr 26 2017

Bought this car with 123,000 on it and within a year, the trans gets stuck in third. Had it to a shop that's been in business for 35 years, and new parts were put in. Still did it. Even after 4 visits. But other than that, it's a good car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2006 Kia Spectra


I learned to drive in a Jeep, a very old Jeep. My father wanted to be sure that I could drive a difficult stick shift, change a tire, change the oil, and engage a manual 4-wheel drive system. Sounds pretty girly, huh? I am really glad that I posses those skills, but the only one I use with any frequency is being able to drive a car with manual transmission.

For me, however, having an automatic transmission is a must in a mom-mobile. As much as I believe in limited distractions while driving, I often have a coffee cup in the cup holder and a cell phone at the ready in the console. With a manual transmission, I feel like I need another pair of hands just to take a sip or answer a phone call (with my... Read More