2009 Spectra

Consumer Reviews

2009 Kia Spectra

$1,912 - $8,200  MSRP Range
2009 Kia Spectra

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

28 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Kia Spectra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Kia Spectra - What a find!

by tobias1955 from Pittsburgh, PA on Fri May 06 2011

i found this website by accident and the car we ended up buying was the first on the list - very low mileage, 2 owners, no accidents, great condition. we drove from PA to Ohio to get it - well worth the trip. very few body blemishes, immaculate interior - super value for the price. great car for our daughter at college, especially with kia's warranty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good car off the lot, better once you toy with it

by performspec from denton, tx on Fri Dec 24 2010

test drove mazda 3, cobalt, scion xA and xB, and caliber but chose this car. i got the LX base model for a great price, brand new. they car had moderate styling, performance, and comfort but with a little tweaking this car became one of my favorites ive owned so far. new wheels and tires, exhaust and intakes this car became quite fun to drive. along with adding new struts it became nice to take around those sharp turns. all of this achieved at a minimal amount of money. this car is fine of the lot with its economy and warranty, but depending on what YOU want, it can be made into a fun little machine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever had!

by mustangkrs from Sheboygan, WI on Tue Jan 06 2009

You need to give this car a chance. I took some advice from a friend and took a look. I couldn't be happier with my new Spectra. I got the SX version, which is the sportier model and the hatchback. I love the extra room the car offers, plus the gas mileage has been great. I run alot on the highway and a vehicle with this much versatility and 30 plus mpg was very important to me. Everyone has different experiences and mine has been great, I have no complaints at all. The car runs great, looks great and drives great. Why would I buy a 3 year old car for the same as a new one with a 10 year warranty?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good car for teen

by Deni G from Dallas, TX on Wed Jun 20 2012

We bought this car for my daughter, she loves it. It was preowned, but in good condition. It drives nice and gets good gas mileage. We hope it last her through college and into her first job.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good reliability and pick up for a small car

by Ray from Barnegat NJ on Tue Jun 20 2017

Drives great and is good on gas. Exterior nice looking lacks comfort. Roomy for small car and large size trunk

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best value for the money

by Value Guy from Parsippany NJ on Tue Mar 17 2009

This is one of those cars that has a better overall rating than you would think. I bought one for my daughter's college commute. It is filled the bill perfectly. Great safety features, good comfort and economy, easy to drive and a superb value for the $. There are better cars, but you will find none better within 5k of this price. If the US could do this car at this price I would by US....sadly they don't.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 kia

by tony from tx on Mon Aug 22 2011

very impressed by all the included features. I would recommend this vehicle to a friend good look both inside and out. Good Gas miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by clint-nc from north carolina on Sun Apr 05 2009

the value for the money and with the rebate and dealer discounts WOW ! sticker price $16,000.00 sale price $11,000.00 this is my 2nd Kia (08 sportage ) and 1 year old and only maintance on the sportage. and thats why I bought a new 09 spectra for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and bang for the buck

by oldCars from Plano, TX on Mon May 08 2017

Never had any major issues till date. After 8 years and 90k miles, it still has no major maintenance costs yet. Just regular maintenance and you are good for a year.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First impression

by New Owner from Paso Robles,CA on Sun Apr 05 2009

I had bought the Rio (2008),six months ago,and didn't like the vibration at 65-75 MPH on the highway.Just traded it in for the Spectra,and after 3 days of driving 450 miles for work,I'm really enjoying the quieter ,smoother ride. The Rio was sitting in the driveway for months,and this Spectra is on the road every day.I'm pleased with the difference.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3