Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 Spectra5

Consumer Reviews

2005 Kia Spectra5

$1,469 - $6,533  MSRP Range
2005 Kia Spectra5

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

12 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Kia Spectra5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Kia Spectra 5

by soldonkia from Calumet Park, IL on Fri Feb 03 2017

We purchased this car in 2005 for my daughter after her car was totaled in an accident. At the time she wanted a Kia Sportage but none were available. However, she has been driving this car for 12 years with no major problems. The only thing she had to do was just routine maintenance. This was a wonderful buy. I would recommend this car to young drivers for their first car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun car

by Car from Wisconsin on Mon Jun 04 2012

Purchased the car 2 months ago and brought the maintenance current with a new timing belt, serpentine belts, flushed transmission and had rear brakes replaced. Had one issue where the ground off of the battery was corroded and the car didn't start. This was a simple fix and I Plan on this being a good reliable car for a long time.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The most reliable! :)

by Reliable!!! :) from Lititz, PA on Wed May 04 2011

I bought mine for a great steel. When I bought it the car only had 37,000 on it and now it has 61,000 four years later, only thing I had to ever replace was the battery soon after I got it (aside from tires and regular maintenance). The gas millage could be better for the amount of hourse power it has. I average 21 mpg with a mix of city and highway driving. The only other thing about mine personally is I might want to replace the head light covers soon as they are beginning to look old and faded. My car is mainly parked outside. Its so nice to not have to worry about if your going to have a unexpected expensive repair bill. Make sure you do ALL of the recommended maintenance and this car will last you a good long while! :) :) :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very fast get up and go car

by hotwheels from toledo,ohio on Sun Oct 25 2009

i bought this car new in 06 with 5 miles on in, its 09 and i have 73,000 miles on it now runs fine parts are very cheep had to replace lower control arm because i went to far over on rr tracks and went off road lol im thinking about buying kn cold air intake car has 138 hp now when i buy it suppose to give 7.8 extra hp not to bad did i say its a 5 speed people gave me some because its not american made .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Decision I made!

by Nena from Florida on Tue Nov 24 2015

I bought this car beginning of 2006, because I needed to have something more comfortable than a sport car. Everyone said I was crazy to switch my luxury sport car for this fun sporty funny looking car.. I was looking for something that would not give me a headache and comfortable to fit the needs of my family. Best choice I have made.. it will almost be 10 years and I have never had any problems other than a gas tank problem that was fixed. Runs perfect!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE THIS THING!

by BIG ROB from OAK LAWN, IL on Thu Feb 14 2008

THIS IS AN AWESOME CAR FOR THE PRICE YOUR GONNA PAY. I LOVE THIS THING! I RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE WHO WANTS A COMFORTABLE RIDE AND SOME GET UP AND GO IN THE SAME PACKAGE.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome!

by satisfied customer from Boise, ID on Wed Aug 02 2006

Have had the car for 1 1/2 years, and never had any problems. Great on gas mileage around town and freeway. Best car I've ever had.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great little car

by Keys267 on Tue Aug 01 2017

This car is the perfect car for a new driver. Handles easily, great mileage and affordable. Recommend

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Keeps Going & Going

by Chuck from Jacksonville Beach, FL on Thu Jun 04 2015

I bought my Spectra5 new in 2005. Now after 10 years & 250,000 miles, it is still running like a champ. Except tires & batteries, the only issues have been - new starter (changed under warranty), new rotors & calipers, and recently, new MAF & O2 sensors (after it started running rough). I wouldn't recommend it for long trips, but for travelling 100 miles per day, it was a perfect choice. It has enough oomph for passing and the handling is crisp (even after 250,000 miles)! It has been an enjoyable car. I plan on keeping it through 2015 and then consider trading it in...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value!

by Sparky from TX on Thu Apr 19 2012

Bought this car used a year ago to save gas. Wow, this thing is great! No repairs to speak of and it starts right up every morning. Runs smooth and rides great for a small car. I had no idea what a money saver this little gem would be.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2