Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2000 Sportage

Consumer Reviews

2000 Kia Sportage

$962 - $6,598  MSRP Range
2000 Kia Sportage

Review Score

3.3 out of 5 stars

3.3

11 Reviews
55% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
2.7 out of 5 stars Performance
3.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Kia Sportage?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A GREAT litte SUV

by Kelly from Minnesota on Sun Jun 07 2009

I have had my 2000 Sportage SUV since new and I currently have over 120,000 miles on it. Except for normal wear items like tires, battery, etc. I have never had any mechanical or electronic problems. The 4-wheel drive feature has gotten me through some pretty tough Minnesota winters. All this plus great mileage, what's not to like? I love the car and I hope to keep it forever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

not bad for the buck

by Paz from Smithtown NY on Wed Jul 06 2011

Good car for point A to point B, Fair in the snow. Kind of bouncey, but gas mileage is great, 4x4 works pretty good.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A real solid Junker

by It'sRealMinerHourz from MS on Sat Jul 01 2017

I'd say it's a great first car for someone who just got their license. Great fuel economy. Excellent visibility. Handling is way too soft for someone to even be willing to try making a turn above 10 mph, and its actually quite a robust car despite lacking performance. I've driven mine every day for a year now and the only thing I've done to it is change out the brakes. But I must say that the stock tires suck; change those if you don't want to hydroplane at 35 mph.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

least expensively car I've owned

by traveller from olympia, washington on Sat Dec 09 2006

Bought this 2000 sportage convertible used. I had intended to use it as a 2nd car for short distance travel. I am very surprised at the overall performance and quality for its price. Over the years, I have owned and drove many high end luxury cars and I am satisified with what I paid for.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Nothng Special

by Car Researcher from Wink, Tx on Sun May 27 2007

We've had this car for a couple of years now and its been pretty good. The power windows broke though. Gas mileage was good. Reliability was okay i guess. Its nothing special. I call it a junker.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

like my kia

by jer from minnesota on Sun Aug 09 2009

98000 miles no repairs . nothing else needed to say. sporty fun and four wheel drive. great for ice fishing and camping.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

by far the worst car I've every owned

by Fed up in Michigan from Macomb County, MI on Mon Dec 10 2007

The dealerships sell you with their "wonderful warranty" but no one sits down with you to explain every thing and every cost involved with it. . It's a shame. I spent good money for this piece of metal. Still paying on it and every month it's costing more and more to fix. The dealerships won't cover anything. Go do a search yourself type in "troubles with Kias" and see what you come up with. Great stuff to say the least.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

2000 Kia Sportage

by Cindy from Washington on Fri Aug 04 2006

I had this car from brand new. The first 2 years were ok, but by about 24-26 mos it was in the shop every other month. Had thousands of dollars of repairs both warranty and out of my pocket. Not what I would recommend to anyone I cared about.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

kia sportage 2000

by Free from Trion Ga on Wed Jul 20 2011

has a cup holder, good ac and heat, goosd speakers, has had to replace rear end twice, carrier baron, every part has to come from the dealship, nice interior.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mr.

by Ismail from on Sun Nov 14 2010

it is ok with me... i like this car and i really want to keep it with me at least for 5 years... thanx

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2