2000 Discovery

Consumer Reviews
2000 Land Rover Discovery

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

13 Reviews
2000 Land Rover Discovery
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing used SUV for the money

by Rover Dude from Milwaukee on March 21, 2008

I have 0ver a hundred thousand on mine and love every minute of driving it. Yes it is a Land Rover and you need a mechanic that understands the systems not some buick monkey wrench. I have had no issues other than regular upkeep. I would recomend for a winter driver that needs something to get through the nasty. Don't drive like a sports car to the soccer field and you'll get 20+ mpg. Enjoy

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by Jim S from Orange County, California on August 2, 2015

We purchased the car 3 years ago with 115K on it. It now has about 160K on it. It's a great SUV that is very comfortable and will take you anywhere you want to go. It is a bit quirky in that the sensors will pop on and off for no apparent reason. If you're willing to deal with that annoyance, you're driving of the best SUV's ever made. We haven't had problems with it. After about a year we decided to go through and do the scheduled maintenance. The only other thing we did was change a gasket that had migrated and caused a small oil leak and replaced the heater core while they were there. This is not the fastest SUV on the road, but it's a tank. It will clear nearly anything on the road or off road, get you through snow and mud while being very quiet and comfortable in the city. The turning radius is a bit wider than I would like (which is my only complaint when driving). The cargo space is amazing and the fold down seats are very easy/quick. Even though it's a 15 year old car, it still looks really nice and feels solid. I have

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First love

by TayDav from Tampa, FL on April 14, 2017

I bought it, without much prior knowledge to be quite honest, because I loved the metallic green paint and soft, beige leather. Not only is the ride the best of any SUV, it rides like a dream, can tow 7,700 pounds and can take a beating. It's also great value for the money under $10k. Most modern "suvs" can handful keep up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Master Mechanics Only

by RoverH8R from on April 25, 2013

As Jeffzz9 said, you MUST be a gearhead to own of these. You need to be able to do a Head Gasket job or know someone who does and will not charge you $100+ an hour. The head gaskets will go bad every 40-50K Miles. The timing cover gaskets will go bad about every 60K miles, a head or timing gasket job will cost you $1500 minimum each time. Add in other repairs such as crank seal, purge valve, inertia switch going bad causing your Discovery to suddenly jerk and the engine to shut off going 65 on an interstate, yes, this happened to me, and this SUV will drive you crazy. Oh yeah, the ABS lights will go off a lot too, they're affectionately known as the 3 Amigos on the forums, ABS, Traction Control & Hill Descent. I meticulously maintained mine, changed the differential and transfer case gear oil every 20K, had transmission fluid changed regularly and never had a problem with any of those, but it is the Engine that will bankrupt you. I changed the oil every 3K religiously and I had the coolant changed every two years whether it need it or not and my head gaskets went bad 3 times in 138K Miles. If you do not have enough skills, or time, to do a head gasket job make sure you have an independent mechanic in your area who knows Rovers before buying one, the dealer will quote you $5K + every time you take it to them, if you read the Rover forums you will see this is common. If you want a true off-road SUV and you are an ASE certified mechanic who can pick one up for $750 and do the repairs yourself then this is a great SUV. You must do a pre-buy inspection before buying one of these, chances are there are many things wrong that may not be obvious. Take care of you car and it will take care of you was definitely not my experience.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Tools required

by Jeffzx9 from Clarksville, OH on January 25, 2012

As Mr. Vonderharr said in his review, there was a significant change between the Discovery 1 and Discovery 2. I own a 1999 Discovery 1, and absolutely love it, through 160K trouble-free miles. I have replaced numerous items myself, including a recent head gasket and water pump job, BUT, if MAINTAINED PROPERLY, a Land Rover will likely out-last its owner. Very over-engineered and will go anywhere. Very logically designed for ease of service for the owner, and plenty of aftermarket support. There are Rover guys out there like me who are glad to help other owners. However, if you do not own tools and or enjoy maintenance, I would suggest you look elsewhere, because dealer service will bankrupt you. There is nothing else quite like a Land Rover; for better or worse. A definite vehicle for gearheads.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall GREAT TRUCK!!

by roverguy67 from Holyoke ,MA on August 16, 2011

this is my 5th Land rover. I have had no problems in the years that i've owned it... I have replaced the alternator, serpentine belt, water pump, all belts and hoses, mass air flow sensor.... but these are expected on an 11 year old truck with over 100,000 miles.... I have had no problems with my truck... in fact it is the best truck that i've ever owned... these trucks need VERY specific maintenence.... if you maintain them properly... they are amazing!! Thank you to J.E. Robinson automotive for keeping my truck trouble free. I love that my truck is so solid feeling, and tough.. wonderful off road... and it is wonderful in massachusits winters......

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rovers are Underappreciated; mine is INCREDIBLE!

by David from Plano, TX on December 11, 2011

I have owned a Rover Discovery II for about a year, and the vehicle has been consistently wonderful. It has tremendous power, has been extremely reliable, and remains one of the most stylish rides on the road. You often see these vehicles with well over 200k miles. I think they are among the best bargains in luxury SUVs because of their undeserved bad reputations. This simply improves the value per dollar, making the vehicles that much more desireable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very solid and safe SUV! Recommend!

by JimDandy from Highlands Ranch on June 30, 2008

reliable, solid, high end finish....love it. I purchased mine used so got a great value, but I would hate to pay the new price as the depreciation on these is pretty out of sight. Great SUV though!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best SUV i had

by john from austin on April 7, 2009

wow i have my baby for 5 yrs and i have 214k miles on it i bought with 110k miles 5years ago and have no problem runs great i do always oil change every 3000 miles very nice SUV

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Have had some mechanical problems

by Starr from West Virginia on March 29, 2008

we have had to put our Land Rover in the shop 3-4 times in the past 2 1/2 years for mechanical and electrical issues.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2000 Land Rover Discovery