2002 Discovery

Consumer Reviews
2002 Land Rover Discovery

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

9 Reviews
2002 Land Rover Discovery
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Thirsty SUV for its size, but a great overall car

by Seth from Chicago, IL on August 22, 2006

The disco is the first land rover I have owned, so I don't have anything to compare it to. It is very capable in the snow and ice in Chi-town. Lots of creature features including a heated windsheild and dual moon roofs. However, the lackluster engine and it thirst for fuel makes this truck tough as a daily driver. Not to mention it goes through breaks about every year and a half and the tires are over $1000 for four to replace. However, there is nothing better out there for snow driving, off-roading and overall class comfort with unique styling. If you are going to look into a Disco, make sure you have the pocket book to keep it on the road. Reliability has been stellar outside of the brakes and lights...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

MOST CAPABLE VEHICLE I EVER OWNED

by FIRST TIME ROVER OWNER from PHILADELPHIA on April 22, 2014

I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK A FEW YEARS AGO WITH 108,000 MILES ON IT...PUT A BUNCH OF SMALL PARTS INTO IT....BOTTOM LINE THIS IS AN AWESOME VEHICLE FOR SOMEONE WHO CAN DO THE MAINTENANCE ON IT. UNSTOPPABLE IN THE SNOW. I HAVE OVER 120,000 MILES ON IT, STILL VERY RELIABLE, GAS MILEAGE IS STILL BAD BUT IT HANDLES WELL AND IS FUN TO DRIVE.....I LOVE THIS TRUCK AND WILL NEVER GIVE UP ON IT...MINE IS NOW 13 YEARS OLD BUT LOOKS AND DRIVES LIKE IT'S A NEW VEHICLE.....IT'S THE KIND OF TRUCK YOU WAKE UP IN THE MORNING AND CAN'T TAKE YOUR EYES OFF OF IT.....LIKE I SAID IF YOU CAN MAINTAIN IT YOURSELF, IT WILL RUN FOR DECADES. IF YOU HAVE TO TAKE IT TO LAND ROVER EVERY TIME YOU HAVE A PROBLEM...DON/T BUY IT. ONCE YOU OWN ONE, YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH IT.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Going to be an all-time classic

by MG from Colorado on April 3, 2018

Most fun car I have ever owned. Versatile off roading and cruising through town. Unstoppable in the snow. The design of this car is timeless.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

british luxury

by demetrius from Philadelphia, PA on March 13, 2010

These trucks are given a bad reputation by people who got suckered by someone. Bought my 2002 discovery with under 75000 miles. Beast in the snow. This vehicle needs a lot of pampering. maintain it and it will take care of you. Love my truck and will buy another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great 4x4

by Brit Touring from Omaha, NE on February 18, 2010

Great truck, no problems and it goes anywhere. I drive it through snow and off road on occasion, no problems. Great positive handling. If you want a responsive feel this is the one for you

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

If the Gas don't make you broke -

by Disco II from Saint Louis, MO on August 3, 2009

the repairs will. always wanted one, got one for a good deal and was thrilled. then things started breaking. a lot of things. the lot of things that broke all had expensive price tags attached when they got fixed. and i got them fixed cheap at the auto auction where i work and they sell Land Rovers. The car is so thirsty for premium it is criminal. it gets 13 mpg in the city & 13 mpg on the highway. as far as performance it is not fast, nimble, or responsive by any means but it does do what it was designed to do. Offroad, or in adverse weather it is a beast feel totally secure - almost because it is so heavy it doesn't exactly stop on a dime. So the only reason to buy this headache is if you are going to drive it offroad 99% of the time, because if you aren't don't buy it because when the pavement starts it is literally the worst car on the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

READ

by Jan from on May 11, 2010

This kind of car lasted me from highschool, until I was married and I need to to buy a minivan for my babies. Great buy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Superb vehicle in winter conditions and offroad

by Bigdog from Southeastern CT on October 18, 2006

This vehicle is amazing in winter conditions and is a real horse off road. but is stylish and handles all of the tasks around town with ease and comfort. The Discovery has fabulous road manners with its active traction controls and roll control. It handles curves as well as my wife's S80 Volvo and gives my Mercedes S-430 a run for its money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Tank!

by Kjoker from Punta gorda on July 15, 2018

Bought for specific purpose: Got more than I expected.. very roomy! And solid! Absolutely love ..well designed; loved the converter in back, nice touch for long distance travel

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1