2008 LR3

Consumer Reviews

2008 Land Rover LR3

$4,379 - $18,915  MSRP Range
2008 Land Rover LR3

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

22 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Land Rover LR3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV I've ever owned - by far

by R'elise me from California on Fri Jul 09 2010

I've put this car through a lot of pretty hard off road, highway and city driving. I've rock crawled over very difficult terrain, I've towed my race car to many events and I'm an agressive highway driver in general. This SUV just never disappoints. It's been utterly reliable, the dealer experience is on par with MBZ and Porsche and all the service has been included with the car with exception of the brake pads which are still good after 22k hard miles. This SUV just does everything so well, I can't imagine a better evolution of this car with the exception of more refinement in the transmission and more HP which the current model does provide (but unnecessary IMO - and I like fast cars). The 2008 has the best interior unless you want the newer look which I think trades functionality for urban chicness. After owning a Mercedes, BMWs, the Honda truck, and having driven the Q7, GL, Lexus and Escalade this SUV stands out as the the most balanced between luxury, function and style. One more thing - NOONE makes an SUV that seats 7 large adults as comfortably as the LR3. Not even the Escalade compares in that respect. And offroad, only the Porsche can compare, but that SUV is very small inside. As for gas mileage, I get 19mpg going 75-100mph hwy and 15 city so disregard the EPA estimates. NONE of the SUV's I've had could beat those numbers. Not even my old Honda Element did better and that thing was a tin can in comparison.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2008 LR3

by Chris from on Wed Mar 28 2012

Got rid of a 2004 Discovery II. Engine went with only 60,000 miles on it. Got engine rebuilt and traded in on the 2008 LR3. Many improvments have been made. More luxurous, while maintaining the rugged off road look of the Land Rover Brand

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent

by jmjwaustin from Rockinham, NC on Mon Jun 04 2012

I really have enjoyed by Land Rover. All what its advertised to be. Great automobile. Gas mileage is not all that great 14 to 17 but better than my suburban.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful SUV for any type of weather

by Car Dude from League City, Texas on Wed Mar 28 2012

This is the best SUV we have ever owned. The air suspension makes for an incredible ride even on the most imperfect streets. Handling is precise and quick, and with a turning ratio that is superior to any other SUV in the market with all-wheel drive. Overall, great quality, with no problems to report at all. Hope it will stay this way passing 50K miles. Very pleased with gas mileage for the over 5,000 lbs of mass, averages 20mpg in the highway at a max speed of 80 mph...not bad for the smooth 4.4 V8 with an outstanding 6-speed transmission.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I've ever owned!

by m,eader from Seal Beach, CA on Tue Jun 13 2017

I purchased my first Land Rover (LR3) new after a job change. Almost 10 years later, this vehicle continues keep my family comfortable, safe, and takes us on adventurers that no other vehicle could do. Not only that, it's actually been very reliable! We love our LR3!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

gr8 lr3

by lr3gr8 from oakville,on on Thu Oct 30 2008

this truck has everything you want in a truck ,comfort ,power,and off road capibilities.i think the old landrover unreliability has tarnished this great truck ,remember this thing was designed by BMW

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Classic Land Rover

by David S from Middletown, RI on Mon Apr 24 2017

The design may be boxy and unusual but try taking it off road and then see what you think! Even for everyday driving it is truly divine and exudes a feeling of safety and control. Could be better on mileage but doesn't every car have at least one draw back?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love This Car

by EPM from Murfreesboro, Tennessee on Wed Sep 20 2017

Finally bit the bullet and bought my first Land Rover. It has had its small maintenance issues such as the suspension compressor, but nothing I wouldn't expect from a car with 100,000+ miles on it. If you're looking to buy a used Rover this is definitely a good year and model to get.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Serious SUV

by Rich from Brick NJ on Thu Jul 15 2010

This is an excellent suv. It has a hugh cargo capacity. Handles like a sportd car towes like it dosen't even know it is towing. Hugh visability. We have used this for beach driving on a remote island and it is great. It has given us 14mpg in town and 21+ on the highway. We have had 4 Jeeps prior to this and although the Jeeps were good we like this much better.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Lovemylr3 from WA on Sun May 07 2017

This is a really great car- just be prepared to gas up often. It's a super solid vehicle and I'm so glad I have it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Land Rover LR3

I made it through the 2008 Summer Olympics without any analogies, but coming at the end of the SUV craze, the seven-seat Land Rover LR3 is a lot like an Olympic athlete after the closing ceremonies: It sure better have some other skills because its athleticism and specialization won't translate to survival in the real world.

While an Olympic curler would be a natural for the custodial field, the LR3 is more like a weightlifter — it can do the kind of heavy lifting most vehicles can't, but that makes it pretty big and heavy itself, and that comes at a price. It eats. A lot. Powetring the Land Rover LR3 is a 
4.4L V-8 engine that gets a ravenous 2/17 mpg city/highway.


This puts it behind... Read More