2013 LR4

Consumer Reviews

2013 Land Rover LR4

$17,782 - $37,830  MSRP Range
2013 Land Rover LR4

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

15 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 Land Rover LR4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by Auto Industry Member; Michigan from Detroit, MI on Wed Jul 02 2014

I compared this SUV to many others including test driving 4 or 5. The LR$ was by far the most SUV for the money of others. It handled the Michigan winter of 2013/14 with ease. We had no trouble even on extended trips during the snowstorms. The interior materials are great, seating position is excellent and so is visibility. Inside it feels like a truly well built vehicle. I have put 12k miles on the truck in 8 months and so far no issues whatsoever. The 3rd row of seat are excellent if you ever have more than 5 people in the truck. Even adults can sit in the 3rd row and be comfortable. The 3rd row is not powered, so all of the seat-back and cushion folding is manual. Otherwise the HSE package is a great addition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite Rover yet

by BlueJay on Fri Mar 09 2018

You can’t beat the space and comfort of this car. I love the large windows, luxury features, 3 moon roofs, the large back seat and trunk, and 3rd row when we needed it. With a baby and 2 dogs, we always had enough room to take everything on a road trip. Big heavy SUV that feels solid and safe. Really love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top choice 3-Row SUV

by 3-Row SUV from NY, NY on Tue May 13 2014

I really, really, really like this SUV (2013 HSE LUX). Excellent choice for anyone in need of a roomy, true SUV (meaning it can actually be driven off-road) with 3 rows. I was looking for a SUV than can fit 3 child car seats in the 2nd row and with a 3rd row. Very practical in terms of its overall utility (everyday use, road trips, skiing, etc.) and very luxurious. Roomy but does not feel nearly as large as most other SUVs that can comfortably fit 2 adults in the 3rd row (which are few). Drives extremely well on and off road. I compared it to other options on the market including Mercedes GL, MDX, BMW X5, Audi Q7, Lexus LX and GX, Land cruiser. In terms of an overall package for the money, the LR4 is simply better than those other options. While the historical reliability is not as good as Lexus /Toyota, the Lr4 loaded is still over $15k cheaper vs. the Lexus LX or Landcruiser, which will go a long way if anything goes wrong after the warranty period. The GL is very nice, but costs a lot more once you put a few options on it and does not compare in terms of capability off-road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfort on all terrains

by Rudy from McEwen TN on Tue Jan 01 2013

Ride is smooth, seats extremely comfortable, and a very roomy interior make the LR4 a joy to drive. I have gone up steep hills on wet grass and don't even leave a rut. My wheels do not spin going up my steep gravel drive. With the transmission selected in the sport setting the LR4 accelerates like a sports car. At highway speeds it is stable and sure footed. It's the best vehicle I've ever had.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Land Rover LE4

by None from Crown point IN on Thu Nov 28 2013

Amazing truck. Well built, powerful and stylish. Only thing i don't like is the response from the nav system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loving it so far

by Loving it so far from Seattle on Sun Apr 21 2013

Sophisticated and rugged at the same time. Love the car as it feels very high end and its not priced at the super high end. It's really nice inside and the outside screams classy. Much nicer then my Acura mdx.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Family Fav!

by Happy Owner from Suburban Detroit, MI on Mon Jun 24 2013

Our family has a 2012 LR4 HSE with several options (but not LUX package). We love it. Interior and exterior are excellent with great build quality - really feels like a luxury vehicle. Ride, acceleration, comfort are great. Visibility is OUTSTANDING! Downsides are MPG, it is not a sports car in the corners (a stately vehicle), 3rd row is not powered and difficult to remember how to work and some basic luxury features missing (eg blind spot sensor). We also have a Lincoln MKT, EcoBoost which is about the same size, a bit less expensive but with more electronic gizmos...but we all much prefer to ride and drive the Rover. No real service issues (we now have about 11k miles). Did an organized day of serious off roading and the capability of this thing is amazing. Our guides in raised Jeeps told us that nothing off a dealer floor is as capable. Unique, impressively capable and lovely - just don't expect your Volt driving friends to be impressed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Dream Car come true. I am absolutely in love.

by Nglass59 on Fri Jul 06 2018

Finally got my dream car and could not be any happier with my purchase. I love everything about it except the color but that?s an easy fix somewhere down the line. I will be keeping this car for a long long time!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by SOE from Greenville, SC on Mon Apr 03 2017

We got this car as when we "graduated" from a van. We wanted something w/ more performance and power but still suitable for the family. This was the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Vehicle

by Jmg426 from Carlisle, PA on Thu Sep 28 2017

Very sporty, and comfortable. The best of both worlds. Easily fits my family, and dogs. Makes travel a breeze.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2013 Land Rover LR4

Editor's note: This review was written in March 2012 about the 2012 Land Rover LR4. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2013, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

If the idea of luxury in an off-road vehicle puzzles, the Land Rover LR4 will confound. Mingling mud and premium leather is core to Land Rover's identity, and the five- or seven-seat LR4 aims to toe the line between off-road excellence and on-road luxury. It's got the hardware for the former, but how well does it master the latter?

Though the 2012 Land Rover LR4 is a powerful, capable people-mover with a posh cabin, there are competitors that offer a more refined... Read More