2004 Range Rover

Consumer Reviews

2004 Land Rover Range Rover

$3,383 - $12,687  MSRP Range
2004 Land Rover Range Rover

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

26 Reviews
65% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Land Rover Range Rover?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

SUPERIOR VEHICLE FOR OVER 11 YEARS

by CHRiSTIAN in BALTIMORE from BALTIMORE CITY on Fri Jun 10 2016

WE purchased a 2004 RR certified pre-owned in 2005 with ultra low miles. We have had only a GREAT EXPERIENCE with this THE BEST YEAR ('04 & '05) BMW designed- BMW 750i engine and drivetrain POWERFUL. Have been tempted to buy a newer model - My husband is a successful Realtor and could easily buy a new(er) one,,,but we find absolutely no reason too !- A CLASSY head turner even after 12 years on the road. If you do not have the funds to cover a major repair - DO NOT BUY - we have been fortunate - Have heard of buyers purchasing out of warranty and not being able to cover expenses. These vehicles of course have that prestige factor...this was our 4th and by for the BEST - we bought it for a QUALITY driving experience for ourselves and clients..... and this is why you should highly consider....just stick to a 2004 or 2005, If you are buying an older model !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

39 out of 39 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pre-owned? A Great Value

by Rogue from Raleigh, NC on Sat Jun 07 2014

I just purchased a 2004 Range Rover HSE from used car dealership. Before this car, I owned a 2000 Discovery II. I loved that vehicle and I love this one even more. I have already put a 1000 miles on the Range with no problems. I didn't have many problems with the Disco which is why I boldly went forward on the Range. It is a dream vehicle. The ride is heavenly, the styling is incomparable. The amenities are beyond reproach. The air suspension adjusts to the driving conditions, The windscreen wipers adust automatically to amount of water on the windscreen, The only thing that I would seek to improve on would be to install a device that will allow me to connect my android phone to the audio system. People say "Beware!" but even when I have had to have a repair done, it is reasonably priced if you find yourself a good Rover mechanic (NOT THE DEALER!!). i intend to stay with my Range Rover for the duration.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Ride

by Range Rover Driver from Tucson, AZ on Sat Dec 22 2007

I bought this RR two months ago used w/ 18,000 miles. Great exterior styling. The interior is several steps above the Benz G500 I previously owned. As for gas mileage, lets just say it is an SUV. However, the ride more than compensates for the economics of this vehicle. Overall, above my expectations.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

id love to own one.

by sophy97 from Covina on Mon Sep 18 2017

i loved it and im interested in buying it. it was very comfortable and spacious and not too bulky which i liked.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Turn your back! Run!!

by peterf from ID on Thu Oct 08 2009

This has to be the worst car i have ever owned in my life. Over the course of my 4 month ownership experience, it exceeded seven thousand dollars in warranty repairs. And it was supposed to be a Certified Vehicle. You know you own a Range Rover when your dealership service adviser can recognize you walking through the mall, since they see you all the time. The exterior of the car is gorgeous. Beautful. Of course, both side mirrors are prone to break (a ridiculous thousand dollars each). The paint comes off the door handles. Air suspension? Yeah get ready for that to fail. Thousand bucks at least each time. The stereo system is laughabley bad. Why? The GPS system has NO MAP. Looks like a schizophrenic etch-a-sketch. It doesn't work anyways, so you wont use it. It only shows major roads anyways, and its a jigsaw puzzle to use. The CD player is so archaic it doesnt even have a track timer! The interior looks amazing, it really does. But,things randomly, constantly break (steering column, radio, cup holder, ebox fan, etc, etc). It develops odd rattles too. Why? I bought this car because it looks great. It looks rich. Most people cant tell the difference between an 04 and an 09. So they think you're in a 90k dollar piece of junk, not a 20k piece of junk. Mission accomplished. Mission not worth it. When the warranty runs out, good luck dumping this pile. The resale value is dismal. Why do you think you got it so cheap ;)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

51 out of 54 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Dont Do IT

by DetroitRealtor from Detroit MI on Mon Jan 03 2011

This car has so many random problems. Front stuts, Air Suspension are problems. The radio module and amp are in the left rear well and when you wash your car water pools in the area. Now the radio goes in and out. This is not an isolated problem. Its all over blogs an chat rooms. Please do your homework.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Have Ever Had

by Rover Lover from Phoenix, AZ on Tue Sep 04 2007

I never took my car to the shop in 4 years (except for oil changes/check-ups). GREAT handling and extremely reliable. Navigation System is great, stereo is wonderful. Beautiful vehicles. I would definitely recommend this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Range Rover, Range Headache

by The Riger from Brentwood TN on Sun Feb 10 2013

When buying a used second hand Range Rover, you better be careful and mindful of what you're getting into. Be prepared to shell out thousands in repair costs, You would most likely replace Radiator, transmission, even upgrade Navigation system in order to even get your radio to work. Some of these anomalies are know to Land Rover and not sure why they are not issuing recall orders. Over all, Range Rover is hype.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unrivaled SUV

by 49er Man from Mid-Atlantic Region on Mon Dec 22 2008

This suv is in a class by itself. Once you take the time and read through the instruction manual, you will get the real "gist" of what Land Rover was thinking in the developement of this awesome vehicle. The comfort combined with the crips clean handeling and the premium sound system cradles the occupants and say lets go on a trans-continental drive. The engine is 305 bhp and transmit the power to all four wheels and to the ground evenly. The traction control system keeps you in control of all of that power as you wind down country roads. At 150 mph, yes I said 150 this suv lets you know that you are in full control. The Range Rover feels just as comfortable, rides as smooth, and handles just as concise at 150 mph as it does at 65 mph. Sorry but on one of my road trips in the westtern U.S. I had to see what this baby could do. No leaks from the engine or valve cover afterwards. Two things I reccomend changing immediately or asap after buying a RR. 1st get rid of those goodyear tires that Landrover place on this SUV from the factory. They will cup easily. After they cup there will be plenty of tread but it will make you think there's something wrong with the suspension, Yes they wear that quick. They are not, in my opinion, designed to handle the power and weight of this vehicle as you wind country roads or anything other than "straight line" driving. 2nd, my opinion again, get rid of the factory air filter and get a K&N High flow filter and watch your gas mileage greatly improve. Mine improved from 12 mpg city to 15.9 mpg city, and up to 24.6 mpg highway at highway speeds. I dont work for K&N or own stock but their filters are some of the very best out there and makes a great difference in your mileage. Yea, I know if you can afford a LR RR you can afford gas....RIGHT? Because of ones affordability does not mean spend all that you have. I highly reccommend this SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top class ride!

by KG1 from Chicago on Thu Aug 30 2007

The 2004 Land Rover is a great ride. It gets a bad rap with the navigation system, but if you just take the time to learn, it really is intuative for those that try. I have always admired this car, and waited to buy a version already driven. As a used car, this is a great value! It has exceeded my expectations. Thank you Range Rover.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2004 Land Rover Range Rover

Make way, peasants

Range Rover flaunts new-world excesses (heated steering wheel, electronic parking guide) but still retains old Europe allure. Let the others eat cake.

ENGLAND. A small, wind-blown country off the coast of Europe. A land of inscrutable dentistry, inedible food and sports figures in tiny pants.

Aside from Shakespeare, the Industrial Revolution and Radiohead, what has England ever done for you?

Well, England invented the sport utility vehicle, which should be of at least some interest to about half of you - the half who, statistically speaking, own SUVs. I understand there are those who would argue that the SUV's provenance dates back to the 1960s-era International Harvester Scout... Read More