2006 Range Rover

Consumer Reviews
2006 Land Rover Range Rover

Change Vehicle
4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

30 Reviews
2006 Land Rover Range Rover
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Had to get one sooner or later

by vmax from Irvine, CA on December 13, 2010

In December of 2010, I found an 06 with only 30K miles on it. Like new in and out. Has some issues, not as much power as I had expected. Should have gotten the SC version. Went from a BMW 745 to the Range Rover HSE. Big difference with the fit and finish on both cars. The BMW is built to last and is solid as a rock. The RR is solid as well but the interior and exterior fit and finish is not up to par for a $100,000 car. The finish seems to be wearing off on high contact areas such as the doors, the door handles get faded very quickly, the interior is not a durable as it should be. The radio pops and ticks for about a minute after start up then it stops. Not sure what is up there. The brakes are near as good as the BMW but this is a very heavyt SUV so I guess that can be expected. The rotors began causing a pulsating on brakeing shortly after getting the vehicle; a bit if a disapointment. The AC compressor is a bit noisey and seem to put quite a power drag on the engine. makes the engine stagger a bit when switching on, the center console latches dont work, the heater fan motor makes a loud UK police whistle noise on start up but quits soon. Must be a bad bearing on the fan motor. It is a bit too high getting in and out of the vehicle. The BMW X5 is the perfect height, the RR is just an awkward height. GAS mileage is atrocious but that was expected. Now for the good stuff. The feeling or safety and comfort is second to none. Very comfortable seating, handeling and smooth handling in any conditions. Great visability, you get a ton odf respect on the road, like royalty. People just make room for you and make life easy. Living is California that is a big plus. The transmision is incredible, the feel of the gear selector is extreamly high quality. smooth and exact. Very good performance when in sport selectric mode. Love the power band, shift points. Execllent for city driving or stop and go on freeway. Sound system with Logic 7 is awesome, coming from an audiophile that is saying something. Great subwoofer as well. Interior noise is very quite for a big SUV, better than most cars. The rear seats fold down very easily for putting large items in the rear stowage space. They move back up in the upright position just as easily. Very simple and easy to operate them. Very refined and civlalized driving experience.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

63 out of 63 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tribute to a superior vehicle

by Joe Cee from Dallas, TX on April 22, 2015

I owned an '06 Rover till last week. It served me faithfully for the years I owned it, turning heads wherever I went. Bold and stylish, it was the ultimate statement maker, even in the company of newer and more expensive rides. To my astonishment too, it was not a high maintenance vehicle, as I had feared before I bought it. During the time I owned it, I only did regular service, and once, had to replace the tire pressure monitoring system on 2 tires because some buffoon at NTB did not know how to check the TP on a superior car. Now to last week. I was on the freeway, doing about 70 mph, when I was hit in the rear by an out of control car (blown tire, the driver must have been doing well above 90 mph). My car went into a spin, and flipped 3 or 4 times before coming to a rest. It was scary, but I survived with very little injury, considering the severity of the crash. It would have been a different story had I been in a lesser car. All in all, best car I ever owned. RR, I'm ready for another ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best 4x4 by far

by Vic P from Chicago on November 10, 2017

So comfortable, all the bells and whistles. Would and can go anywhere. More then just a status symbol, able to do what lesser vehicles fail trying to do. Very happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unlike anything else.....

by Land Rover Lover from Charleston, SC on November 11, 2006

This vehicle is the epitome of luxury, performance, and safety. The Range Rover instills in its driver the "go anywhere, do anything" attitude while surrounding them with a luxury not found in any other SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

most unreliable car I have ever had

by Virgo fit from New York on January 23, 2014

I have owned this for 5 years. It was honestly ok for the first 2 or maybe years. The last year or two have been an absolute nightmare. I have spent close to $20,000 in repairs on it this year alone. There is some suspension issue with these trucks that is an anomaly to the company itself. and they do all of these things to try and fix it but can't and they won't tell you they can't. This truck is a money pit. I am ditching it ASAP.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

31 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superior Luxury At Its Best

by The Hawk from L.I.,N.Y. on January 13, 2009

This suv is not for everyone. Expensive to maintain and expensive to drive. Drinks gas like a fish drinks water. With that said this is the best suv I have ever owned. Great comfort, power and superb on and off road capabilities. Arrive in style with this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not like the horror stories I heard about before

by First time Rover from Phila, Pa on April 26, 2009

Great vehicle. Heavy car and brakes are replaced faster than most lighter trucks. The only beef I have is the seat belts are always getting caught in the door when closed, because the retraction gear is not strong enough. Only problem in 55K was they inserted a lojack and had a screw pierce the filler neck on the high side, which filled the inside with fumes when a full tank. This was fixed quickly and a mistake by aftermarket people. Apparently lojack is placed in every car and activated as an option.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Luxury SUV

by VersaceQueen05 from Indianapolis, IN on November 1, 2006

This really is an amazing truck. It's Land Rover's Flagship vehicle, I wouldn't have bought anything else. We are extremely happy with the 2006 Range Rover, this is our 2nd one. Have not had any problems whatsoever, the '06 is so much quiter than the earlier models. The upgraded navigation system is great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best of the best

by best of the best from mn on August 16, 2007

best car in my life buy it its the dream car i have porsche 911 and bmw x5 4.4 but i love this car the best

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Range Rover Owner from on February 22, 2011

Wonderful, other than the gas mileage. I have really enjoyed the vehicle. I would strongly reccomend Land Rover to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2006 Land Rover Range Rover