2008 Range Rover

Consumer Reviews

2008 Land Rover Range Rover

$7,467 - $20,303  MSRP Range
2008 Land Rover Range Rover

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

22 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Land Rover Range Rover?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It was worth waiting for

by TRex86 from Vero Beach, Florida on Tue May 03 2016

I previously owned a '91 Rover that was indestructible--or so I thought until I gave it to my son ten years ago. I wanted one of the BMW redesigned models but got sticker shock so I watched the (Ford produced) models until the price became reasonable and the bugs were worked out. When the consensus said to buy the SC '08 or '09 and the price dropped I went for a low mileage, one owner '08 all tricked out for off road. What a car! Aesthetically the brush guard corrects the front end's underbite look. The interior and exterior are classy and classic. Plenty of modern features like bluetooth hands free and I-Pod connections, not to mention the entertainment system. I just put 6,000 miles on it in two months driving across country. Zero miles of problems. The 4.2 L supercharged Jaguar engine has all the pep anyone needs. (It also got 18-20 mpg on the HWY). The SC '08 and '09 are the steal of the century. Buy one and find out!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent truck and 08 still holds its own in 2014

by rick from colorado on Wed Apr 23 2014

Heard that its a must to have the 4.2 supercharged so that's what I got. Great power and breaking. Easily goes wherever you want off road. Some features are starting to get dated, but over all still pretty amazing. Very manly interior feel and styling yet soft and inviting. Exterior is the same with smooth yet masculine lines. The SUV it's the perfect balance of power,comfort, and off road abilities. All and all it leans towards its off roading roots. The 20" rims are beautiful and perfect for the looks and performance, needed unfortunately to house the huge Brembo brakes. It would be nice to have spare 18's with meatier tires for off road adventuring. I work at a dealership where new program cars are offered to drive, but none excite like the rover.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

RR Rocks

by HMG from Mnpls on Fri Apr 28 2017

We just purchased a used 2008 LR RR, and we are thrilled with the vehicle so far. No known issues with it, and the ride is smooth and very comfortable. The overall look and quality of these vehicles can't be beat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2007 S550

by Mr Ben from newayrk deleware on Fri Jul 04 2014

Great people. Easy to deal with. Hassle free financing even though my credit is low. will recommend to others. Very good customer service. Great inventory. All cars are clean with carfax reports. I will be back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This Rover has been so reliable!

by Sparklestone from Denver, CO on Sun Jun 10 2018

They get a bad reputation for being expensive to maintain and repair. Other than brakes and tires (which were expensive because they are Brembos), I've had no issues with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far, so good!

by Edsa51 from Bridgewater on Tue Mar 20 2018

Love it! Comfortable, capable, and looks and drives great! I've always wanted one of these. Great value fir the price. I might even buy another one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sweet suv

by Rayn from Wayzata, MN on Sun Aug 20 2017

This has the nicest interior and quiet ride out of any other truck out there. The suspension is adjustable and works perfect for snow. Nothing beats the prestige of the range rover.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury and a deal!

by Patrick from Tacoma, WA on Fri Mar 09 2018

The Range Rover has always been my wife’s dream car. I found the perfect used one on Cars.com at a killer deal. My wife is very pleased!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Range Rover, great everyday and adventure vehicle

by Land Rover Range Rover owner from Sugar Land, TX on Fri Jan 16 2009

The Range Rover is an overall good vehicle. Plenty of features and amenities galore. If you are planning in buying a Range Rover I'd go for the Supercharged 4.2L Supercharged V8 developing 400hp and 420 ft/lb torque. Plenty of power for just about anything. The exterior styling is excellent and catches the attention of anyones eyes. BI-Zenon headlamps with Adaptive Front Lighting system, power fold mirrors with reverse tilt down, front and rear park distance control and so much more. The interior is also very well appointed and stylish. Features such as Tri-Zone automatic climate control, heated steering wheel, leather seating, touch screen satnav, heated rear seats,heated and cooled front seats, 14 way power driver and passenger seats with 3 memory settings, power memory mirrors are standard as well and much more. Dual 6.5 inch monitors in the headrest is as far as the options list goes for on the supercharged. One quick last note that if you want to ever go off-roading then this is definitly the vehicle you want to do it in. It is practicaly unstoppable, with its permanent Four wheel drive system and Land Rovers own brilliant Terrain Response System. Overall this SUV is staggering and epic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Rover!

by Rage Rover from Va on Mon Jun 04 2012

It's true that you get what you paid for. Well IMO anyway. I feel so safe in my 2008 Range Rover HSE. Mine has the Luxury pkg. I love the heated & cooled seats. They are the only true heated seats that I have ever had that would truely heat up. Sometimes I want the seat hotter than others, not just luke warm like all other cars. It has beautiful interior that is oh so comfy and it rides so nice. Very quiet and smoothe. I have no complaints. I will always own a Rover, I'm sold! I'm ready to go in the woods with it and have some fun soon. Well worth the money but I would recommend buying a good certified used one. You will still get a fine auto at much less the cost.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Land Rover Range Rover

There's no question the Land Rover Range Rover, a Cars.com Best Bet for several years running, has very deliberate priorities. It eschews faddy styling or any illusion of value, instead going for broke on interior quality and 4x4 chops. The result is an SUV with exceptional craftsmanship and a chassis that's capable of serious offroad mischief.

Alas, all good things must come to an end. The 2008 model year is year six of the current design, and its age is starting to show — especially in the all-important area of feature execution. If cabin quality is your top priority, the Range Rover may still be your best choice, but in many other respects the competition has pulled ahead.

Don't confuse the... Read More