2000 626

Consumer Reviews

2000 Mazda 626

$348 - $4,020  MSRP Range
2000 Mazda 626

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

18 Reviews
67% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Mazda 626?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Vehicle for the Price

by Mazda Man from Chapel Hill, TN on Sun Mar 21 2010

This car is amazing for short. There is a little more road noise than expected. This is my first vehicle and I absolutely love it. I drive it to school, work, and home everday. I only have to fill it up about once a week. Overall, i would recommend this car to a first time driver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good and cost-effective car!

by Weinon from Dallas on Wed Dec 02 2009

Very good and cost-effective car! Nice looking like Bentz, solid body, generally good performance, and better price than most similar cars!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

no

by shelly b from Burlington IA on Thu Feb 05 2009

I bought this car used and have problems in as little as 6 months after purchsing. I have put 2 transmissions in it and its still messed up not worth all the money I put into it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So Far So Good...

by hey882 from California, CA on Sun Feb 07 2010

I can say this car is a good car to have it for transporting stuff like to places within one or two hours. However, this car doesn't seems to have the great big power when you do the "kick-down"...All it have is the sound but not the speed. Also the CD player is not that good because it comes from the manufacture and so the CD player cannot read MP3 files...so which i went to get a new player so it can read the disc. So if you are not a music person this car will suit you unless you want to pay more money for better quality things. Overall I will say this is a good car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

NEVER PUT ME DOWN... TAKEN MANY LONG TRIPS

by GHANDHI from SARASOTA on Wed Aug 24 2011

HAVE THIS CAR AND IVE TAKEN MANY TRIPS FROM FLORIDA TO OHIO AND HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM. VERY RELIABLE AND RUNS PERFECT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Economical Car

by NoSocksNoProblem from Sacramento,California on Sat Feb 18 2017

I purchased a used 2000 626 at 180,000 miles, and plan to drive it for another 10-20,000 miles. It's a really pleasant car to drive, and needed only routine repairs in it's lengthy life so far: exhaust and muffler work, oil and transmission fluid changes, and the occasional tune up left this car in decent running condition. I've never had another car with oscillating air vents, or that shifts into second and third gear with quite so much gusto. The fuel efficiency doesn't really compare to a more modern vehicle, but I can usually get a 280-300 miles to the 12 gallon tank, which is pretty decent. One item to note is that the headliner tends to fall down in this model of vehicle, and needs to be re-glued. I've seen this in two examples of the 626 so far. All in all it's a decent road runner, and these days should be available for well under 3000 dollars used.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good all aroung city car.

by RJ from Wichita Ks. on Sat Nov 21 2009

The 626 4cyd. auto is a good all around car for it's class. Avg.22-24 mpg city, and 26-30 hwy. Had the car for 8 years, if buying one again would get extended warranty for any thing over 70,000 miles. Repairs can be expensive. These are basic transportation and should be veiwed as such. They can be unconfort- able on long trips. Power is good but at highspeeds iffy when passing. Makes good work or student car. Would buy another but only if the interior was up graded to better seats. The car should be maintained by dealer and have extended warranty, make sure when buying that all regular maintance has been done according to manufacture.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I like this car

by Busy Girl from Slate College, PA on Thu Jul 23 2015

My first car was a 1998 Mazda 626. It made it to over 222,000 Miles Before the transmission failed. How I have the same car, but a little newer. No, it is not Very powerful necessarily. However, it rides fairly smooth, is spacious enough for my liking, LOOKS nice and presentable, and overall is a great car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

17 years later...Still good and durable

by Unity7 from Duluth GA on Fri Feb 16 2018

This car is amazing! 3 owners and Betsy is still a mean green machine! This is by far one of the lasting models of cars on the planet! My family enjoyed the luxury of a smooth ride and ,we had it easy on the pockets for gas! We now have a new model ! So hats off to Mazda!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable, Excellent Mileage, Durability.

by Love to drive from Elmont, NY on Tue Jun 19 2007

Last one I owned I sold with over 240,000 miles. These cars will run forever with just regular oil changes. Styling is timeless and comes with a standard accessory package that beats all. They could have offered optional wood grain, but you can purchase separately.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2000 Mazda 626

With its conservative styling, inside and out, the Mazda 626 is an easy car to overlook. Especially because it does battle in the hottest hotbed of competition - the midsize sedan market - against such stalwarts as Camry, Accord and Taurus.

Although everyone's attention has been focused on Mazda's greatest recent success, the tiny Miata retro sports car, or Mazda's newly revamped MVP minivan, the 626 has been quietly plugging away as a decent seller for the company, which is partially owned by Ford. What many Mazda owners have discovered about these cars is that they can buy a high-quality, Japanese-derived vehicle (built in Flat Rock, Mich.) at a moderate price, even several thousands less than... Read More