2001 626

Consumer Reviews
2001 Mazda 626

Change Vehicle
3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

14 Reviews
2001 Mazda 626
4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

First Cars

by First Car from Lehigh Valley, PA on November 23, 2010

I had this car for a manual transmission. It was kind of weak going up steep hills and the A/C took awhle to reach the back but otherwise it ran great. I had a 2001 Mazda 626 with over 250,000 miles on it from highway driving and it still ran well. Once i owned it it 2008 i started driving it in the city. Even with all of the milage i got exactly 25mpg in city driving and close to 30mpg on the highway. As a first car it was a great choice. Smooth ride, comfortale, has several compartments to keep a variety of items in. I'm also really tall and even though the car doesn't look big i fit in it no problem. I would certainly reccomend this car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

most fun affordable car ive ever owned

by concept geek from on October 13, 2010

this car is a great little car. it is a quick mazda hints the slogo of mazda ''zoom zoom''. i love this car and will love it and maintain it as best as i can (not very hard)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable Car

by Value King from on March 21, 2009

Great car! Bought it new and drove it to almost 200,000 and it was still going! Everything power on the car continued to work. Maintenance this car properly and it will last forever! For people interested in value, this is the car. Waxes up very nice and interior is easy to clean and looks almost new even after tons of miles. If I were still driving this car, I would take off for Alaska in it no problems. Replaced belts twice, preventatively replaced timing belt, and some other minor maintenance. Very easy on the wallet.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, Powerful Sporty V6, Low Maintenance!

by Sporty Sedan Driver from New Jersey on December 12, 2012

Great V6 car. Lots of power and performance. Very dependable and reliable. Low maintenance cost, even after a decade, which surprised me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good car

by Bob15558 from SF bay area on October 22, 2006

Comfort is top notch - can go 500 miles with only 1 pit stop, no discomfort at all. Gas mileage is really good for a V6 - 25 in town, 29 highway on midgrade, althugh manual calls for premium. Bought it with 27K miles, how have 72K, only problem was a clogged fuel filter. Burns no oil (I use synthetic, change 5K miles). Auto trans shifts rough, but no problems with it. V6 is peppy. Overall best car I have owned. Use it daily in business.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

next beat car i've had

by rick from alabama on November 24, 2007

Mileage was not as good as my previous mazda 626 in 1991. Otherwise it has some enhanced features such as remote door access and electrinic ignition.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It was used but efficient and great on gas.

by Domdiggity from mcdonough,GA on July 12, 2017

Great high school car to start with. The car had nice speakers and audio features, power windows, not much maintenance required and the car was efficient with gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

depends when you buy it if it is worth it

by adf from cincy, oh on December 1, 2008

I got this car with about 105,000 miles on it. It is 6 cyclinders and it is an ES. I am guessing this is about when everything starts to go wrong on this car. No problems with the trans. yet(knock on wood). I am having problems like various suspension problems, coolant leaks(overheating), power steering leaks, replaced sway bar, leaking gasket. Everything elect is working fine. The rear defrost stinks. Not really good in snow. Ok in rain.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great until 128,000

by Looking for the Perfect Car from Woodbridge, VA on August 14, 2009

We bought this car when it was 3 years old from a dealership. There was only one previous owner, and the mileage was 65,000. The car was wonderful for the first 35,000 when it needed new brakes, tires, a fuel injection cleaning, and a tune up. This is all normal maintenance. Now at approx. 138,000 miles, we have spent $3000 in repairs in the past year alone. A hose here (leaving me stranded on the highway), transmission rack there, brakes, axle, CV boots, and the list goes on. We will probably go ahead and spend the $900 to replace the engine rack, so that we don't have to get a car loan; but next time we will buy American. If performance and gas mileage are just average, I would rather support the American auto industry over foreign.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not so reliable.

by Lexa from on December 22, 2008

I had one for a year and have absolutely not been satisfied. The car has just been falling apart constantly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2