2001 626

Consumer Reviews

2001 Mazda 626

$33 - $5,709  MSRP Range
2001 Mazda 626

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

14 Reviews
71% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Mazda 626?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

First Cars

by First Car from Lehigh Valley, PA on Tue Nov 23 2010

I had this car for a manual transmission. It was kind of weak going up steep hills and the A/C took awhle to reach the back but otherwise it ran great. I had a 2001 Mazda 626 with over 250,000 miles on it from highway driving and it still ran well. Once i owned it it 2008 i started driving it in the city. Even with all of the milage i got exactly 25mpg in city driving and close to 30mpg on the highway. As a first car it was a great choice. Smooth ride, comfortale, has several compartments to keep a variety of items in. I'm also really tall and even though the car doesn't look big i fit in it no problem. I would certainly reccomend this car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

most fun affordable car ive ever owned

by concept geek from on Wed Oct 13 2010

this car is a great little car. it is a quick mazda hints the slogo of mazda ''zoom zoom''. i love this car and will love it and maintain it as best as i can (not very hard)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable Car

by Value King from on Sat Mar 21 2009

Great car! Bought it new and drove it to almost 200,000 and it was still going! Everything power on the car continued to work. Maintenance this car properly and it will last forever! For people interested in value, this is the car. Waxes up very nice and interior is easy to clean and looks almost new even after tons of miles. If I were still driving this car, I would take off for Alaska in it no problems. Replaced belts twice, preventatively replaced timing belt, and some other minor maintenance. Very easy on the wallet.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, Powerful Sporty V6, Low Maintenance!

by Sporty Sedan Driver from New Jersey on Wed Dec 12 2012

Great V6 car. Lots of power and performance. Very dependable and reliable. Low maintenance cost, even after a decade, which surprised me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good car

by Bob15558 from SF bay area on Sun Oct 22 2006

Comfort is top notch - can go 500 miles with only 1 pit stop, no discomfort at all. Gas mileage is really good for a V6 - 25 in town, 29 highway on midgrade, althugh manual calls for premium. Bought it with 27K miles, how have 72K, only problem was a clogged fuel filter. Burns no oil (I use synthetic, change 5K miles). Auto trans shifts rough, but no problems with it. V6 is peppy. Overall best car I have owned. Use it daily in business.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

next beat car i've had

by rick from alabama on Sat Nov 24 2007

Mileage was not as good as my previous mazda 626 in 1991. Otherwise it has some enhanced features such as remote door access and electrinic ignition.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It was used but efficient and great on gas.

by Domdiggity from mcdonough,GA on Wed Jul 12 2017

Great high school car to start with. The car had nice speakers and audio features, power windows, not much maintenance required and the car was efficient with gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

depends when you buy it if it is worth it

by adf from cincy, oh on Mon Dec 01 2008

I got this car with about 105,000 miles on it. It is 6 cyclinders and it is an ES. I am guessing this is about when everything starts to go wrong on this car. No problems with the trans. yet(knock on wood). I am having problems like various suspension problems, coolant leaks(overheating), power steering leaks, replaced sway bar, leaking gasket. Everything elect is working fine. The rear defrost stinks. Not really good in snow. Ok in rain.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable economical car with good resale.

by marybee from Rye on Sun Jun 24 2018

Great nippy economical 4 cylinder FWD.Great in the snow.Would buy another one in a heartbeat.Very low maintaince.Just oil changes and brakes.Great deal.Strong transmission.The paint really shines.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not so reliable.

by Lexa from on Mon Dec 22 2008

I had one for a year and have absolutely not been satisfied. The car has just been falling apart constantly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2