2003 Mazda6

Consumer Reviews

2003 Mazda Mazda6

$1,401 - $5,817  MSRP Range
2003 Mazda Mazda6

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

43 Reviews
74% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Mazda Mazda6?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned. Fuel effecient,no break downs

by sher71 from Killbuck, OH on Fri Jan 18 2013

I have the Mazda 6i, 2003 model with the spoiler. This is the sports model, with the ability to drive as an automatic & can switch to manual, if desired. I don't remember a problem with it and I bought it new. Has awesome rims, that I get comments on all the time, by males, of course. Gas mileage is incredible. I love everything about it but the comfort. If riding for a long time, it is not very comfortable.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fast and reliable

by As your old man might say... from Cambridge, MA on Mon Jan 07 2008

When I bought the car, the Mazda 6 was hailed as the sporty version of the camry or accord. Five years later the car drives the same as it always did, I've not had a single mechanical issue and I've not been burned by dealers during servicing. I bought a 2003 6s with luxury package and have spent approximately $700 on it over 4 and a bit years, mainly in tires and servicing. Only downside was I previously owned a SAAB 95 and the Mazda seemed less substantial by comparison but the safety ratings have proven otherwise. I'm looking for another car now and am scared to go elsewhere, Mazda has impressed me with the low cost to own, reliability and quality of build. The servicing from either dealership I have used has been excellent, honest appraisal, competitive pricing and typically in and out in less than an hour.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

6s is best value for car of it's type

by Bill from Allston, MA on Tue Jan 08 2008

The 6s is fast, has great handling, completely reliable and the best value car I've ever owned. I would recommend this car to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LTBL

by LTBL from 62702 on Sat Jan 07 2012

I have owned the Mazda 6 for about 5 year or 45thousand miles and it had been fantastic. I have really grown to love the Mazda brand because of this vehicle. For the price i think you would be very hard pressed to find a car as good and a fun as the mazda 6. Its hard to explain in such few words but this car is a perfect balance of performance and comfort making it in my opinion very fun to drive (3.0L). As far a reliability goes i have only had to replace the ignition coils, fuel purge valve, and routine maintenance and i drive the car pretty hard. As one can see the 2003 mazda 6 is a fantastic car to own and would be almost impossible to beat for the price. (depending on what your looking for)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car was really enjoyable

by Vidar808 from Honolulu, HI on Thu Jun 07 2007

Great car highly recommend. Low maintenance. Handles really well. After a few years I have had very little time needed for service.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car

by Hot Rod from Minnesota on Wed Apr 11 2007

Very happy with all aspects of the mazda, very smooth running vehicle. Handles like a true sports car. Get great gas mileage and the four cylinder is a great vehicel for my wife. She loves how the car feels and looks. Spacious interior. Leather seats looks great, but are cool in the winter. Only Change would be heated seats.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I feel sexy in this Car

by Mel from Carson City, NV on Sat Sep 22 2007

The Mazda 6 puts a smile on your face as you accelerate around corners and zoom around town or a curvy mountain road. You can't wait to test the capabilities of the 3.0 V6 engine. It is fast. Splurge for the sports package. You will feel sexy, because everyone looks at the car. Best car I have ever owned. I have had zero problems with the Mazda. Outstanding value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

The Great Money Pit

by Petrol Head from Binghamton, NY on Sat Jan 09 2016

After owning this car for not even a year, i have found to have many problems with it. Most of these problems are all electrical problems. I bought my 2003 MAZDA6 6s with 113k and 40k on the engine, but being In about 3,000 miles, I have replaced a coil pack, new alternator, new O2 sensor, mass airflow sensor, and multiple other things. It could just be that the stuff is getting old, but i believe this car is not the most reliable. Another downside to them is they have a ford v6 in them and i hate cross bred cars. The car drives very well though. The black leather interior is nice, the AC is always cold and the heat is great as well. The transmission is not the best even being at 116k.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good for first time drivers

by liz from long beach ,ca on Fri Sep 21 2007

its a good car for new drivers easy to drive but when it comes to collisions...its really weak but easy to repair.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sporty

by Krista from Idaho on Fri Sep 01 2006

I bought this car about 2 months ago and got a pretty good deal on it. I love the way it looks and the way it drives. It's the size of a midsize sedan, yet looks sporty. A lot of fun to drive!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2003 Mazda Mazda6

Mazda likes to talk about sporty performance, pointing out the zoom-zoom attributes of its stylish roadster, the Miata, as well as its enhanced compact, Protege5, and even its minivan, MPV.

With Mazda6, the company takes its message mainstream.

Redesigning its bread-and-butter midsize sedan, the former and largely forgotten 626, into a sharply maneuverable sports sedan, Mazda takes on the family-sedan heavyweights, Honda Accord and Toyota Camry, as well as such popular sporty sedans as Nissan Altima and Volkswagen Passat.

The engineers did their homework on this one, providing Mazda6 with top-notch handling, steering and braking.

Since Mazda recently announced that it was discontinuing its... Read More