2001 Millenia

Consumer Reviews
2001 Mazda Millenia

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

13 Reviews
2001 Mazda Millenia
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Decent Car for the Money

by Iowa Guy from Des Moines, IA on May 3, 2011

I've owned my Mazda Millenia since 2004 when I bought it used. It's a 2001 model. It had 37,000 miles and now it has 127,000 miles, mostly driving 18 miles each way back and forth to work. At about 90,000 I had to get the transmission rebuilt which was a real bummer. . .cost $2K. However, aside from that speedbump the car has been remarkably reliable--a true workhorse for daily commutes. Even in our brutal Iowa winters the car performed really well with just the front wheel drive and decent tires. The handling is fairly straightforward and it's obvious the car was not built for aggressive driving but as a highway cruiser it is quiet, smooth and has good visibility all around. The creature comforts are reasonable although the seat heaters are weak. The engine power is lacking somewhat but I like the 4-wheel disc brakes. Buy with relative confidence. I think I'll keep mine until the wheels fall off which should be a quite a while yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i love it.

by BEST!!!! from on July 30, 2009

this car was my first car, bought it used for $5,907, it has 190,743 miles on it, i put most of the miles on it, THIS CAR HAS RAN GREAT. i reccomend this car to so many people, especially new drivers. best car for the money. loved it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent value, very good car.

by Need another S from NC on August 8, 2008

Drove it off the lot in 2002 - over 155,000 miles, very good car in very good condition. Just got bumped, OK slammed the other day in the back and the trunk is now in the back seat. Looking to replace this wonderful, efficient, low maintenance, reliable, good car. One of the best I have ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wish they were still making them!

by Cal Gal from on May 13, 2012

The Millenia has been a great car and still looks and runs well with 158K miles. Mazda cars are a good value, but there is nothing in this class in ther current product line. Too bad, I'd buy another!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

one of the best used cars for the money

by kof from lexington ky on May 30, 2006

This car looks like a lexus on the inside. Preforms like a 02 altima 2.5 It looks like an Infiniti. Handels like a new mazda 6 speed on some curves. Over all it's better than a honda or camry v-6. Mazda is missing out on the luxury cars market. If mazda droped the base engine and sold the car for the base price. Add xenon lights and nav system. Then acura tl and infiniti i 35 lexus es camrey v-6 accord v-6 maxima would be in for a good run.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Value for money with Luxury !!

by Nick from Chicago, IL on January 6, 2015

Using this car from last 6 months. Very happy with the comfort and overall looks. Bought it used in less value. The only concern is its fuel economy other than that its a win-win situation. Handling : Very light steering with full control over your drive. You will never feel you are driving an old vehicle. Drive : Smooth drive, very nice suspension. No problem in long drives. Performance: Mine is supercharged so it is quick and responsive. But yes some time you can feel you need more power. Today's tech is much more advanced so don't compare with today's high end cars. Space: Good space for driver and passenger. Boot space is still quite good. Luxury : Steering mounted controls, Bose audio systems is awesome, path way lights in every gate, front seats are electrically adjustable with heating, trunk opener in the remote, 17 inch allow wheel. Fuel : Premium fuel is recommended for this but I always used regular. May be with premium you will get some more miles. On high its economy is good. My long drive from Minneapolis to Chicago was 48$ (around 30 miles per gallon) So overall its a nice deal in less money. I am very happy with my decision.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ive ever had

by speed racer from pomona, ca on May 22, 2013

I came to route 66 motors and I found exactly what I was looking for and in a great price range, I couldn't be any happier with my car an the fast, and great professional customer service I got over here. I recommend route 66, definitely to everyone

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for my wife - too small for me

by chuck1252 from Sacramento, CA on March 9, 2008

The only issue with this car is that it is like all cars of it's size needs more leg room for tall people and as a result also is hard to get in and out of .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

01 mellenia, sweet ride.

by jewboy from dallas, texas on April 10, 2013

This car is so comfortable. Rides so smooth but lacks power. im getting 23 mpg. I purchased this car a month ago with 69k miles. when the car is cold the transmission shifts kind of hard, no doubt i will need the transmission rebuilt eventually.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have owned

by Jazzman from Noblesville, IN on August 11, 2006

Overall this MilleniaS with the Miller engine is outstanding. Well equipped with great performance and good mileage. II've owned three Millenia and would buy another if they would have continued to make them beyond 2002.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2001 Mazda Millenia