2005 MPV

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mazda MPV

$2,032 - $6,952  MSRP Range
2005 Mazda MPV

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

12 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Mazda MPV?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Good van, good value

by R.W. from Beloit, WI on Tue Mar 11 2008

We've owned the van for 3 years. Overall its been a good vehicle. The seats are pretty comfortable, even on longer trips and the engine is powerful enough as long as its not on a steep upgrade, then it loses some punch. I probably wouldn't plan on towing much with it though. The biggest negative for us has been interior space. We have 3 kids now and will have to start looking at bigger vans to get everyone in along with all of the things we need to take for longer getaways. If you're a family of 4 this is a very good van to have!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I will own it until it dies...

by Mom of 3 from Swords Creek, VA on Tue Apr 22 2014

I bought this 2005 Mazda MPV in March of 2005 and have driven it since. Very low maintenance. My only complaint is the continuously running fan, which I think was recalled on earlier models. Still the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wish they would bring it back!

by MPV = Mom's Personal Vehicle from Massachusetts on Mon Mar 19 2012

I drove my 2000 Mazda MPV with the seating for seven for 11 years. I loved that car, and it had over 157,000 miles on it; and was so disappointed that Mazda changed the car after 2006! So I spent months looking for a low mileage 2005 or 2006 MPV. Finally found one and although it's not perfect (it came with a few problems and a few minor rust spots and a few dings that I don't think were there when we took it out for our "test drive"), I'm so happy to have another MPV! I sure do wish Mazda would go back to making this seven seater model again - it's a "mini size mini-van"!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my MPV!

by AnnAZ from Phoenix,AZ on Sun Jun 11 2017

I have a 2005. It has 248,000 miles. Very few problems. I love this van. It drives like a car but all the benefits of a van. I love that the middle windows go up and down. Back row of seats is not that comfortable but front and middle seats are very comfortable. The only complaint is that it does not have a lot of power so merging on the highway and going up hills is not great but otherwise love this van. Am just now looking to replace because the transmission (original) is starting to go. I would buy another one if they had them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still going strong!

by Livingandlearning from Tyson's, va on Mon Jan 08 2018

I loved this Mazda, and very grateful to have 13-strong years and counting with it! Bought it new, awesome v-6 engine, fine handling (ok, bedside the poor turning radius). Never has had any serious problems. The engine smells like she's burning oil, but it's never been low when I've checked it! Great van.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good value family van

by family hauler on Sun Sep 17 2017

I have owned this vehicle for about 7 years and have had a few issues with it but nothing out of the ordinary for its age. It is easier to drive than other vans because its smaller. Biggest complaint: The a/c is not that great and doesn't reach the back if you get the lower model. Overall you cant beat the value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Runs great

by just 4fun on Mon Nov 20 2017

Roll down sliding door windows great for the dogs, rear heat and power everything! Has enough power to go up steepest hills around.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Family Car

by Chief Decision Maker from Saratoga, NY on Sun Mar 16 2008

Needed more room with 2 kids. 3rd row seating great when driving friends or grandparents with us. Good headroom and leg room in front seats especially with a 6'2 husband. Heat/cooling works fast. Handles well in all weather. Small stearing radius lets you get into the small parking spots. Overall a great car for the price.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A great vehicle at a great price!

by MPV Owner from Atlanta, GA on Mon Sep 22 2008

We purchased our 2005 Mazda MPV LX in November of 2005 and have not had any problems. It takes regular gas and can haul 7 people - plus it gets 25 MPG on the highway. A good looking, functional vehicle that doesn't damage the pocketbook...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love my MPV

by mazda fan from Edmonton Alberta on Tue Aug 07 2012

The most trouble free new car/van I've owned. We enjoy the maneuverability, good mileage, just the right size for our retirement travels.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2