1996 MX-5 Miata

Consumer Reviews
1996 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Change Vehicle
4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

8 Reviews
1996 Mazda MX-5 Miata
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Best little toy I ever bought!

by Riverexplorer from Louisville, KY on March 12, 2012

Purchased the car in January of 2012 as a used vehicle in pretty good condition with 125,000 miles. I am the 4th owner. As with any car with over 100,000 miles on the clock it needed a little work. What was so amazing was the condition of the engine and the body of the car. After a very detailed inspection by myself and a mechanic (I recommend anyone getting a car this old and with this much mileage to have the motor inspected and a compression test done) I was very impressed. This car is very well put together and of a quality that I honestly did not expect. Hence, I made the purchase. I have to admit, the interior configuration is something you will have to determine on a personal basis. It is very small and doesn't fit every person. However, if you are one of the lucky ones who can fit in the thing, it is a blast to drive. They handle like slot cars! The motor and drivetrain are butter smooth, like in a much higher end Japanese car. Because of capacity in the trunk and interior, this is most likely not an every day car for the average person. Keep in mind what it is...this is not a family commuter. If you are in the market for a car you can enjoy in good weather, something you would like to be reliable for many years, and enjoy the idea of being able to out handle most other cars on the road...well, this is for you. You won't be sorry with your investment. One little piece of advice, the first American generation Kia Sephia (1993-1997) has the same engine, built under license from Mazda. The internal parts for the engine are MUCH cheaper at Kia dealerships and are the exact same. So if you need anything, consider this as an alternative. If you buy one, be prepared for some great times on the roads ahead in your life!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Teen's first car

by Butch in Winnemucca from Winnemucca NV on December 12, 2011

I bought this car for my grand daughter's Sweet 16. She LOVES it. What could be cuter than a 16 year old girl in a open top roadster? However, I am a 6'1" 65 year old grandpa and after 100 miles I can barely pull myself out of the thing.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simply Fun

by Wind Blown from Panama City, Fl on August 8, 2011

Great for cruising the beach...riding thru the countryside....easy on gas...cute and adorable....so far no problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great cars

by Andy from North Carolina on June 2, 2013

When you consider cost it is as much fun as my old 911 used to be. I won't try to convince you, you need to drive one for yourself. I don't agree with the people who say if you are tall it will not fit you. I am 6'1" and 210 pounds and 68 years old. I have no trouble being comfortable in this car and have taken many road trips in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

outstanding deal

by miata fan from on January 10, 2011

if I had to choose, this would be the car. The interior is clean and the maintenance is great. The owner appears to have loved this car and babied it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Tons of Fun

by Z619 from Andover, MN on August 17, 2017

Our 1996 Miata is in like new condition. The previous owner made it very easy to WANT this vehicle. It might be a little short on leg room for someone 6'2" but the ride is worth it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Summer car to drive

by Lynda from Sartell, MN on June 18, 2017

If you are looking for a fun summer car to drive, this is it! Great looking car and NO rust. Great condition for 1996. Look no further for a great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simply one of the best cars a car guy could own.

by IanB from Orange Park, Florida on September 14, 2017

This is the first car I ever bought with my own money. I was 18 and paid $1,300 for a rough and clearly abused M Edition with 170,700 miles on it. I've had to put some work into it, getting the air conditioning to work, getting a new radio, fixing the cruise control, etc., but mechanically this car has never let me down. It is always a joy to drive, great on gas, sounds good, aftermarket parts are abundant and cheap, it's easy to work on. If you are into cars, then this is one you have to own. It can be whatever you want it to be, aside from a people or cargo carrier, although it does fit a surprisingly large amount of stuff in the trunk and interior if packed correctly. I would not hesitate to buy one of these cars again and have even tempted two of my friends into buying their own, both of which have been nothing but pleased with them. It could use a little more power, but the car can still keep up with traffic and the raw driving experience you get from this car is unmatched by most.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1
Our Expert Review: 1996 Mazda MX-5 Miata