2003 MX-5 Miata

Consumer Reviews

2003 Mazda MX-5 Miata

$2,821 - $11,941  MSRP Range
2003 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Mazda MX-5 Miata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Get this done or youll be sorry

by Wrench from California on Tue Mar 01 2011

These cars are excellent machines and will typically last to around 400K miles before needing rebuilding. That being said there is a absolute necessity and that is around 60K miles the Timing belt (which cannot be inspected without disassembling of the engine front) must be replaced. This is a known problem on these engines check miata.net and youtube miata timing belt. While you have it apart it is wise to change the water pump, all the gaskets and crankshaft seal. Mazda will charge you $575 for this job. Be Aware or you will be walking!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable with very impressive handling.

by Long Island Driver from ny on Thu Nov 13 2008

Bought it with 18000 on odometer. got 34,000 on her now. The best car for commuting 20 miles each way on the snake turn Southern State Parkway. 30 mpg , easy top down (3 seconds) 6 speed works well, brakes work well, goes wherever I direct the steering wheel. Never a mechanical problem. The car just keeps on going.Once owned a MGBGT. the MX5 is a much better sporty car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!!!

by Miata Boy from Orlando, FL on Fri Sep 26 2008

This is my first miata and my mother had one when they first came out and I have to say this is one very tight car! I love the feel and I love the gas mileage!!!! I have a LS 5sp and it is a thrill to drive if you want a great dependable running sports car then this is it!!!!!!!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite of any car I have owned!

by Top down Driver from Fort Worth, TX on Mon Jan 15 2007

Great "fun" value. I can't picture myself "not" owning a Miata anytime in the forseeable future. Drove it to the Grand Canyon, and it was plenty comfortable for my wife and I. Averaged 30 miles a gallon for the 1600 mile round trip. Can't wait for our next driving vacation.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great wonderful little car

by tmd123 from MD on Thu Feb 14 2013

Love this car. Learned how to drive a manual on it and it was really easy. I can't wait until it gets warm and I can put the top down! I am small, so the size doesn't bother me a bit. The only complaint i have is the way it handles in the ice/snow. Even in the lightest snow or the smallest ice patch it is VERY VERY slippery! But that is to be expected with a rear wheel drive car, just be very cautious.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by NB4ME from on Mon Jan 02 2012

Had an MGB back in the day. This car blows it away. Will keep it as long as I can drive. If it gets in an accident, I'll replace it. Won't be miataless.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wish I had it back!

by Mazda Dad from Glenn Dale Maryland on Wed Oct 21 2015

I had a 2003 I bough in 2010. Boy what a car! I traded it and bough and SUV. Really dumb decision. Been looking to buy another Miata now for next summer. Will use my SUV as a trade in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Miata

by GRT-WHLS from Plantation, Florida on Sun Apr 06 2014

Had one new back in 99 and loved it. Put over a hundred thousand miles on it.Should have kept it.Finally got another one and like the first also love it. Miatas are cars that you can have fun driving,great to look at, are dependable and price wise are affordable. They have what I always thought was enough power to really enjoy a great fun driving experiance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable Fun Car that holds its value

by Ragtop Roadster from Jackson, TN on Mon May 10 2010

The actual car listed here is one owner, driven by one middleaged person; white with beige top, always garaged; driven avg. 2200 miles/yr. Oil changed every six months. Near pristine condition inside and out. Interior shows no wear. Fuel 28 mpg. Comes with bra and 4 mud guards (not installed). A wrench has never been turned on this vehicle except to change the oil and filter. New battery. Not a good fit for the very tall or portly.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Toy

by 430will from Vermont on Tue Oct 26 2010

Bought this car for just cruising around on nice days. I can't complain about anything other than the cup holders with cups are in the way when trying to shift. My elbow can knock over the cup. Rear axle seals went at 38k. Mileage has been around 30-32 mpg.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2