2005 MX-5 Miata

Consumer Reviews

2005 Mazda MX-5 Miata

$3,416 - $12,076  MSRP Range
2005 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

11 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2005 Mazda MX-5 Miata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Bang for the buck.

by Wingmanrider from Arcata CA on Thu Dec 30 2010

This MX5 miata is fun to drive, economical, little car. Not much for hauling things but you shouldn't buy this car if that's your goal to begin with. I'm getting close to thirty miles per gallon in town. I haven't taken it on any long drives yet. But I will probably get thirty plus with ease. Jay

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lotsa fun

by Sun Fun from Houston on Fri Nov 19 2010

We searched for several months for the right Miata at the right price and cars.com made that so easy to do from the comfort of our home. We love the newer bigger and more powerful Miata. It is pure fun to drive and always gets attention. We are very satisfied with our purchase!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Miata improved

by Miata buyer from Peoria, IL on Thu Jul 29 2010

My wife had a 1997 for 10 years with perfect satisfaction. So when her 50th birthday came around, I got her a 2005 with 12,000 miles. The car was in essentially new condition and looked and ran great. The shoulder room is much improved, the wind blocker behind the seats is very effective and the car rides smoother. Her only complaint is they replaced the pop-up lights with halogens. This is my fourth Mazda, and all of them have been good cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Miata

by Shawn H from Southern California on Tue Mar 20 2012

I love this car! Handles like a race car, power is pretty good, looks beautiful. I bought the black cherry mica color, and love it's look

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mazda Speed MX2005

by ed from Maryland on Fri Mar 27 2009

Great upgrade in the HP over the traditional Mazda. Handles well, fun to drive. The 6 speed shift one of the smoothest I used. The vehicle does use high test in a 4 banger, is hard to get in and out of,and you can hear the noise of the road. Overall a great fun car at an affordable price. The car is rare, as lass then5k were produced in 2005.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

If only the steering wheel tilted!

by Beedle from Waldorf, MD on Thu Mar 30 2017

Gotta be a lean drink of water to fit comfortably, but it sure can handle! Tons of fun when the temperature is right!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I can't wait for 5:00

by Zapy from Atlanta on Mon Apr 30 2012

I was looking for an inexpensive vehicle that would get better MPG than my 1996 c1500 350V8 at 12mpg. The vehicle also had to have rock solid reliability. The vehicle also had to be realitively low mileage as I am a 35K+ a year driver. It had to be comfortable and something I wouldn't mind being sen in. Well, after months of looking on and off i ran across the 2005 Miata. It had low miles for its age as most aren't daily drivers. It gets good mileage - 5 speed m,anual - at 25-29MPG depending on the weight of my right foot. It certainly isn't a vehicle I mind being seen in. It's fun to drive. Has plenty of get-up-and-go. I'm actually thinking of joining the SCCA and trying out some track days - yes, with my daily driver. It's 70K miles and no oil leaks, squeaks, or rattles. There is plenty of wind noise but not so bad that I cannot remove it with the volume control of the radio. Speaking of which. The base radio is a treat. I wonder how the Bose system would have been? bottom line: An excellent little car with excellent road manners and good fuel economy. Maintenance isn't exotically priced nor are reasonable replacement tires assuming you aren't looking for the ultimate high performance tire at $200+ each. Mine are reasonable at $100 each. Buy one - you'll like it. Has room for the golf bag as well as another bag (wife, GF etc. in the front seat).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun light car

by Ryan from Minnetonka mn on Thu Apr 20 2017

Great fun light weight better styling than the older Miatas. I'd like to put a v8 in one of these and then you'll have a monster Miata

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car

by michael P from Cincinnati, Ohio on Fri Dec 22 2017

Not the fastest sports car, but has good handling.. Have owned 2004 MX5 for 5 years, and shes my baby..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love this car

by wB from Palestine, TX on Thu Apr 20 2017

absolutely love this car; inexpensive, looks great, handles wonderfully, economical. can't say enough good about it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2005 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Mazda's Miata has been the archetypical two-seat roadster since it was first introduced in 1989. Because it is lightweight, maneuverable and close fitting, it embodies the sports car spirit. More than 700,000 have been sold worldwide.

Its four-cylinder engine was never overpowering, but it had more than adequate zip for a small car that didn't weigh much. Getting into the Miata was like putting on a pair of newly washed jeans - a little tight at first but comfortable after a few minutes.

The second-generation Miata had mildly revised styling and a little bigger engine, but now it's time for generation three, and Mazda debuted an all-new Miata last week at the Geneva, Switzerland, auto show.

The new... Read More