2009 MX-5 Miata

Consumer Reviews

2009 Mazda MX-5 Miata

$6,598 - $17,362  MSRP Range
2009 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Mazda MX-5 Miata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Telepathic Responses

by Stig Wannabe from Knoxville, TN on Fri Jan 29 2010

To those that believe that cars are mere conveyances, this car won't make much sense. To those that believe that some vehicles are capable of rising above being nothing more than an appliance, this car is worth serious consideration. The car was designed from the outset to put a smile on the driver's face, whether they are flinging it down a twisty road or running errands. The best way I can explain it to non-car people is this: Just like a good song on the radio, this car is capable of elevating your mood. For that, it is to be cherished.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great little car that happens to be a convertible

by weekend driver from NJ on Fri Jan 01 2010

The 2009 MX-5 is a great looking car even if all the owners of past models say the front grill is silly. I think it just represents the silly grin you'll end up having after driving this car. It handles really well (as expected of a sports car) and is somewhat quick after 3-4K rpm. Its the most fun car I've ever driven and I am always sad when the trip comes to an end. The cons are that it is slow to go from a stop, with some reviews reporting 0-60 at 8 seconds or more, and no spare tire. If you're looking for a small car or roadster with Japanese quality and low maintenance, look no further. Since Honda is no longer making the more expensive S2000, Mazda is the only game in town with a low-cost sports roadster. A BMW Z4 or Porsche Boxster will cost you $20K+ more, a 370z roadster will cost $10-15k more. With those you get more performance for the price, but not necessarily more fun.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A true sports car for the masses.

by Jim M. from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada on Sat Feb 20 2010

I am a long time auto enthusiast and have owned over 50 cars to date. Last fall we bought an MX5 Retractable Hardtop 6 speed and enjoyed every moment of driving before putting it away the winter. The car is solidly built and an exceptional handler with a great motor and the 6 speed is one of the best made. The top is water tight with no squeeks or rattles, just like the rest of the car. I looked at everything else on the market in this price range and nothing gave the same amount of smiles per gallon as this car. Only regret is that we could not find one with the leather package. We love the car and plan to keep it for many years to come, and with such a stong aftermarket out there, I expect I will have fun upgrading the car over the next few years !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang-for-the-Buck

by gsp1946 from Shaker Heights, OH on Tue Apr 26 2011

I've wanted a Miata for years. Now that the kids are gone and I'm not so sure I want to keep riding my motorcycle, it was the perfect vehicle for me. It's a sensible car for both fun and transportation. It is quick, nimble, agile and responsive. It's well-made and solid-feeling. It's a sports car, so its suspension is stiff. And you won't want to roll up to the supermarket and try to stuff a week's worth of groceries in the trunk. But nothing beats it for a jaunty ride in the country--both biway lanes and highway--during non-snow weather. Love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My second Miata- Love it so much

by Donna from Omaha, NE on Sat Aug 25 2012

Had an 99' Miata and upgraded to an 09 with automatic roof, love, love , love the car. The guy who bought my 99 stopped by the other day, 1 month after purchase to tell me how much he loves it. If you buy a Miata you will be hooked. Everyone tells me how beautiful the car is. It does make a little rattle noise with the hard top up, but it's not annoying.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fresh Air

by Shelby67 from CT on Mon Jan 25 2010

Started looking used but ended up new since price is not much different at year end. Great 2nd car for running errands and playing golf. Got car with few options under theory that what I don't have can't break and plan to keep for 10yrs. No need for hardtop since the softtop is so well engineered and sorted out. Simple car at it's best!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quality vehicle

by sports driver from Florida on Tue Apr 23 2013

Even with 39,000 miles the MX-5 I purchased drove like a new car, rattle free and tight in all aspects. I am 6' 2" and have plenty of leg room on the driver's side however the passenger side room is not long enough. The top can be taken down and put up from the driver's seat. It handles as a sports car should with excellent road feel, easy shifting and great exhaust note. I like the simplicity of the 4-cylinder in-line engine as well as the rear wheel drive. Seats are very comfortable and even with air conditioning the vehicle is nimble and quick......so far it feels like a winner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love This Car

by Charles from St. Louis, MO on Mon May 24 2010

Remember, "Is it a Breath Mint, or is it a Candy Mint?" Well with the The Retractable Hard Top Convertible, the question is, "Is it a Convertible, or is it a Hard Top?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Service is great

by Zoom zoom .... from Baton Rouge! LA on Thu Oct 04 2012

Always treated me with great respect and work is always as expected. Will be coming back for another Mazda

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Miata

by Blue Miata from El Paso, Texas on Sat Jul 27 2013

I am very happy with my new Miata. A found a great deal at Cars.com. Randy (sales person) was great!!! He picked me up at the airport and the cars was ready for me. They also found a great interest rate for me (2.99 APR). Thanks Honda of Covington, LA.... HB

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 Mazda MX-5 Miata

If you don't like fun, if you prefer to mope about and wallow in your own misery, you're going to have to skip the Mazda MX-5. That might seem easy, because you probably don't know that "MX-5" is Mazda's official name for its two-seat convertible, also known as the Miata. Sound a little more familiar? Then "Miata" is the name I'll use from now on as a constant reminder so you don't accidentally drive one and ruin an otherwise glum day.

Some people think convertibles are inherently fun; some don't. The same can be said of small cars: fun by design, or cramped and invisible to larger cars and trucks? Take away the convertible aspect and peewee size, and the Miata is still fun — a fun you can't... Read More