2012 MX-5 Miata

Consumer Reviews

2012 Mazda MX-5 Miata

$10,860 - $21,316  MSRP Range
2012 Mazda MX-5 Miata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

19 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Mazda MX-5 Miata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Should be called "Funster" instead of Roadster

by satellite from Scottsdale, AZ on Wed Sep 19 2012

This little firecracker flies. I have the 2012 6-speed manual, Power Retractable Hard Top (PRHT), white mica Grand Touring trim. I also opted for the advanced-sport suspension with Bilstein shocks, 17-in high performance wheels, and the Bose sound system. The short throw shift is smooth and quick, and coupled with the ultra-responsive steering, clutch, 4-wheel disc brakes, and 167 hp, the Miata's experience is nothing short of awesome. This thing literally hugs the asphalt on tight turns and handles with an ease and directness that makes it seem it wants to drive itself. At high freeway speeds with the top up (as on longer trips) it's more solid and quieter than I had thought it would be, thanks to the hard top and that 6th gear. Sure it's small inside (it's a two-seater European-style sports car, what do you expect?) but it's definitely not cramped. All dash controls are easy to reach yet you can stretch out in the seat with no problem. If you want to drag the family along like Clark Griswold, get a bigger car, but I assume if you want this kind of car, you want the driving experience of a true sports car convertible. I see some reviewers pan the "only 167 hp" and ""small interior with no built-in NAV" and I have to respectfully disagree. With its sporty small size and low weight (about 2500 lbs.) those 167 fuel-injected, 4 valve-per-cylinder ponies have plenty of nitro to rocket you through those 6 speeds. I mean, who really cares if that muscle car next to you can get to the next traffic light first if he decides to? Besides, with gas going at around 4 bucks who needs an expensive guzzler? You can save bucks and still have the quick, responsive driving experience roadster drivers crave. And the no-NAV? I say, no big deal. If you need that just get a stand-alone unit or use your smart phone. Besides, who needs another screen constantly staring at you while you're busy enjoying the driving experience? How Mazda puts together a highly reliable and quick sports car that looks as cool as the Miata at its lower price point in its class is beyond me, but I really could care less. They've done it, and it's available for the asking. I highly recommend this little titan.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hold on to your hat

by notbarkingdog from Chicago area on Sat Dec 22 2012

I've garaged this for the winter, but the last month--driving with the top down in 40F degree weather--has been a blast. This car has great acceleration and the handling is phenomenal. I talked to several owners and all of them praised the reliability: come back to me in 10 years to see what I have to say, but I expect to agree. One owner said to a friend of his, "Why spend $50K on a Range Rover, and then worry about where you park it, when you could buy 2 Miatas and save one while driving the other in the salt and parking it wherever until the car dies 15 years later?" I think that covers the car. Buy one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New 2012 MX-5 6-speed Manual Soft Top

by Mazda Fan from Atlanta, GA on Wed May 23 2012

The Miata is fantastic and I'm lucky I can have a car like this as my daily driver. I know it's not practical for a lot of people because they need more seats, space, etc. But for those who don't have these requirements - or can afford a second "fun"car - I recommend it 100%! Besides being every bit as fun to drive as reviewers have said for 20 years, it's about as classy a looker as you can get for under 30K. Mine is Copper Red with the Dune interior, and the combination is drop-dead gorgeous. The car has razor-sharp steering, stops on a dime, and - biggest plus for me - has the smallest turning circle of about anything on the road today. You can turn around int the tightest parking lot! It's brilliant! It's so well balanced that it feels completely neutral in everything, curves, flats, accelerating, braking, you name it. Only a little too much body roll prevents me from calling it the perfect handler. On the other hand, it's so lightweight that its 167 hp feels totally satisfying. Even more satisfying when you know people have spent $20 or 30K more for 200 more horsepower, and they're getting worse mileage and aren't enjoying the drive any more than I do! There are downsides of course, but pretty few. When you buy a convertible you've already come to terms with most of them, like noise and compromised visibility (in the back - the front visibility is superb). The rest are details really: the bulge in the center console eating into passenger knee room, as does the emergency brake which sticks out at such a weird angle, the bad stereo, awful cheap sun visors. But this is a car that steals you heart after the first drive, and then all is forgiven. Especially at $28,000!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Throwback to 60's, only better.

by Apex from KY on Mon Jan 28 2013

Reminds one of the Healeys, and TR6's of the past, only with more amenities and a lot more power. Would strongly recomment one; however; if you are on the plus side of 6'3', make sure that you check out the space between your knees and the steering wheel. I fit into this catergory and must have the seat height adjustment at its lowest level and I just squeeze under the wire.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value and Consistent Car

by Mista Man from Syracuse, NY on Sun Apr 14 2013

My 3rd Miata that should tell it all. Went from 2003' great car, to 2007 great car now on 2012 great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

my zoom zoom

by buddah from detroit and montreal on Sat Sep 01 2012

great alternative to a motorcycle and love the hard top... i have travelled 600 miles in a stretch and was very confortable even with a brace on my left knee ... love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive Mazda MX-5 Miata

by Put the Top Down from Peoria Il on Thu Aug 23 2012

I bought the MX-5 because I wanted a convertible, but I love it just as much for its performance. It's quick and nimble. It has outstanding handling. It's one of the most responsive cars I've owned. I bought the 6 speed manual transmission. I love the the rumble it makes when you accelerate. It sounds like a fast, fun car. I bought it to drive with the top down and I haven't been disappointed. It's great! I chose the power retractable hardtop roof and it couldn't be easier. Just push a button to put the top up when you're leaving the car unattended and push a button to put it down when you return. The interior space is compact, but still comfortable for an average sized person. If you're an XL or larger, it will be a tight fit. The trunk release latch is placed somewhat inconveniently several inches back under the dash. You end up feeling around for it. The trunk can also be opened from the key fob so it's a minor inconvenience. The key fob also has a retractable key which is a nice touch when you're carrying the key in your pocket. The trunk is nice sized for such a small car. I can easily put a week's groceries inside. The fun factor on this car is so high that any shortcomings seem minor. I love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful buying experience

by Sporty Bob from Cincinnati,Ohio on Fri Jun 29 2012

FUN, EXCITING to drive. It's exciting to drive and the overall buying experience was very stressLESS.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Blast!

by Zoom Girl from Indianapolis, IN on Fri Aug 22 2014

This car is soooooo much fun! A 5 speed that makes you feel you're going faster than you really are. Great handling...tight steering...it's a vacation every time I drive it with the top down. Love this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't Ask For More

by Shorebreak from West Texas on Wed Nov 07 2012

This is my second MX-5 Miata and they keep getting better. For shear fun with comfort, reliability and affordability the Miata can't be beat. My one and only wish is that Mazda would bring back the do-nut spare tire.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2