2010 RX-8

Consumer Reviews

2010 Mazda RX-8

$6,204 - $15,572  MSRP Range
2010 Mazda RX-8

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

11 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2010 Mazda RX-8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sports Car for under $100K

by Pete in Kansas from Eastern Kansas on Fri Oct 21 2011

Purchased a 2010 a year ago - about 12K miles on it. Fabulous car, handles like a dream, more than enough power if you rev the engine the way a Wankel is supposed to be driven - like it was stolen! Brilliant in blue, but now only available in red, the R3 is the verison to buy. Excelllent interior equipment, sport tires and 19 inch wheels, stiffened suspension, great looking side strakes and spoiler. We have owned many cars in hte last thirty plus years, started with a Triumph Spitfire, then a 1979 Rx-7. then a Toyota Supra and a bunch of Hondas and Subarus - this 2010 RX-8 is by far the best of the lot. Absolutely no problems to date, and expect none for a long time. Get one now before they run out of production!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best handling car under 20k, that isn't a miata

by Mechanical Engineering Professional from Cleveland, OH on Wed Jul 25 2012

I love this car. The unique pistonless engine makes an awesome sound, as it happily revs up to 9k rpm. The manual transmission shifts as well as sports cars costing 2 to 3 times more (triple cone syncros help). The pedals give excellent control, which complements the responsive engine. The steering feels laser guided. The rear half doors & reasonably sized rear seats make it more practical than most sports cars. I especially like the styling of my "series II" model (2009-2011). To summarize, it's a nimble, responsive, well balanced, very fun to drive car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Inspiring Handling, Well Built, and Fun

by John from Kalamazoo, MI on Mon Jul 08 2013

Found this model with only 10k miles and swooped up the R3 version with great financing. The car feels like a true sports car, very inspiring in the corners, begs to have a track, the rotary revs out great and sounds awesome. Very nice outer/inner styling and interior packaging. A truly fun car to drive and own. Sharply tuned suspension not recommended for long highway drives unless its a smooth highway you will feel every bump in the road and it may get old depending on your comfort needs. Quick acceleration despite a low torque motor as compared to other cars in its class.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Car for the Purist

by Runethecursed from San Diego on Fri Dec 29 2017

For the purist, size up from the miata size down from basically anything bigger. Great Dual purpose car. People spend too much time looking at numbers and reliability, go out and drive one! You'll see why its the best handling car in the world. The power is easy to use the gearbox is firm and solid, and heel toeing in this car makes you feel like Aryon Senna. Words hardly do it justice, That all said, it is a race car in street form, it requires patience and understanding that it needs alot more regular maintenance than a standard car. BUt it's so worth it

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A lot of car for the money

by John F. from Cleveland, OH on Mon Mar 27 2017

Was always interested in this car but haven't looked into one until recently. Man was I impressed! Doesn't have all the bells and whistles that some of the newer cars have, but that's not what I was looking for. it's all about performance. Not much under the hood, but you would never know. 6 speeds of fury! I love driving this car. plus handles like a dream!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prettiest car I?ve ever purchased

by Sherri from Nashville Ga on Sun Feb 25 2018

Very happy with this car, good condition and very pretty with low miles. Thank you car.com for being available so I could find this great car!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Totally Awesome Car

by Loving a Mazda from Sparta, Missouri on Tue May 25 2010

We purchased our RX-8 used and have never regretted buying it. It handles smoothly, great on our hills and curves in Missouri. I love to watch peoples reaction when I pass, it will literally throw your head back while accelerating. My husband has very long legs, so that was the clincher to buying this one after having looked at several other sport cars. Our gas mileage has been surprisingly good. We average 20-25mpg back and forth to town, but got 27 in Utah when we set the cruise and no hills. The only drawback is the back seat, it's not kid friendly, but having the back passenger doors open separately really helps. We have owned it for almost three years, but need something different due to acquiring foster kids recently. We replaced a battery, but haven't had any other mechanical problems. I would keep this car until it wouldn't run anymore.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING HANDLING AND BRAKING

by BUILDMOREFARMS from Reading, PA on Sun Dec 19 2010

This is my second RX8, a 2010 sport. The car was voted 3rd best handling car in America for under $100,000 by car and driver. You can't believe how well this car handles the curves until you drive it. The braking is world class, 70mph-0mph in 158 feet...that is Ferrari territory folks. 0-60 is not bad ...but not great, I've read anywhere from 5.9 seconds to 7 seconds with manual trans. Im guessing its about 6.4 seconds. The look is like no other, it doesnt look like a bubblecar, like the 370Z. It has 4 doors to make getting to the rear seats easier. The gas MPG is bad at 16mpg but the horsepower to liter ratio is 188hp per liter, much more than any other car on the road, far more than even an M3. So the 1.3 gives up 232 horsepower and it's not even a turbo! It has a 9,000 rpm reline too and loves to go there! All in all a great car, I got mine new for $21,587 after rebate and discounts. Im happy so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

bmw beater

by carnut from Colorado on Tue Oct 12 2010

I'll take it over 3 series! It is a lot sportier then the 3 series bmw. There are big discounts on leftover 2010 models.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

ZoomZoom

by OGJYSHO from on Tue Apr 24 2012

Lets get to the point. People who have their engines replaced two or three times do not know how to drive rotary engines. Follow the steps. 1. Rev it up. You have got to make this car explode, this car was made to hit 9K RPM. This does not kill the engine it helps it release the gunk stored in its engine compartment. 2. Once you turn it on, you must keep it on. DO NOT TURN OFF the car once you turn it on. 3. Put premium gas ONLY. 4. Oil change every 2600 miles. IT IS A MUST 5. Replace spark plugs and wires every 10K miles. 6. Never let anyone use your rotary engine. THEY WONT CARE. If you follow these simple practices there is not chance you should put a new engine on. Other than that this car is awesome. I put reliability at one so you can read this. But if you know how to maintain or follow everything above the reliability is a 5. The manual gear box is like an AXE MURDERER. Really hard but if you know how to shift, its a beautiful thing.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2