2002 Tribute

Consumer Reviews

2002 Mazda Tribute

$1,083 - $7,167  MSRP Range
2002 Mazda Tribute

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

16 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Mazda Tribute?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nice SUV for little $

by Zoe from Ocean City, MD on Thu Jul 30 2009

I've had my Tribute since 2003. It was 1 year old when I got it. My mazda now is 7 years and has 210,000 miles on it. And still gives me good gas mileage. I traveled along east coast many times and this little SUV got me from point to point. Very reliable and spacious for the size. However, very sensitive on bumps; drivers side door handle broke about a year ago, I had to replace it; airbag light when on about half of a year ago; thermostat started to leak. Car served me extremely well over this 7 years. Now it is times to say "Goodbye". I would definitely suggest this car to anyone who is looking for an inexpensive SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing road tripper, gas tank too small.

by Lakeside from Vancouver, BC on Tue Jan 21 2014

I have own this car only a year and only driven it about 4 months of that, and I've already put 11,000km on it and done 3 long-haul road trips. The interior comfort is far beyond what other cars its age provide. Leg room in the back seat is amazing. Interior design incorporates the slightly unattractive materials common to the day, but the actual layout is extremely modern and satisfying. Highly enjoy having a truck-style shifter rather than a stick-style shifter in the middle. This little beauty's only downside is the size of the gas tank - It's pretty good on gas for its size, power and age, but the gas tank is just too darned small. Couldn't even go 6 hours of mountain highway driving on one tank. Really kills a road trip when your tank runs out. Big enough to sleep in the back, big enough to fit furniture into, and super comfy, this car will not let you down. Buy it if you're looking for something that drives like a car but has the suspension of a 4x4.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Value for the Money

by Mazda Owner from Maryland on Fri Mar 22 2013

I bought my 2002 Tribute ES V6 new fully loaded. Had it for 8 years until a 90 year old lady totaled it while parked at 77k miles. It was a great SUV. The things I replaced: Brake booster, front Brake pads, idle control unit, one recall of Accelarator cable and that was all. It had great handling, very nice engine. Had good pickup on the highway. I think it is the best midsize SUV for the money,

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My First Car

by MikeG from Davenport IA on Wed Sep 03 2008

Great car. It gets me around where I need to go and gets okay gas mileage as it does it. Its the little quirks about this car that can get frustrating. The DOOR handles are the biggest problem with this car and the shifter thing gets in the way of the stereo controls and can be a bit annoying but other than that this is a fun great car to drive!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love it! But not happy with recalls Mazda wont fix

by Walke83 from West Columbia, SC on Sat Apr 08 2017

Since we bought the Tribute we've been replacing EGR VALVE and now the 3rd gear needed repair! Replaced coils 3 times (#5)! But it's been a great ride! Drives great on highway! Good on gas! Pretty SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

a very good family car

by pillas, Lagos Nigeria. from on Sat Feb 25 2017

The car (tribute 2001/2002) is becoming popular in Nigeria esp in Lagos where I live. A very rugged vehicle, able to cope with many bad roads around here but the only problem is that it consumes fuel ? like camel, when I complained to my mechanic, he said the car was designed like that nut my Lexus rx 300 and Benz ml 350 runs well on fuel. I need solution to this number problem.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great 4 cyl economy, plenty of power

by Fuel Economist from Michigan on Sun May 28 2006

This is a great family car. The 4 cylinder manual 4WD model provides plenty of power for on or off-road use. It rides high enough to provide protection for wife and kids. Automatic switching from 2wd to 4wd is handy when weather conditions change or if driver is not familiar with changing to 4wd.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nicest Car I've Ever Owned

by Valenciaga from Philadelphia, PA on Thu Aug 24 2017

I think this is the perfect vehicle for a teenager who had just gotten their license. It's cheap to own and very reliable.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I have ever owned

by Tidblessi from Odessa, Fl on Wed Oct 04 2017

It has every thing you need. Great for napping, speakers incredible for listening to music, hatch back for easy grocery loading. Plenty of room for most.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good bang for the buck

by AZdriver from Arizona on Fri Jul 30 2010

I bought this car(LX v6 4x4 white/tan) after I sold my bmw 330ci. I needed a car with more room and more off road capabilities. Originally looking for a ford escape but then came across a good deal on a tribute which i found out was pretty much the same car. Interior is not the prettiest but its functional and has a lot of use. Like the largge storage compartment in between the front seats and all the cupholders. Also like all the power outlets and the one in the back is useful. Exterior is descent looking. I love the way the car drives around town. You drive it more like a car than an suv and parking is an ease compared to those who have driven full size trucks and SUVs. Dont have to worry about all the potholes and bumps in the road as with the bmw. Not the best on the freeway at high speeds because has quite a lot of wind noise so i just turn up the stereo. Stock speakers are great with an upgraded alpine ipod deck. Took the car off roading and it handled just as great as my dads f150. Gas mileage is ok. About the same as the i6 in the bmw around town but hightway is not nearly as good as the bmw. Overall great suv for those who like the outdoors but dont see the need of having a gas guzzling huge waste of space suv or large truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2