2001 C-Class

Consumer Reviews
2001 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

19 Reviews
2001 Mercedes-Benz C-Class
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by samaritrey from Northern VA on December 19, 2009

Great car as long as you get c320 and not c240. very reliable (mine has 140k on it with no problems at all) make sure to maintain it properly and it will last forever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car with style but expensive to maintain.

by Johnny from Hoffman Estates, IL on July 30, 2009

The best thing about this car is that the design stayed until 2008 before they came up with the new design in 2009. If you can get a warranty for this car it's well worth it. As at 50,000 my alternator had to be replaced, power windor motor on one door had to be replaced and the electronic that controls all the sensor had to be replaced. But then again who knows what the old owner did to this care when I bought it. They are not cheap either. I would recommended that you bring it to Mercedes dealer not to any small shop as one small mistake can cost you more money. But other than that performance is great!. Luxury looking that people look at you have money even though you are broke (haha). I would say mercedes are great car as I am always a fan of this car since I was young. Just make sure you maintain them and due your regular maintenance performance on it. By the way Hoffman Estates Illinois Mercedes dealer is highly recommended. They have well trained tech and talk about their service advisor very professional and friendly. For this car I would say go for it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great ride, but car not reliable

by BostonGCVictim from Waltham, MA on February 13, 2007

Have a 2001 C320 that stalled at a light. Car was towed and replaced the CPS sensor ($200). Soon after, vibrations were being felt, had to replace the Air Mass sensor ($550), twice in 2 years now. Seems like newer MB models are having reliability issues. Other than that, the car is excellent value for money when bought used and are head turners.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful car.

by LunarCar from San Diego,CA on May 18, 2017

This car is a dream to drive and beautiful inside as well as a head turner. Luxury galore. Very well maintained. Easily one of my most favorite cars that I've ever owned. People want a ride all the time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car EVER

by MB Driver from Queens, NY on November 15, 2011

I drove a MB C320 for 11 years and only had one breakdown (alternator) outside of general maintenance. I found it incredibly reliable -- I was diligent about regular maintenance and oil changes and it paid off. It was a pleasure to drive. I loved it so much I bought a 2011 C300 4-matic, and wish I had not traded in the 2001!. It was pricey when I bought it in 2001.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever

by need 2 speed from miami, fl on October 3, 2007

this car looks and drives great. it's high quality makes it stand out. superior to BMW. alot of torque

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good car at a good price

by Craig552 from Annapolis, MD on February 20, 2012

Bought a mint condition 2001 Mercedes C320 at local dealer for $10,900. So far, it has been a very good car. MPG is rated 20 city/24 highway, and I've been able to get 18 city/22 highway, so it is hard on gas even with a 3.2 V6. Very good acceleration and a quiet ride on city and highway streets. Standard stereo system is quite good. I got 194,000 trouble-free miles on a 1999 Mercedes C230 Kompressor and I'm hoping for the same reliability with this one. Repairs can be pricey, but few and far between.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Shape. Reliable.

by SkiDaddy from Fair Oaks, CA on February 5, 2018

This car met all my needs for the last few years. Still running strong and perfectly. Simply time for me to upgrade for my work. This car is what me and my wife drove with our child in the back in a baby seat. Never broke down. Always reliable. New tires. Always serviced with a certified Mercedes mechanic.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Beautiful wagon!

by skdunn from Oregon on August 24, 2017

Got this car at 113,000 mi...now has 178,000 mi. A race car driver from Canada visiting our golf club told me NEVER to sell it. It has so many problems though. I am not rich, but my kids are mechanics. The dealerships will break the bank, but they are nice. Every head turns when it is clean....I live in the country on gravel. This is a city, highway car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not exactly reliable...

by Me from Illinois on July 22, 2010

I got this car at 160,000 miles, so I didn't really expect it to be perfect. But I also didn't expect it to stall in the middle of the road three times. The first and second time were because the computer was broken, and the third was because of a broken fuel pump. Other than these problems, which are probably just because of the high milage of the car, it drives great, even in the snow. The seats are comfortable and it's a pretty easy car to maintain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2001 Mercedes-Benz C-Class