2002 C-Class

Consumer Reviews

2002 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

$242 - $8,218  MSRP Range
2002 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

20 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Mercedes-Benz C-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

2002 C230K -MT

by LovaLova69 from FLORIDA on Fri Apr 29 2011

I bought my car in 2003 with 10k miles on it paid 19k. Drove 85k miles and with few minor problems. I've noticed after 80k the bulbs start to burn..not big deal cheap to replace. Maintenance is cheap also. BIG plus is the road side assistance life time for free. 2 time battery went down and it was replaced right on the spot..1 time free of charge brand new battery. Great gas mileage. I am a happy user..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by benzGuy from Denver, CO on Tue Apr 27 2010

I loved the look of the car and performance. Overall I enjoyed driving it. I am tall so i had to have my seat back which made it very difficult for anyone to fit in the back seat. when i had a full car, it wasnt fun. It is a fast car for the V6 powered engine. The feautures were great, bose speakers which really sounded awsome, rear sun shade for my kid was great. I would reccommend this vehicle to anyone exept if you expect kids or people to be in the rear seats a lot, they and you wont be confortable.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

solid auto; would purchase again

by My Merc from Middle Ga. on Wed May 09 2012

I have owned a 2002 C-320 Sport Wagon for nearly 4 years. The mileage is now 78,000. The 3.2 litre engine provides great power for a small car. The sport suspension is terrific; even though it is a wagon, it handles like a sports car. The car has been relatively trouble free for the 45,000 miles I have driven it. I purchased the extended warranty and the annual service has averaged about $1000 with all of it being covered in the warranty. The interior is comfortable. The cup holders are a joke. There are no other issues with the car. The origional sticker for the car was over $42,000 in 2002. I paid $16,000 for it in 2008. I considered a trade up to a used 2008 E-350 and found the dealer only allowed $7000 for the wagon so I decided to keep the wagon. The car is a blast to scoot around in and I agerage 23+ MPG on an 8 mile work commute and 27 MPG on the road. I'd never consider a new Benz due to the depreciation. Great used ones are available if great research is done to find the right car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

C-230 WITH KOMPRESSER

by FIRST MERCEDES from CLEVELAND OHIO on Tue Sep 06 2011

GREAT RUNNING CAR FOR A 4 CLY. MUST USE HI TEST BUT THE PERFORMENCE IT GREAT. VERY LOW TO THE GROUND SO LITTLE OLDER FOLKS MAY HAVE A HARDER TIME GETING IN AND OUT.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

C320. A lot of car in a little package

by Bob in Burbank from Los Angeles on Mon Oct 02 2006

The 2002 vintage of this car came with the 6 cylinder engine and virtually every option that you could ask for, power seats, self dimming mirrors, burlwood dash, etc. The car just feels safe, solid and luxurious. It was unfortunately a bit pricey for the mass market so Mercedes lowered the specifications in later years, including dropping the "standard" to the C230 (four cylinder) from the 320 (six cylinder) engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best means of transport

by The best means of transport from CA on Mon Nov 20 2017

The best means of transport, good price.I've been driving it since I bought it.He has always been reliable。

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by Peter from VA on Mon Jul 31 2006

It's a great car! Very comfortable and stylish. It is not very cheap to do any kind of mantaince on this car, but it's worth it. It is Mercedes, that is all I want to say! I love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned

by Gafiad from Miami, FL 33173 on Thu Oct 26 2017

This car has great handling, performance, comfort, options, power, and Great gas mileage For a 6 cyl. gas engine. I can rave about it all day long, but it doesn't do it justice until you drive one. Get a low mileage one and enjoy for many years at a very low cost to maintain and operate. Don't worry about the defective "BAS" sensor display. This is a factory defect that all these had in at least 2002 and that the dealers never figured out how to correct it from showing up on the display within 100 miles of just being checked and cleared. It's the one thing that's a minor computer glitch you'll have to live with on these cars.,"ESP" sensor is also a pain but at least that one goes off if you turn the steering wheel all the way right and then all the way left. Other than these silly qwerks these cars are built like German tanks and will easily do 200-300k miles without any major issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect car for the price

by Mike from New York on Thu Dec 04 2008

I owned my C230 Kompressor sportscoupe for more than two years. Its performance and styling in unbeatable for the price. Instead of buying a used Japanese car (for the same money) I bought my Benz and I never regret. The sportscoupe definitely attracts attention and lets you enjoy all the good things of owning a Mercedes-Benz. It is a Mercedes at the end, not "like a Mercedes."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kompressor Guy

by Kompressor Guy from Sunny South Florida on Sun Feb 03 2008

Of all the Mercedes we have owned and shared in our family, this vehicle stands out as the best value and most useful vehicle. It has been virtually trouble free for the past six years since new. It is comfortable and handles well with excellent performance for an inexpensive economy car. We get 32 mph on the highway and high 20's around town. The hatchback with it's removable privacy shade combined with the fold down rear seats provides mini-station wagon hauling capacity. The resale is also extremely good; I recently turned down an offer of 70% of what I paid new for this six year old vehicle with 53,000 miles on the odometer. In addition, even if you are off warrantee, you still have Mercedes road side asistance forever and they will send out a technician capable of getting you up and running, like replacing the battery on the spot, instead of just towing you in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Expensive hot rods have hit the big time, with wealthy collectors spending nearly as much for famous customs as they do for vintage Ferraris and Duesenbergs.

Here's another way to spend big bucks on a hot rod, the Mercedes-Benz C32 AMG. And it's a real sleeper. What looks like a modest compact sedan is actually a tight, powerful performer that will hunker down and run away from nearly anything else on the road.

Mercedes' performance division, AMG, added a supercharger to create a 349-horsepower V-6, with a muscular 332 pounds-feet of torque, that hauls this 3,500-pound car like a rocket, reaching 60 from zero in just over five seconds. AMG, which was an outside tuner until Mercedes brought it in-house... Read More