2016 C-Class

Consumer Reviews

2016 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

$17,466 - $40,546  MSRP Range
2016 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

51 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Mercedes-Benz C-Class?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 51 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned ? totally happy

by galileopan from san jose, ca on Wed Nov 30 2016

Test drove BMW 3, 4 convertible, Infiniti Q50 hybrid, Lexus GS, Camry, Accord. Previously owned a 2003 GS 430 (which I loved, but which was done at 180K miles and I wanted something a bit smaller since I almost never carry more than 1 passenger). The C300 feels like an upgrade and superior to the competition in almost every respect: interior, overall comfort (without sacrificing driving engagement), quiet, ergonomics, useful and performant electronics (radar cruise control, audio, etc.). The engine represents a significant improvement in fuel economy at a slight cost in straight-line performance and/or quiet compared to a Lexus V8, and competitive with anything modern. In everything else it beat the competition and my previous daily driver hands down. In the first few months it felt like every week I found another detail that had been thought through unexpectedly well (admittedly some of these are not ways that the MB is specifically superior to modern competition, but still), like the flat trunk floor with hinges that don't intrude on the cargo area. There's a reason this car won so many accolades from reviewers. And as of 2016, the initial reliability problems appear to have been worked out ? online reports say reliability has significantly improved and my own experience has been trouble-free. I routinely drive 250 miles each way to see my girlfriend, commute daily short distances in heavy traffic, and occasionally drive on twisty mountain roads. I was totally happy with my GS 430 as an environment for doing those things; the C300 represents a big step up. If you value performance heavily over comfort you might want to look elsewhere (though I suggest you try the C43). If you are looking for reliable transportation for the money you can do better ? a Camry or Accord is more cost-effective transportation while still being great cars. If you want a sportier car in that size and price range you can get it if you're willing to sacrifice sufficient refinement, quiet, comfort, and/or gas mileage. But I think the C300 is the best luxury / sport compact there is and I would absolutely make the same choice again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Woo-Hoo

by Car guy from Raleigh on Thu Nov 05 2015

As a early thirties petrol head, I have owned a few muscle cars and a few Germans cars. I generally get a new car every year or so, cash is king! However I couldn't wait when these bad boys showed up. I love this thing! It just hauls. The C400 was fast like maybe just under 5 Seconds, this is feels like 4.5 which is good considering the fair amount of hp. The best is the handling, it just eats up ramps and twisties, oh and its AWD!!!!! I know the the AMG owers are butt-hurt but honestly this is waaay more livable. Safe to say the MB fibally has some cempetition to the 335/340!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by reminthorn from Sun City Center on Wed Aug 15 2018

Although we've had continuous tire problems with the run-flat tires replacing 5 tires in 2 years, we enjoy driving the car. It handles great, gets good mileage (on high test) and is comfortable on trips.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, Fast, Comfortable, and SAFE

by AdamRox from Raleigh on Sun Jun 25 2017

Roomy, feels like a large car, but drives like a sports car! Convenience and Luxury features that are amazing. Panoramic sunroof is absolutely amazing -- like a convertible! Great value for a car of this quality.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful all-around compact luxury sedan!

by Club Soda 77 from Hackensack, New Jersey on Mon Sep 18 2017

I stand 6'1". With the seat three quarters of the way back, there still were infinite seating positions available. This car had a excellent base sound system with rich sound. I drove it on the comfort setting. It rode smoothly over less-than-perfect road surfaces and handled sharp curves athletically. The interface takes some getting used to, however. All in all, these cars are second to none.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is excellent

by Jedechou from Florida on Tue Nov 24 2015

It hss everything you could want in a car. Handle very well and looks beautiful. if you shop around you can get a good deal. I didn't and found out later I could have saved about three thousands.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A fun fast car - Mercedes C 63 AMG S

by dbsandis from CHARLOTTE, NC on Sun Apr 29 2018

Great interior, fun to drive and roam the country side - travelled with it to Main and Florida. Love the adaptive cruise control and lane follow capabilities.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Impressed

by commuterguy78 from on Thu Dec 07 2017

Test drove: 3 series, A4, Alfa Romeo Giulia, Jag XE, S60, and others. The Merc is definitely a luxury car with sporty characteristics. This is not a sports sedan. If you want pure driving pleasure, get the A4 or Alfa. If you want the best mix of sport and luxury get the BMW. If you want comfort, luxury, with some sport behind it- C300. Overall I am extremely impressed. Lets review downsides first. Some parts do feel a bit on the cheap side- gas filler door, hood weight (seems a bit flimsy), wood trim seems thin. The infotainment system is mind numbingly over-complicated. There are some things inside that MB feel a bit cheap. Positives are impressive mileage (even in sport mode) and a really modern interior. Things are pretty intuitive. The tech and sound system are very good. The interior is really modern in terms of layout and appearance. Exterior wise, the car is good looking. Skip the light-up star. Sport package highly suggested. Put 20k miles on this car and no problems. Bought Certified Pre Owned. Its hard to choose between the BMW, Audi, and Merc but this car makes it easy if you want to get into something that is more comfort based for a commute. I came from a BMW 3 Series and am pretty impressed. As I said, I still think the 3 Series is the best all-arounder but the A4 is making it a very tight race. Mercedes has really locked down the sporty luxury car. I would definitely get this car again simply because I commute a lot and it fits child car seats well. Ive mentioned a lot of flaws but they are pretty minor. The positives far outweigh the negatives.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car

by Live in Style from Omaha on Wed Feb 03 2016

Has been an excellent experience so far! Am enjoying my drive ...and have had wonderful customer service too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Engine light is on

by David from Walnut Creek, ca on Fri Mar 18 2016

I bought new 2016 c300 just over a month ago from Walnut Creek MB dealer. But this morning engine light is on. It has only 1000 miles on it. Took to the dealer made an appointment but I have to wait 2 weeks. I was so much enjoyed until today.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2016 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

The verdict: Stung by poor reliability in the first year since its redesign, the Mercedes-Benz C-Class sedan is nonetheless an appealing option for sport-sedan shoppers.

Versus the competition: Stunning cabin quality, good performance and elegant styling make the C-Class a solid choice among its rivals. It's more Mercedes-Benz luxury than sport, but it continues to justify having earned Cars.com's Best of 2015 award.

The C-Class comes in myriad variants with all sorts of drivetrains. The C-Class coupe, which skipped 2016, will arrive at dealerships soon as a 2017 model with a redesign along the lines of the sedan. A C-Class convertible also will join the fray. This review covers... Read More